We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
382
75
22
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
75
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abu dhabi wildlife drive plunge pool italian chef olio restaurant small gym beach view arabian gulf coffee table horse riding savannah grill the main hotel an unforgettable experience safari tour service level nature reserve arabic restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 489 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

When Anantara came on offer through groupon, I grabbed the offer and happily took my family during the spring break.

The start to the trip was delightful as was al Yam villa, the food variety & quality was good, pretty much everything was leading towards a dream trip. Especially the safari was an eye opening experience with a truly informed guide. We did notice slight frustration with the staff in general but it was overshadowed by our over all experience at the hotel till the very end.

Anantara sorely disappointed us in their attitude towards guests who have no option but to stay beyond the stated package dates due to high tide. I do understand that it's beyond the hotel management's control but being in a hospitality business especially at a location where the weather plays a big role they have to be a little more understanding of or atleast inform guests before coming on island of such possibilities.

While they offered overnight stay and next days breakfast for free in the event of continued tides; no offer was made to provide even the most basic meal till morning if not for their extravagant lunch or dinner buffets which are high priced for the more budget restricted (hence package deal) visitors.

But the worst was when we had explained ourselves to the manager and she said " everyone else has been cooperative".
The implication was unwarranted and surprising.

Overall, tainted experience only due to this. It is a shame that a hotel of such high standards do not have a more considerate policy in place to handle situations like the above.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Mohammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Mohammed R

Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resorts.

We would like to thank you very much for having visited us on our little paradise island.

We are very glad to see that overall you had a fantastic time with your family and that you all enjoyed the resort, the facilities and the service.

I am a bit surprised though to read your comment about our team members would be " slightly frustrated" and I would appreciated if you could share your thoughts directly with me so I could look into this personally .

Please accept my apologies for the situation of the strong winds occurred during your stay. This was one of the very rare occasion where the water taxi operation was put on hold due to very strong winds. We always try our very utmost to make this unforeseen circumstances as pleasant as possible by providing the accommodation and the breakfast for the next day. I took note of your comments and would like to inform that our guests are more then welcome to order from our lunch menus which offers a wide selection of sandwiches, salads and light fares at any time. I will be re- emphasizing this with our team.

We would hope to have the pleasure welcoming you again. Please do follow us on facebook or check our website for our amazing packages or promotions we have to offer or just email us when you plan to come back so we can send you our offers.

Best regards

Christian Gerart
General Manager
cgerart@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

Once we arrived on the island, we were greeted by our own private car waiting to take us to our villa. The driver provided us with some drinks and then gave us a brief history of the island and told us all about the animals and building on the island.
When we got to our villa the staff on reception were very friendly and told us everything we needed to know about the facilities provided.
The room was amazing with a beautiful mangrove and sea view. We then had lunch at the Olio restaurant which was delicious and arrived quickly. In the evening we took the complientary bus to the Savannah Grill and WOW what a smell greeted us! We could choose any of the meats available and they were cooked to our liking and brought to our table. I tired ostrich for the first time and it was delicious. The bonfire was a lovely touch. There was a variety deserts offered and they were tasty.
When we returned to our room we found they had given us more bottles of water and provided us with cookies as a bedtime snack - although we were still full from the BBQ!
The next day we had breakfast at the Olio restaurant, there was a variety of cooked and cold foods, along with some delicious pastries. We then had a private car to take us to the Spa where we had a couples massage. The staff on reception arranged for our bags to be taken directly to the boat so that we did not have to take them to the Spa with us. The staff at the Spa were friendly and made us feel relaxed and comfortable. The massage was amazing- definitely relaxing. We chilled by the pool and the hotel for an hour before being collected for our safari drive. The knowledge of the driver was fantastic and we were pleased that we got to see a giraffe and some cheetahs in their natural habitat.
We were then dropped at the port for departure, the only downside to our trip was not being told when or how to board the boat. We had to ask a member of the cleaning team if we were allowed to board and if we had to walk around to the boat.

Overall a fantastic stay and we cannot wait to return to this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Al Yamm villas offer the most tranquil setting compared to the other accommodation offered on the island.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Dear Holly S,
Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resorts
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us here in Tripadvisor.
We are really glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us, trying different experiences as the BOMA African Barbecue evening, our lovely Olio Italian restaurant, the Safari with an amazing wildlife and Anantara Spa.
We are delight to understand that the all team member of Sir Bani Yas Island make a very good impression to you , as our drivers, waiters and receptionist , all of them working hard daily with dedication and we are extremely happy when the been rewarded as you just mentioned.
We sincerely hope to see you soon again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to assist you with your next booking.
Warm Regards,
Laura Mutti
Villas Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

We just had the most amazing stay in Sir Baniyas Island. From start of our arrival on the island to finish the whole thing was just fabulous. There was difficulty with the boat & so after a lot of waiting and delay we were on our way only to be met by our own personal driver. We then were upgraded to a fabulous beach pool villa which was total luxury. The staff at the hotel were so helpful & accomodating. We had a lovely seafood BBQ in the Desert Hotel Resort on the Friday night. The whole experience was only fabulous and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank ryank359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear ryank359,
Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resorts and Spa,
We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience.
We are glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expatiation and you spent an enjoyable despite the inconvenience with the boat due the extremely bad weather conditions in that day.
Thank you very much again for your kind words.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Laura Mutti
Villas Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017

We went for a mini break to check out the island. First impressions were great. Friendly waiting area for the ferry, nice 20 minute jaunt to the island.
When we arrived check in was fast and efficient. The 1 bedroom villa at al yams was lovely. Nice mangroves and sea view. Good amenities. Laura the villa manager was terrific. Actually all the staff are fantastic.
However, the resort itself is lacking in amenities. Food and beverage facilities were really disappointing.
We opted for the Arabic themed dinner. The food we received was nice, apart from the raw lobster tail! There was a distinct lack of vegetables or side dishes, only when we were leaving and I saw the list of dishes we were to supposed to receive withe the packaga I noticed we were supposed to have 2 rice fishes and grilled vegetables which were never offered.
The 2nd night we went to the seafood restaurant and they forgot to bring my husband dinner so we had to share mine.
There is a real lack of eating options for a resort of this size. We really just wanted to have some bar snacks but there wasn't anything available for casual eating.
The resort is quite spread out and we spent a lot of time getting shuttled back and forth.
All the activities are expensive.
On the whole, I think it is overpriced and lacking a five star experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yaksbunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear yaksbunt ,
Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resorts.
We would like to thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to share your experiences here in Tripadivor.
We are delight to hear that you like your arrival experience, the villa with a lovely mangrove view, perfect for sunrise, and the courteous and friendly team.
Meanwhile, we are very sorry we were not able to exceed your expectation regarding the dining experience, rest assured that they are all brought up to the attention of the concerned parties, in order to improve our service and option.

We will be extremely happy if you decide to come back and visit us again and experience the improvement that we are committed to improve. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Warm Regards,
Laura Mutti
Villas Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017

Not at all value for money....the day rate was very expensive with no complementary activities....We could book Atlantis for similar price and would have got waterpark for free....the beaches were stony...the activities were too pricy...specially the safari should be compliementary for the hotel guests...I will never recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank ajaygoyal2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian G, General Manager at Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017


Dear ajaygoyal2017,

Greetings from Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Resorts.
We would like to thank you as well for taking your time to share your experience with us her in Tripadvisor.

We believe Sir Bani Yas Island is natural, relax and tranquil place something very different and special, with animal roaming free around, few car , not noisy and naturally beautiful also our structure are well integrate in the island, far from the hotel concept you mentioned in the middle of the city.
We once again would like to apologize for your inconveniences during your stay and the general feeling that there is no value for the service we provide.
We have noted your comments and feedback regarding your stay, will work with the entire team to close the gaps you have highlighted, and we believe that is an opportunity to build on it our improvements.
We do hope to see you again soon in order to let you enjoy the improvements which we will be able to implement following your feedback


Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further information.


Warm Regards,
Laura Mutti
Villas Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews