We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing welcome”
Review of Coolefield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millstreet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolefield House
Ranked #1 of 4 Millstreet B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing welcome”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

You won't get a better welcome in Ireland ! Beautiful house, great food and a lovely family. Never been treated better in a guesthouse, they even had soup waiting for us after a long cycle a few hours after we were supposed to checkout! Say no more.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013, Michael welcomed us as soon as we arrived,very friendly, great host, We arrived early in the morning and we were offered breafast. Spacious rooms, open fire, very cosy. We could not find 1 fault during our stay there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in November for two nights and were made to feel very welcome from start to finish. The setting and house are beautiful and provide a very unique experience. The hospitality is outstanding, Michael and Pam are two of the nicest people you could meet and created a great atmosphere amongst all the guests. Breakfasts were fantastic, a highlight of our stay - make sure to try the pancakes. You are made to feel so welcome, you don't really want to leave. Will definitely visit again, a truly unique bed and breakfast experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently visited Coolefield House ijn October. The location was good next to the town of Millstreet. It is also a good location for traveling to many tourist areas from the Lakes of Killarney, Blarney, and the ring of Kerry. If your into fishing there is a river on the property where you can fish in peace. The owners Michael and Pam are well known locals and they make you at home in a relaxed setting. The inside of the house is large and has many comfortable rooms to choice from along with a great breakfast of local items.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamrock236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coolefield House for 2 nights and had a wonderful time! When we were planning out trip Michael (who owns the B&B with his wife Pam) had proved very helpful, emailing me restaurant recommendations and tips regarding what we should do over our stay. When we arrived we couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. We were greeted by Pam, Michael and their children, served delicious afternoon tea (all homemade - Pam and Michael have attended Ballymaloe cookery school and make fantastic food - their breakfasts are fabulous), and treated like we were their family friends. That day happened to be my birthday and the family provided us with a celebratory bottle of wine and gave me a box of chocolates as a present - it was so kind of them!

As well as being fantastic hosts, Pam and Michael boast a gorgeous house. Most of the buildings in the area are modern but Coolefield has been made to look like it was built over a century ago and would not look out of place in the pages of an interior decor magazine. The room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully decorated. It is most definitely one of the nicest B&Bs I've ever stayed in and such good value. Highly recommended!

Tips of things to do around Coolefield: go walking in Killarney National Park (about 30 mins drive - lovely scenery), have a Guinness in Kenmare, go for dinner at Granvilles in Macroom (about 30 mins drive, taxi will cost approx €20), fish on the Black Water (right by Coolefield House - unfortunately we missed the season but would have been great another time of year).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsmmEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

From start to finish, it was a fabulous trip! We loved our rooms, the location, out hosts Pam and Michael (and Ava and young Michael). We could not have asked for anything more! The food, company, hospitality- everything was top notch and wonderful. All home cooked meals with wonderful baked goods, Irish Breakfast, fresh fruits. We were made to feel like a member of the family and were encouraged to use their home as a meeting place for any family and friends who might want to meet up with us. We hated to leave. Can't wait to come back! Beautiful home and a wonderful family. Thank you Pam and Michael!
Greetings from Nadine, Bernie and John

Room Tip: all the rooms are wonderful: fresh and clean, wonderful linens and bedding, great views, all clean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I booked 2 rooms in this delightful Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights. We arrived in the afternoon to homemake cakes and tea/coffee....after we were showed to our rooms, which can only be described as 5 star....bright and airy and where the en-suite was lovely with a power shower and towels supplied. After our night out we returned to a warm welcome of drinks and more homecooked food (the apple pie was to die for - I had 3 pieces!!!)....the hosts, Michael and Pam had their own visitors who joined us for drinks and provided a wonderful couple of hours of cracking irish sing a long and humour.....the following morning, breakfast was again a home cooked wonder of a full irish breakfast, where fruit, cereal and toast were also supplied....The food and hospitality remained as such for the rest of our stay....it didnt feel like we had stayed in a B&B....it felt like we were staying with old family friends....A lovely family sharing their home and wonderful irish hospitality with us......10 out of 10....the only bad thing I can say about this experience/stay - leaving!!!!!! Thank you Michael and Pam. Definitely recommended - we are staying again when we are next in Ireland!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathymac727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millstreet
13.5 mi away
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
13.7 mi away
The Hibernian Hotel and Leisure Centre
2.6 mi away
Wallis Arms
Wallis Arms
#2 of 4 in Millstreet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolefield House

Property: Coolefield House
Address: Drishanbeg | Millstreet, Millstreet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Millstreet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millstreet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to welcome you to Coolefield House, our Georgian style home in a parkland setting, on the banks of the River Blackwater. We offer bed & breakfast accommodation in a comfortable, relaxed & informal setting. Coolefield House is both eco & guest friendly. The eggs we serve for breakfast are freshly laid and our breads are freshly baked. All our guests can enjoy complimentary home baked biscuits or cakes, tea and coffee throughout the afternoon and are free to relax and read a book from our library. We provide packed lunches on request and are happy to pick-up guests from the local train station. Located in the heart of Munster, amidst the rich pastures of the upper Blackwater Valley and in the shadow of the Derrynasaggart and Boggeragh mountains, this is the ideal base to sample the Great Outdoors of Cork & Kerry. Should you wish to golf, hillwalk, fish, cycle or just relax in the Library, our hope is that your stay will be an enjoyable one. Michael & Pam Thornton ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing