We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, lovely people”
Review of Rainbow's End B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doolin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow's End B&B
Ranked #54 of 56 Doolin B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Carmen, the landlady, is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and good, so no need for a big lunch. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. There was plenty of hot water for showers etc. We had a great time and would definitely return for more.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2009

This was my second stay with Mattie, Carmel, and their family. This time I brought along 11 friends. Their place is always clean, and the owners are very accommodating. The beds are comfortable, and the en suite set up is very nice. The price is quite good, especially when you consider that there are two great pubs within walking (or crawling) distance, that Doolin is Music Central for Ireland, that the Poul Na Brone Dolman is nearby, and that the Cliffs of Moher are very nearby. Mattie is an expert on The Burren and the surrounding area. He took us on a couple of tours to expand our knowledge. I will return to Rainbow's End each time I visit the lovely Green Isle.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaruidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I was on my way to Inisheer for a music summer school and stayed the night at Rainbow's end. The room was clean comfortable and quiet, a welcome respite from buses and terminals. Carmel's breakfast was great, and she was kind enough to give a lift down to the pier to catch the "Happy Hooker" out to the island. To be sure, it's a little further down the road from O'Connor's pub than I'd like, but it's also further down the road from the drunk American teenagers clogging the road to the center of town.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed at the Rainbow’s End B&B as a family of four (parents with two teenage children) in August, 2009, and had a fabulous stay. Our two rooms were beautiful - very nicely decorated, spotless, and very comfortable, with nice views of the lovely surrounding landscape. Breakfast was delicious, including choice of cereals, breads, and the traditional Irish breakfast favorites of eggs, rashers, sausage, etc. The hosts, Carmel and Mattie, were very warm, friendly, and as accommodating and helpful as can be.

A unique and special treat was the complimentary walking tour of the Burren that Mattie leads most evenings for the guests of the B&B and Hostel. Mattie has a love of history, archeology, and nature, and has a tremendous knowledge of the area, as his family has lived in Doolin for generations. We went with a group of 15-20 from the B&B and Hostel on a 1 ½ hour walk, starting not far from the Rainbow and stretching across the Burren landscape down to the coast. Mattie stopped often to explain the prehistoric rock fort and suterrain formations, describe the local plant life and its use in various potions, and to show us the beautiful and dramatic coastline, with the Cliffs of Moher in the distance.

Doolin is a must see if you are travelling to Ireland - it is known for its beautiful scenery, friendly people, and its rich tradition of Irish music. The Rainbow is well situated, just a minute or two walk from a couple of Doolin’s famous pubs, where you can enjoy great food, and wonderful Irish music. The town itself is not very large, so it’s just a short and pleasant walk to the shops and other pubs.

We would certainly stay here again, and highly recommend the Rainbow to anyone visiting Doolin.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSkyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed at Rainbow's End with my husband, 13 year-old son and 10 year-old daughter last weekend. Our family room was lovely and spacious with wooden beams. The owners, Carmel and Mattie, are friendly and helpful. On the Saturday evening Mattie took a group of clever young backpackers (who were staying in the Rainbow Hostel next door) and us for an illuminating walk and talk across the stunning Burren landscape. Getting there involved a hair-raisingly hilarious trip in the back of a trailer. We were then treated to all sorts of wonderful knowledge from Mattie about the flowers, history and archaeologly of the area. All thoroughly enjoyable, and great fun hopping over the grykes!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We (4) stayed at Rainbow's End Bed and Breakfast (not their hostel which is next door) for 2 nights in August 2008.

Good things: The owner was friendly and helpful, so booking was easy. When we arrived we didn't have to fill in any forms and it was nice to simply be shown to our room without any fuss. We paid at the end of our stay. We had two rooms, a double and a twin. The double room was large enough, had plenty of storage, a hairdryer (I didn't try it) and there was also a sink in the room. The ensuite bathroom had a shower, toilet and window. It was small but functional. Towels were provided. The window in the room faced the road but there wasn't any noise. The view was of a field. The room was warm enough and the whole place was spotless. Breakfast was served until 9:30 (I think) in a room down the hall from the rooms we stayed in. We were offered all kinds of eggs, hash browns, rashers, sausages, tea, coffee... Cereal was also available. Car parking was possible right outside the door. The location was fine -- only a two minute walk to two pubs and a restaurant.

Bad things: The cistern in the toilet in our ensuite made a lot of noise for ages after flushing. One morning the bedroom door rattled a good bit as people were going in and out but this didn't happen on the second morning. Breakfast was generous but wasn't anything special. The lamp beside my bed didn't work.

We paid 35 euro per person including breakfast. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Martinaonherway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doolin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.0 mi away
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Doolin Inn & Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.0 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 20 in Doolin
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin Peaks B&B
Twin Peaks B&B
#4 of 56 in Doolin
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow's End B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow's End B&B

Address: Doolin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Doolin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Doolin
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing