We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaumont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claremont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont House
Ranked #5 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyond Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

We first visited Beaumont by chance as this was a business trip and our usual hotel was full. Am I glad we did! The first was excellent with fantastic hosts but this trip was even better.
Gill and Peter are fabulous with service constantly on hand, no matter what. The place is just heaven and the staff always friendly and always on hand to ensure you do nothing yourself when there! We will now continue to stay with Gill and Peter on every occasion and if they are full then we will change our date of travelling.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LesleyFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2008

We kept our promise and returned to Beaumont House this year. We still believe that this is one of Cape Towns best hotels. Gill and Peter made it very difficult for us to leave. The service is superb, the beds are heavenly and the terrasse is getting nicer by the year. Peter personally took the time to guide us on a privae tour up on table mountain. Both know the best restaurants in town an always get you a table. Again, we´ll be back....

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

A tranquil haven in the suburbs of Cape Town - easy to drive to all areas of the city and its surroundings. This upscale B&B provided an ideal base to explore the city.
Beautifully decorated; charming, helpful and knowledgeable hosts; excellent facilities.
Gill and Peter (the owners) suggested we use Jorvan Tours for our cultural tour, which I can also heartily recommend. This was a sensitively run tour for just the two of us, taking in areas of Cape Town that many tourists don't see.

  • Liked — Location, decor, peace and quiet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloneinkyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

We only have wonderfull and warm memory´s about our stay in Beaumont house.
The lovely guest lodge is situated in the very nice and green Claremont neigberhood only 10 minutes from the center.
The rooms,pool and garden,are large( hard to find in Capetown) and tastefull decorated,the bathroom is a lovely surprice and the bed is hard to leave,because it is so comfortable.
The breakfast outside served by the always friendly staff is very nice and when we where sitting at the great swimmingpool the karaf with cold water was never forgotten.
If we wanted a reservation for a restaurant, a picknick, playing golf or anything else Peter always had suggestions or was going to find out with so much pleasure. Gill is a lovely host, she makes you feel very welcome.
We can´t wait to go back to this lovely, great and warm place
Family van Reijen-Bos

  • Liked — The location,the personal service, it's very clean and the size of the rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YolandevanReijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We arrived at Beaumont feeling like we were seeing friends. Peter and Gill went that extra mile to make our last nine days in South Africa perfect. Over the year, Peter and Gill both patiently answered our questions (and there were many). A different restaurant every night was booked in advance taking out the ‘where shall we go tonight’ problem. When we hit problems in the UK sorting out our car hire, not a problem for Beaumont, Gill made the reservation for us.
We stayed in the Mountain Suite, there could only be one word to describe the room ‘stunning’. We have stayed at many ‘five star’ places but Peter and Gill’s Beaumont House really is the ultimate in five star unique luxury without the stuffiness.

We really can not wait to return to Beaumont, Peter and Gill are wonderful hosts, we left feeling like we had made new friends and we wish them and the wonderful staff all the success in the world.

Charlotte & Chris

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chappells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caversham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2007

We have just returned from Beaumont House 30th Nov 07 and have found it a wonderful boutique hotel in a quite tranquil setting. We stayed in the pool room of which there are two and found them spacious and extremely comfortable. The beds are to die for, extra wide and extra long, the bedding is top quality with proper feather down pillows. The bathroom was enormous with two basins placed on either side of the room so saving any arguments or the usual morning confrontations, the bath is large and deep with candles and smellies, large white fluffy towels made it as good as home wit a shower you don't have to be a contortionist to wash in. The pool is large with sun loungers and side tables including numerous towels. Breakfast is fruit, yoghurt, cereals,bread, juices or cooked anything. Superb service just ask for restaurant bookings car hire or wine advice. Places like this are rare and to be cherished and far from the maddening crowd

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank qprgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2007

We have stayed at several boutique hotels in Cape Town, and while Beaumont House isn't the fanciest location, or the trendiest decor, it's by far our favourite.

The hotel is in Claremont, the other side of the mountain from the beaches, but a short walk from the botanical gardens and the cricket ground and only a 15 minute drive from the City Bowl. It's also close to some of the best Cape Town wineries/restaurants and made a relaxing change to staying in the city or by the beach.

The decor is a beautiful mixture of antique and modern furnishings and everything is immaculately finished.

But almost all boutique hotels will have large, well-furnished rooms and a nice pool area. The thing that made Beaumont House stand out for us was some of the little things that made the stay more relaxing. The rooms have fresh milk in the fridge, a multi-region DVD player, all the satellite TV channels - something we've not found anywhere else - and a free wi-fi connection. Soft white towels, a heated bathroom floor and lovely toiletries are a nice touch. Attention to detail is evident everywhere, from the landscaped gardens to the beautiful crockery/cutlery.

The breakfasts were delicious and could be eaten outside on the patio in the sunshine, with a great selection of papers, magazines and books to flick through.

Although their website is good, it really doesn't do justice to the quality of the place or the friendliness of the welcome. Many of the boutique hotels in Cape Town seem to focus so much on design that they can forget about quality of service. That is absolutely not the case at Beaumont House which we just could not fault.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MJLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.4 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harfield Guest Villa
Harfield Guest Villa
#1 of 10 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 3a Primrose Avenue | Upper Claremont, Claremont 7708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaumont House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beaumont house is a five-star, world-class boutique residence, situated in the heart of Upper Claremont, Cape Town’s prestigious leafy suburb, yet only a ten minute drive from the city centre. It’s an oasis of tranquility, with five spacious, elegantly furnished suites, in an ambiance that marries sophistication with chic contemporary living. Allow the resident concierge to assist with all your needs Owner run and managed to ensure you enjoy an exceptional level of personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing