We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it .....”

The Pelican Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pelican Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Tacolneston B&B and Inns
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Loved it .....”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Me and my partner went to the Pelican last Friday 15th November 13, bit quiet but still had a nice atmosphere, the service was good and we were asked a couple of times during our meal if every thing was alright.....the food was good although the start I thought was more of a main meal but im not complaining about that....plenty of choice and of good quality. The bar area is a nice traditional pub bar with a nice log fire...would we go back?? yes we would..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfolkhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
29
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Pelican for Sunday Lunch. We were a big group of 14 including 5 children, but they seemed confident they could cope with us when I booked.

The food was excellent - good choice, decent value and very good quality. And the pub itself very nice with a big wood fire and smart restaurant area.

The service was the let down. I found our waitress abrupt and rude at times. We had 5 young children with us and I felt that they weren't particularly welcomed and were perceived to be a bit of an inconvenience. At one point when stretching our legs between courses we were hastily ushered back to our table to ensure the ambiance wasn't ruined by our children.

Despite ordering dessert, after the main course my son's high-chair was taken away for the use of another customer. This made the last part of our meal inconvenient and awkward.

There was a trainee waitress on duty. She was very pleasant but made a couple of mistakes which incidentally we were fine with. However, when the main waitress came over to acknowledge & apologise for the errors, she was very quick to blame the new starter rather than taking accountability.

Finally, we specifically requested that a separate tab was kept for our drinks. When the bill arrived it was all mixed together - making the bill calculations a little more complex than we had aimed to achieve.

All small points but added together the service really impacting the groups experience.

If you're a small group or couple without children you'll probably be ok. Otherwise I suggests trying elsewhere, maybe The Pigs @ Edgefield.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyTennis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Decided to go to The Pelican for husband's birthday, wanted somewhere with good food but family friendly (children 7 and 5) and we had a lovely time. Staff friendly and no rush,even though it was a busy Sunday lunchtime. Great food and kids menu was child friendly but good quality. Sweets were gorgeous. Supply of nappies in toilets a really nice touch too even though we didn't need them. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times as we live nearby. Always high standard, really impressed today by the effort made to be family friendly. We took our 3 month old baby and lively 3 year old toddler for Saturday lunch. Isn't cheap but very high standards of food. Great pub atmosphere, open fire. Great children's menu, free nappies available etc. Food was a bit slow but I think reflects high standards of cooking. The owners have young children so are thoughtful, but definitely not over run with kids so would recommend for everyone!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Popped in here last minute just on off chance and Glad we did...great food,very polite and friendly staff in great surroundings.
Left there stuffed...the apple crumble and custard was the best ive never eaten...
Will all be going back very soon...

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cuppa_T_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Booked a night here whilst visiting family in Norwich and didn't want a boring hotel room so found this a few miles out of the city - perfect B&B, and worth the few miles, friendly pub, excellent local beers, welcoming staff, comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfast. Would recommend and will re-book when next visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just had Sunday lunch at the Pelican, a pretty pub in Tacolneston just outside of Norwich. The food was beautifully cooked, portions just right, with a really nice welcoming restaurant. Drinks were brought to the table by the handsome barman Matt and we felt that nothing would be too much trouble - very, very much recommended for a evening meal, Sunday lunch, special meal or just popping down the pub for drinks and a great meal. Loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strictlyhugefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pelican Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Guest House

Property: The Pelican Guest House
Address: 136 Norwich Road, Tacolneston NR16 1AL, England (Formerly The Pelican Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tacolneston
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tacolneston
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 16th-century former free-house, full of charm, cosiness and character. Clean, friendly and welcoming, modern rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Large licensed residents lounge area, with Now TV (box sets and films), self service honesty bar and real ale bottle shop stocking over 30 bottled local real ales. All rooms are booked on a bed and breakfast basis, offering all rooms with en-suite shower and wc facilities. Wifi free. Key safe for late checking, large extensive FREE car park. Morning coffee garden area. Breakfasts all cooked with local produce. Overnight bike storage. 8 Miles from Norwich city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Pelican Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing