We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaumont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claremont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont House
Ranked #5 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Steve_Jennie
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

Having never been to Cape Town before we were unsure of what to expect or where to stay. We were so fortunate to have found the Beaumont House and the wonderful hosts, Gill & Peter.

The Guest House itself is decorated in an impeccably neat, contemporary style that allows you to feel pampered and comfortable. Not an amenity has been forgotten. The staff is second to none and we looked forward to the delicious breakfast each morning.

I highly recommend staying at the Beaumont House if you are new to Cape Town. Well before our arrival I received emails from Gill asking us what we would like to see and what type of restaurants we enjoy. She takes special interest in your experience and truly wishes you to have a wonderful stay.

Gill has an amazing ability to put together magical itineraries that suit each guests' preference. Upon our arrival Gill had already booked dinner reservations for that night, because we arrived on an evening when many restaurants are closed. Should we have wanted to cancel it, Gill wouldn't have batted an eye. She's incredibly flexible and clearly has an amazing network of connections throughout the city. She and Peter planned an amazing Cape Peninsula Tour as well as a day spent in the Winelands - complete with transportation. We really didn't have to think of a thing... Gill took care of it all.

We feel indebted to Gill and Peter for creating such an amazing travel experience for us. We left with a hope to return some day and spend more time relaxing by the pool and beautiful gardens!

The location was ideal - nestled in an upper class neighborhood surrounded by beautiful greenery and at the base of Table Mountain. Away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to still feel a part of it all. The city center, Waterfront, Table Mountain, etc are all easily within driving distance.

I simply haven't a negative thing to stay...

  • Liked — The hosts and the service were impeccable.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

My now wife and I booked into Beaumont House, for both our pre-wedding and post wedding stay, upon recommendation from our wedding planner in December 2007.

It is fair to say the moment we were welcomed by the perennially charming Gill and Peter(Wife and Husband owners), you felt instantly at ease and that they were friends you have not seen in ages.

The lodge was stunning and the ambience zen like.
All the interiors inculding the landscaped garden were personally designed by Gill, which relfects in the owner impecable taste and sense of style.

All the suites were luxurious and comfortable. Service excellent.

Peter is indeed a wine and food expert, and it was he, who arranged our restaurants and I can say personally without his expert guidance, we would not have had the opportunity to enjoy South Africa's finest cuisine.


Given the setting of Beaumont House and its luxuriously designed suites, you would be surprised that it is also incredibly child friendly, as we had friends with their 2 young chidren staying with us there as well.

Truly a 5 stars Lodge with 6 stars comfort

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed at Beaumont House for a couple of nights at the end of our South African trip and in general would agree with many of the previous posts - the house is beautifully decorated, the breakfasts cannot be faulted, every detail is thought of and our hosts were always on hand with excellent and helpful advice regarding trips, restaurants etc. The only downside for us was the feeling of being a paying guest in someone elses home which made it difficult to relax completely and at times felt slightly claustrophobic. I can see that the services offered do suit a lot of the guests staying so I suspect this is just a personal feeling - ie the relaxed luxury of somewhere like the Kurland in Plettenberg suited us much better.
Nevertheless we had a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely highly recommend Beaumont House - particularly to older or inexperienced travellers.

  • Liked — Lovely large rooms and bathrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

The Best Boutique Hotel ever. Quiet location, stunning personal service from the owners Peter and Gill, nothing could be too much trouble, restaurant reservations, transport, wine recommendation all excellent. Perfect for anyone who has high standards of decor and luxury at home and wants even better when on holiday. From cooked to order breakfasts through to the high quality bed linen and comfy beds, everything about Beaumont House is finely tuned to perfection. Perfect for quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — high standards of decor & service
  • Disliked — We had to leave! No faults at all - simply stunning
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

We first visited Beaumont by chance as this was a business trip and our usual hotel was full. Am I glad we did! The first was excellent with fantastic hosts but this trip was even better.
Gill and Peter are fabulous with service constantly on hand, no matter what. The place is just heaven and the staff always friendly and always on hand to ensure you do nothing yourself when there! We will now continue to stay with Gill and Peter on every occasion and if they are full then we will change our date of travelling.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LesleyFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

We kept our promise and returned to Beaumont House this year. We still believe that this is one of Cape Towns best hotels. Gill and Peter made it very difficult for us to leave. The service is superb, the beds are heavenly and the terrasse is getting nicer by the year. Peter personally took the time to guide us on a privae tour up on table mountain. Both know the best restaurants in town an always get you a table. Again, we´ll be back....

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

A tranquil haven in the suburbs of Cape Town - easy to drive to all areas of the city and its surroundings. This upscale B&B provided an ideal base to explore the city.
Beautifully decorated; charming, helpful and knowledgeable hosts; excellent facilities.
Gill and Peter (the owners) suggested we use Jorvan Tours for our cultural tour, which I can also heartily recommend. This was a sensitively run tour for just the two of us, taking in areas of Cape Town that many tourists don't see.

  • Liked — Location, decor, peace and quiet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloneinkyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.4 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harfield Guest Villa
Harfield Guest Villa
#1 of 10 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 3a Primrose Avenue | Upper Claremont, Claremont 7708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaumont House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beaumont house is a five-star, world-class boutique residence, situated in the heart of Upper Claremont, Cape Town’s prestigious leafy suburb, yet only a ten minute drive from the city centre. It’s an oasis of tranquility, with five spacious, elegantly furnished suites, in an ambiance that marries sophistication with chic contemporary living. Allow the resident concierge to assist with all your needs Owner run and managed to ensure you enjoy an exceptional level of personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing