We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy & Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
DUBAI
1 review
“Enjoy & Relax”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent surprise. All went well and we enjoyed the "cool" place by mid-May. We came from Dubai rushing to not miss the Navette from the jetty to the Island.
Hotel entrance is fantastic. Lobby & decoration are all perfect.
Room (perfect) facing the sea with balcony & transat. We organize our sofa on the beach to face the sea as well. Sunset side of course :)
Swimming by the sea in front of the new restaurant : Amwaj (very good food & perfect service - don't miss that one - all diners were there except the last one in the mountain), snorkeling, relaxing,...Pool at the end for some fresh water.
Game drive/Safari at sunset. Spotted all animals: been very lucky as told us Kate & Yasmen. 4 cheetahs !!!! was also great to visit the Island and listenig to history & explanation.
Fishing another day 3 hours starting 6am is enough to catch enough barracudas, queen fishes & king fishes. Dolphins paying around as well :) Kept one fish for BBQ as all fishes must be return by the sea. The sea around the island is also a game reserve and the rule is to release each fish been captured except one if you want to eat it: we kept a Queen fish. Was very good.
One candle diner with BBQ at sunset (again?) in the middle of Island; Top of the mountain. Tip Top. Super. Just do it :) It's a total change of scenery driving in the game park to reach this lost place for a perfect diner.
Very relaxing place. Definitely recommended. Staff is perfect and please ask Sara for a complete succesful visit to the place.
Enjoy ;)

Room Tip: Face the sea & sunset :) Don't miss Amwaj and book your table now :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Laurent,

It was a pleasure having you with us in Desert Island Resort and Spa, and we thank you for taking time to answer our online guest satisfaction survey. It was most kind of you to share your thoughts with us since your responses will help us to shape the future of our services, your help in this regard is most appreciated.

I was very happy to read that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and enjoyed the island as a whole. I am very pleased to inform you that we will also be opening another hotel on the island by end of this month, it's Anantara Al Yamm Villas offers a wide range of activities for adventure seekers and provides the ultimate resort facilities for those who wish to simply relax and soak up the sun.

Mr. Laurent, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara is most grateful to you for your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We rely on such inputs from our guests since we are continually striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodations

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Steven Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    183
    76
    30
    15
See reviews for
359
301
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This was an amazing trip and very adventurous, how great to see animals in their natural habitat.
The service was not exceptional, it was of a normal level
There was a top VIP visit to the island that restricted the move around and was not able to much of the hotel facilities

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Tarek

It was a pleasure having you with us, and we thank you for taking time to post your comment on Trip advisor. It was most kind of you to share your thoughts with us since your responses will help us to shape the future of our services, your help in this regard is most appreciated.

Was very happy to read that you you had a great experience during your stay. We made great efforts to make sure that the hotel blended with the environment and seeing that animals don't seem perturbed by our presence shows that we are on the right track.

Reference to the service, we have taken note of this comment and rest assured that more and proper training is done to make our guests like you feel very special and and the stay very unique.

Mr. Tarek, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara is most grateful to you for your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We rely on such inputs from our guests since we are continually striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodations

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Steven Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very beautiful hotel offering a lot of activities despite the fact that it is located in the dessert. The staff is very helpfull and polite, but if you are booking a suit and going with a child notify that you extra bed and bathrobe etc othervise you will have to wait for it. With everyday turn down service you will get nice home made cookies!The sea food, Palm and Amwaj restaurants are the perfect places to enjoy the food (the portions are really big). In the recently opened Amwaj restaurant very friendly and guests orientated Yusuph, Krishna and Christian will serve you with the tasty spanish tapas and some international food prepared by Artun and Eros; the next day you are coming to Amwaj they already will prepare you a table and drinks without asking. The bar located next to the pull serves great coctails both healthy and alcogol ones. Overall, the hotel is excellent as well as the staff working there!

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are the most convinient ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited Desert Islands in the middle of May and the weather was fantastic! We had our 3 year old and 1 1/2 year old with us and it was the perfect place for all of us! We did the bike ride with the kids and buggies were very comfortable. The safari the next morning was amazing and we even spotted the cheetahs! Many many congrats to the hotel staff for being so profesional and friendly and special shout out to Hazem from FO and Yasmeen and Teo (our 2 amazing safari guides). My only note to all the families planning to visit would be to book at least 2 nights to enjoy the stay.. It is a long trip to reach and go back but totally worth the trip and you will definitely regret for not booking a second night to one of the most relaxing places I have been in UAE!

Room Tip: Garden Room for families is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Angie,

It was a pleasure having you with us in Desert Island Resort and Spa, and we thank you for taking time to answer our online guest satisfaction survey. It was most kind of you to share your thoughts with us since your responses will help us to shape the future of our services, your help in this regard is most appreciated.

I was very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I have also extended your appreciation to our Front Office Manager Hazem and our Safari guides, Yasmeen & Teo, they also thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and it's our pleasure to serve you again.

You would be delighted to know that we will be opening by end of June 2013 another hotel on the island, it's Anantara Al Yamm Villas which offers a wide range of activities for adventure seekers and provides the ultimate resort facilities for those who wish to simply relax and soak up the sun.

Ms. Angie, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara is most grateful to you for your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We rely on such inputs from our guests since we are continually striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodations

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Steven Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

we went for a day trip to this resort... there is a service called mishka tourism who arrange for the day trip from dubai including transport, lunch and a safari... the resort location is beautiful, the safari excellent. You do not expect something like this in a place like UAE. We prefer quiet places with a bit of wild life etc an this resort was a pleasant surprise. They also have an excellent library. Also some other activities are offered which seem to be interesting.So we definitely are looking forward to go for an overnight stay at some point.
At the jetty, though, we had a bad experience. The resort people could not find our names so they refused to even let us in, into the reception center there. The person outside was very rude although after the misunderstanding was cleared, they were very courteous and sorry.

but all in all, a good place to visit.

Room Tip: visit in a good season as most activities will be outdoors - thus Nov - march would be a time to vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaishali_hingmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Vaishali,

It was a pleasure having you with us in Desert Island Resort and Spa, and we thank you for taking time to answer our online guest satisfaction survey. It was most kind of you to share your thoughts with us since your responses will help us to shape the future of our services, your help in this regard is most appreciated.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed and had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Sincerely apologize howver for the miscommunication that transpired upon your arrival, I have since discussed this with my Front Office Manager and apologized also on behalf of his team.

Ms. Vaishali, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara is most grateful to you for your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We rely on such inputs from our guests since we are continually striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodations

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Steven Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Fantastic four night stay, starting with an upgrade to a villa, dining on the roof of Amwaj, also dining on the beach under the stars.

The team at Bani Yas go out of their way to help you, we felt valued as guests.

I did not think that the prices were expensive for the meals, it is on an island so I expect to pay a little more. If you let them know what your dietary needs are, they will try their best to do it for you.

The rooms are clean, with plenty of space.

This was our fourth visit and I am already looking at booking again.

Thank you Steven and team for a great stay!

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy the hotel and island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Lorraine,

It was a pleasure having you with us in Desert Island Resort and Spa, and we thank you for taking time to answer our online guest satisfaction survey. It was most kind of you to share your thoughts with us since your responses will help us to shape the future of our services, your help in this regard is most appreciated.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a wonderful time especaily when we set up your dinner on our Amwaj Restaurant rooftop.

I am delighted to inform you that we will be opening another hotel on the island, it's Anantara Al Yamm Villas offers a wide range of activities for adventure seekers and provides the ultimate resort facilities for those who wish to simply relax and soak up the sun.

In addition to this, on transportation wise, very pleased to announce that we are currently awaiting the delivery of a new boat and as of August we will be having additional flights from AUH and also from DXB.

Ms. Lorraine, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara is most grateful to you for your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We rely on such inputs from our guests since we are continually striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodations

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Steven Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nothing is 5 stars about this hotel, the service was terrible, the villa when we checked in wasn't even properly cleaned, the food was disgusting. we booked for two nights and only ended up staying one night. The location is nice, but they seriously need a different management able to turn it upside down and make something good out of it, especially with what they're charging. Had a terrible safari experience, car got stuck in the mud for 30 mns, and noone back at the hotel took the trouble of at least apologizing about it when we were back. I wasn't looking for a refund, but out of 90 mns tour if you get stuck 30 mns you expect at least an apology. They don't actually bother to ask upon check out if all was good or even give you a feedback form to fill like most decent resort hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddyBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Eddy,

It was a pleasure having you with us in Desert Island Resort and Spa, and we thank you for taking time to answer our online guest satisfaction survey. It was most kind of you to share your thoughts with us since your responses will help us to shape the future of our services, your help in this regard is most appreciated.

I was very sorry to read that you didn’t have a wonderful experience in our hotel, as many of our guests do have.

As for your experience with the food served in our restaurants, I have already discussed this with our Kitchen team and you will be pleased to know that we are currently revising our menus where appropriate.

Reference to your Safari ride from which the land cruiser got stuck in the mud, please accept our sincere apologies as this was beyond our control as you are aware it was raining during your visit.

I was also very sorry to read that you felt that my management of the resort was not up to standard and I would be pleased to discuss this with you further, if you would like me to give you some more details.

Mr. Eddy, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara is most grateful to you for your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We rely on such inputs from our guests since we are continually striving to provide our guests with the best in service and accommodations

Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Steven Phillips
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sir Bani Yas Island
3.9 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Yamm Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#2 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
384 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al Sahel Villa Resort
Anantara Sir Bani Yas Island Al ...
#1 of 3 in Sir Bani Yas Island
323 reviews
14.4 mi away
Dhafra Beach Hotel
Dhafra Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Jebel Dhanna
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#10 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clifton International Hotel
Clifton International Hotel
#16 of 18 in Fujairah
53 reviews
14.3 mi away
Danat Jebel Dhanna Resort
Danat Jebel Dhanna Resort
#1 of 2 in Jebel Dhanna
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa

Property: Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa
Address: P.O. Box 12452, Sir Bani Yas Island 00945, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Sir Bani Yas Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sir Bani Yas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 64 luxuriously appointed rooms, suites, spacious one-bedroom villas and truly luxurious two-bedroom Royal Villas, Desert Islands Resort & Spa by Anantara invites you to live out your own Arabian nights in a destination that is anything but ordinary. 240km from Abu Dhabi City and just eight kilometers off the Abu Dhabi emirate’s western coastline, the island beckons with a mystique that is worlds away from the hustle and bustle of modern urban life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Islands Resort & Spa By Anantara Hotel Sir Bani Yas Island
Desert Islands Resort And Spa By Anantara
Desert Islands Hotel
Anantara Desert Islands Resort & Spa Emirate Of Abu Dhabi/Sir Bani Yas Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing