We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, lovely clean rooms, lovely stay...”
Review of Wallis Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wallis Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Millstreet B&B and Inns
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely people, lovely clean rooms, lovely stay...”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The team at the Wallis Arms were exceptionally welcoming and friendly (especially the lady that looked after me for breakfast in the mornings - Lily (?) - she was so warm and kind, and looked after me as if I was family!).

The full cooked Irish breakfast was HUGE! (Double sausage, double bacon, double eggs, mushrooms, black pudding, white pudding, beans - I ordered a 'half' Irish on day 2 which was much more manageable for me), toast, preserves, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, fruit juices, fresh baked soda bread, fresh baked scones (Lily wrapped me an extra scone to take for my elevenses!), copious quantities of tea (or filter coffee). They also provided take-out cups for folks wanting a coffee or tea 'on the hoof'.

Rooms were spacious, modern, clean, and well-equipped (inc. kettle, good hairdryer, and decent wi-fi (I was in room 1)). There was plenty of hot water, a good shower (over the bath fixed type, at mains pressure, with a clean (and not too clingy!) shower curtain). Bed was a little on the firm side. Bed linen and towels were fresh, white and clean. My room was warm and comfortable, and allowed two good nights sleep. I wasn't disturbed by the nightclub below - but it was a midweek stay (so I cannot comment on weekend activity).

Evening meals can be taken in the form of a pub meal in the bar - with a some 'home made' specials (I tried the salmon, and the liver - both were delicious).

A couple of watch outs:
Due to the location - on the high street (convenient for all amenities) - there is a 2 hour limit on parking outside the building. I used a large free public car park just round the corner (a 2 minute walk).
There was no milk in the room with the tea / coffee making facility - but it wasn't a hardship to pop down to the bar and fetch some :-)
Lots of people use the bar for evening meals - the 'best' seats are taken early, and the taller stool / tables are not so comfortable for dining.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
9
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
scituate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were given a great Irish welcome by Lily, who is extremely friendly & gracious! She really helped to make our stay at the Wallis Arms the very best! The Sheehans are lucky to have her in their employ! She made us the full Irish breakfast that was outstanding! The scones are the very best in all of Ireland!! On our last day we had to get to the train early, and she made sure we had a taxi waiting for us and even came in early to make sure we had breakfast! Certainly above & beyond what we ever expected! Our room was spacious and very comfortable! Bathroom included a huge bathtub (only one we encountered...all other B & B's only had showers) which was great after a long day of touring! We were in Millstreet to research our ancestors and with the help of Sean R. actually found our ancestral home! More than we had hoped for!!! Millstreet is a wonderful little town with brightly painted stucco storefronts and homes....St. Patrick's Church is beautiful! Their records, online, helped me to locate ancestors, too. Beautiful countryside!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my niece's Christening. The staff were very helpful and friendly on arrival. We went to our room and it was very clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic!!!! We had one side of the bar to ourselves and picked what we wanted off the menu. The staff had laid out croissants, Danish pastries, cereals, and more. It was a feast and all part of the price. We would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The bedroom was fitted out like a marriott or hilton.The breakfast was simply the best I have ever had.Staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful.bar downstairs was cosy and inviting. Intriguingly I experienced an unusually sweet sleep-exceptional all round.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shaun174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here last weekend whilst working at a local Show. Great food! Busy location...but well organized. The food came out prompt and was piping hot. Rooms are well furnished warm and comfortable. Will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in the Wallis Arms hotel for two nights last weekend. I found the owners very professional, friendly and welcoming. As I was on my own, this friendly atmoshere made me feel very safe and comfortable. Congratulations to the chef for the wonderfull food with a very good gluten free selection. The room i stayed in was very modern, spacious and comfortable. Thanks too all the staff in the hotel for a very relaxing weekend. Ann O D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in the Wallis Arms in Feb 2013, the Owners of the hotel work on the floor with the staff and I must say they are the most curteous people I have ever met, they are supported by an great team of friendly staff just make you feel welcome all the time!!! Hotel is quaint but yet contemporary. Very clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast top class!!!! a Lovely bar food menu!...
Give their Seafood Chowder a try, the best Ive had... Will be back to the Wallis!

Room Tip: All Good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millstreet
15.7 mi away
The Hibernian Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.0 mi away
Longueville House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Annabella Lodge B&B
Annabella Lodge B&B
#2 of 6 in Mallow
60 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wallis Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallis Arms

Property: Wallis Arms
Address: Millstreet Town Centre, Millstreet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Millstreet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millstreet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wallis Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wallis Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing