We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”

The Pelican Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pelican Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Tacolneston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked in very last minute for a family meal, they were able to cater for five of us no problem despite asking to book in advance and we all had a wonderful time. The food was Fabulous - good protion sizes, lots of flavour and excellent value for money. (they also ask you how you would like your steak cooked, and were able to do a child size portion at half the price) Not only were we impressed with the food, the service was brilliant and the resturant itself is lovely, very spacious and has a warming atmosphere. We are looking to go back again soon and would highly reccomend this!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
29
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you are looking for a really good local pub that serves great food then this could be for you. A group of 6 of us had a terrific meal, great drinks and experienced friendly unobtrusive service. All in all an excellent venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Pelican is a warm and friendly pub/B&B with an excellent restaurant serving high quality food. We stayed four nights mid-week when it was quiet, and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts excellent, and on the two occasions we had evening meal, excellent also. We found all the staff friendly and helpful and thankfully not in-your-face fussy.
It is and ideal base for visiting Norwich, the Broads, and the East Norfolk and Suffolk coast.
It is very good value for money and we can thoroughly recommend the Pelican as somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We recently booked in for a family meal and all had a wonderful time.

The menu was superb, a good selection of fish, veggie and meat dishes.

It isn't a cheap place to eat but that doesn't stop it bring good value.

The service was superb and the whole place had a lovely atmosphere I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20Hotellover20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Not value for money (food is average and overpriced), grumpy staff who are not welcoming at all. I would recommend going somewhere else thats better value and friendlier, they don't allow dogs and now discouraging children as well....without good food and service theres nothing there for me and I won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirstybourne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Visited restaurant to celebrate a friends birthday. Loved the decor, ever so slightly contemporary but still keeping the old pub quaintness. Very friendly staff. Food was excellent. Nice generous portions. Desserts were gorgeous. Only slight niggles were the limited vegetarian menu and it would have been nice to be asked if we wanted coffee re-fills. Apart from that, can thoroughly recommend The Pelican Inn (Try the Banoffee Pot - it's lush!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hattiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A really good friendly pub which offers B&B with en suite rooms. A good pub with a separate restaurant area having interesting 'stuff' hanging on the walls (huge tree saws, woodworking planes paraffin blow lamps etc) - there must be a story behind the boxing gloves! The steaks we had were cooked well and tasted really good. Our room was a bit on the small side but OK. Overall a very good place to stay to explore the delightful villages and countryside. The drive into Norwich takes 20 to 30 minutes and so the pub is well placed for getting into the city.

Room Tip: wi-fi is not too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genoa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pelican Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Guest House

Property: The Pelican Guest House
Address: 136 Norwich Road, Tacolneston NR16 1AL, England (Formerly The Pelican Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Tacolneston
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tacolneston
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pelican Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 16th-century former free-house, full of charm, cosiness and character. Clean, friendly and welcoming, modern rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Large licensed residents lounge area, with Now TV (box sets and films), self service honesty bar and real ale bottle shop stocking over 30 bottled local real ales. All rooms are booked on a bed and breakfast basis, offering all rooms with en-suite shower and wc facilities. Wifi free. Key safe for late checking, large extensive FREE car park. Morning coffee garden area. Breakfasts all cooked with local produce. Overnight bike storage. 8 Miles from Norwich city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pelican Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing