We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaumont House made my Cape Town trip the best ever.....”
Review of Beaumont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claremont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaumont House
Ranked #4 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I'd always wanted to visit Cape Town but me being me didnt want some big chain hotel. But neither did I want some "guest house" as there are so many of in South Africa.

Beaumont House is fantastic. Classy, chic, great food and the best bit... Peter and Gill. They know how to flex friendliness but give you your own space.

So, I'm back in Jan 2012 to Cape Town and it's Beaumont House. I cant give them enough stars...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavsime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

Very special place that provided the perfect base for a 10 day Easter and royal wedding holiday. Gill and Peter are ideal hosts who very quickly get a feel for what you're going to enjoy doing. Consequently we experienced some outstanding food and wine, land sailing for the first time and a great 4 wheel driving experience. All in all, ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterK126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

All the great reviews about Beaumont House are spot on! Gill and Peter are great hosts and who have really thought of all guests’ needs down to a fine detail. They are both very friendly but not at all intrusive. The setting is perfect, only a short drive into Cape Town and very close to the botanical gardens and Constantia wine area.

As it was just before the school Christmas holidays, we were the only guests. We stayed in the Garden Suite, which definitely is ’understated elegance’.

Stephen served us wonderful breakfasts on the patio each morning, made sure that we were topped up with chilled, lemon water during the day and placed Lindor chocolates on our pillow each evening, (having spoken to friends since we got back, I now realise that I must have been one of the few people not have known about how wonderful Lindor chocolates are!) My husband couldn’t resist the jars of jelly beans.

Gill and Peter both really know their food and wine and keep up to date with what is going on locally, knowing where chefs have recently left or arrived, something that no guidebook can do. Gill made sure that we had the best tables at the best restaurants around. Peter arranged for us to have a picnic at the Eagles’ Nest vineyard nearby. They gave us all that we needed for the picnic, pointed us in the right direction for an excellent deli close to Beaumont House. When we got to the vineyard we sat under a tree by the stream for a good two hours or more drinking their wonderful wine and eating the great food. We even had a quick chat with their award wining wine maker.

I really wish that there could be a Gill and Peter in every place we visit on holiday!

Room Tip: Do use their local restaurant knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had a fantastic stay. Nothing was too much trouble and Jill had anticipated our arrival with little children and had a stair gate and high chair at the ready and had already gone out to get goats milk (child with dairy allergy!) to spare us the search on arrival!. Recommendations for supper were great and our suite (and ajoining room for the children) was perfect. The pool and garden area are also very chic. It's a little way out of town but really very peaceful, smart and romantic.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ymarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed here for the first 5 nights of our honeymoon in South Africa, and we couldn't have wished for a better start to our trip. The hotel decor is stunning, and our room was the ultimate in luxery. Jill, the owner was lovely and really looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble; from helping us plan our days, booking restaurants and cabs etc. All the staff at the hotel were lovely, the breakfasts were amazing, and the restaurant reservations Jill made for us were fantastic. We would highly recommend Beaumont House to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclairestratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Beaumont House; the house is top class in a very nice part of Cape Town. We had the poolside suite which was perfect, the bedroom was very spacious, clean and comfortable with quality fittings.
The owners Gill and Peter are genuinely friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. When we first arrived we wanted to stay local and Gill recommended a local wine bar which was perfect for what we wanted. Also Gill had taken the effort to make a reservation at a restaurant called “Myoga” which is a privately run restaurant within the Vineyard Hotel and spa. Gill knew that the 5 course menu was still on offer for only R150 /R200!!, This meal was one of the best of our trip with South Africa at an incredible value. Nothing was too much trouble even phoning and rearranging our reservation, due to us coming back late from our day out. I cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Atch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Our second stay lived up to our previous visit which was nearly three years ago. Standards have been maintained: the highest levels of service and comfort. Great recommendations for restaurants, peaceful location, wonderful hosts and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloneinkyoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Claremont hotels
0.3 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harfield Guest Villa
Harfield Guest Villa
#1 of 10 in Claremont
295 reviews
1 mi away
John Bauer Pottery Studio and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cape Town City Accommodation – The Quadrant
0.3 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#5 of 10 in Claremont
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumont House

Address: 3a Primrose Avenue | Upper Claremont, Claremont 7708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range: $271 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaumont House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beaumont house is a five-star, world-class boutique residence, situated in the heart of Upper Claremont, Cape Town’s prestigious leafy suburb, yet only a ten minute drive from the city centre. It’s an oasis of tranquility, with five spacious, elegantly furnished suites, in an ambiance that marries sophistication with chic contemporary living. Allow the resident concierge to assist with all your needs Owner run and managed to ensure you enjoy an exceptional level of personal service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing