We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect in Beaumont House”
Review of Beaumont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claremont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont House
Ranked #5 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Kamenz, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was perfect in Beaumont House”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

...but the best was Gill's lemon curd for breakfast! (Thanks for the recipe. I've tried it and it was recognizable. :))

The service was amazing and this place is a wonderful spot for your holidays (especially if you rent a car). The little details there make it so lovely and unique.

We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent a few days at Beaumont House last week and were absolutely thrilled with the hospitality, advice and accommodation. Gill pulled strings to get us into some of the best restaurants in Cape Town (at very short notice), she organized drivers and tour guides to ensure we got the best exposure to all the sites in a very short time period. Peter is a wine guru and such a pleasure to talk to. A very solid recommendation! Gordon Waldron

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Thoughtful hosts with fantastic recommendations (and great connections locally in food and wine). Beautifully put-together guest house, exquisite detail, yet relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommended. And the best bed in Africa, according to my wife.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Our family of 4 spent a wonderful 6 days at this peaceful and gorgeously decorated bed and breakfast. Gill and Peter are great hosts, cater to every need and are extremelly helpful in providing touring and restauarant advice as well as bookings. This is a great place to base yourself to see Capetown if you want a beautiful quite spot to relax in after a day of touring or at the beach. Although it is in the suburbs and not down at the beaches the tradeoff was well worth the 15 minute drive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boz1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We found Beaumont House on the Mr & Mrs Smith website, having used it several times before and never having been disappointed.

This was our first visit to Cape Town and we had so many recommendations from friends of things to do, see, eat & climb we were a bit overwhelmed to be honest. As first time visitors to CT it was great to have Gill and Peter's help in booking some of the best restaurants, guides and events in town to make sure we made the most of our stay.

I have travelled extensively and stayed in loads of hotels - boutique and large 5 stars. I can honestly say that I have never enjoyed such a fantastic service before. It has been like having a personal concierge that does the thinking for you. Our itinerary was planned and booked before we arrived. We had total flexibility to change it but had the bookings in place should we need them - very important at Christmas / New Year when the top places are booked out. Nothing has been too much trouble.

A wonderful week and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The two rooms facing the pool are gorgeous - we stayed in 'garden' - would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Reading here all the lovely comments about Beaumont House and the great hospitality of Gill and Peter we decided to stay at Beaumont House for our wedding and the subsequent honeymoon. Our expectations were definitely exceeded!

The house is tastefull decorated with great attention to detail, the breakfast was delicious (I still have the taste of the homemade lemon curd in my mouth.), and the whole atmosphere invites to relax. But it was Gill and Peter with their good advices for dining and trips in and around Cape Town, who made our very special holiday unforgetable.

Thank you for being our witness, Gill!
Kerstin & Karsten

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Simply put, I cannot recommend Beaumont House highly enough. Beautifully presented hotel well located in one of the world's most spectacular countries. The owners are a delight. Peter and Gill are welcoming and helpful with suggestions from the moment you first make contact to the friendly wave good bye. It is as if you are staying with old friends and they are welcoming you into their home. Every hotel I ever been to could learn something about service from Beaumont House.

Oh, and the best nights' sleep I've had in months.

Many thanks for a wonderful stay,

Andrew

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.4 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harfield Guest Villa
Harfield Guest Villa
#1 of 10 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Property: Beaumont House
Address: 3a Primrose Avenue | Upper Claremont, Claremont 7708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaumont House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beaumont house is a five-star, world-class boutique residence, situated in the heart of Upper Claremont, Cape Town’s prestigious leafy suburb, yet only a ten minute drive from the city centre. It’s an oasis of tranquility, with five spacious, elegantly furnished suites, in an ambiance that marries sophistication with chic contemporary living. Allow the resident concierge to assist with all your needs Owner run and managed to ensure you enjoy an exceptional level of personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing