We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best strawberry milkshake ever!”

Hudsons The Burger Joint
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Claremont
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best strawberry milkshake ever!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's one of the busiest restaurants we've ever visited in Cape Town. The waitrons wear trainers - we understand why! It's very affordable, not posh or pretentious which explains why its a favourite with the UCT students. My daughter wanted my husband and I to experience what she and her friends enjoy often in CT. I always thought that the Friesland Dairy in Quigney, East London made the best milkshakes - seems I was very wrong. They have officially been eclipsed by Hudsons, The Burger Joint. We all enjoyed our Burgers too - I liked the choices and would like to visit again. If there's no time for a meal, then just the strawberry milkshake will do fine

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bongitole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    50
    18
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Burger Heaven”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My favourite burger in Cape Town! They serve a huge range of burgers with really interesting and varied toppings. They have beef, chicken, ostrich and vegetarian patties, as well as 'guido' style where the burger is served on a bed of lettuce rather than a bun. The fried are slim and crunchy, and do yourself a favour and get a bowl of the sweet potato crisps for the table. Divine.

Their pizzas are also outstanding, as are their cocktails and desserts.

There are three different locations who all have the same menu but totally different vibe.

Claremont is the biggest and popular with the teen and young student crowd, expect to find large tables of kids celebrating a seventeenth birthday. It's incredibly loud inside, making it difficult to have a conversation. And this what has dropped my rating down from excellent. But the service is great and the food is great, and in summer they have tables outside looking up at the mountain.

Kloof is the smallest and trendiest of the three. Young professional hipster crowd.

Greenpoint seems to encourage more families and older customers, including a business crowd at lunch. I had two bad service experiences here but the last time I went the hostess went out of her way to find us a table when we hadn't booked.

For each of these three, you need to book. Walk-ins rarely find a free table.

It's well priced, has something for everyone and is always fun. Love this chain!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best burgers in Cape Town”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hudson's has never disappointed me. The food is great although the service can be quite slow when they are busy.The waitresses can take forever to come back to the table but it's worth the wait. Try get there between 16h30-18h30 so you can get half-price and appetisers. And make a reservation on Friday and Saturday evenings to avoid waiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simphiwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best burgers ever”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

excellent quality burgers and great vibe, busy local spot and reasonable prices - great service we made this stop a habit - not good for the wasteline!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice location but parking can be difficult, service is quick and the girls look the part. The burgers are tasteless but there is lots of add ons to give it your taste and style. The restaurant could add something to give it character , do something with the decor. Add steaks and better deserts to give a better choice as the burger list is a bit much. Kids and students like the spot and its good for a quick bite. Give us a Mexican burger and a double cheese burger please.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudsons The Burger Joint also viewed

Newlands, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 
Claremont, Cape Town
 

Been to Hudsons The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing