We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harfield Guest Villa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$162
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson RED Cape Town(Cape Town)(Great Value!)
$170
$166
Radisson Red
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$124
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
227
71
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
71
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamcape townhome away from homeb bexcellent staythe ownerthe cottagestable mountainwalking distanceoff street parkingattic roomstay there againair conditioningshort stayexcellent breakfastwarm welcomeevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 308 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had the most wonderful 2 nights stay at Harfield. Every detail has been thought of from the chocolate on your pillow, to fresh flowers in your room and fresh milk in your room fridge. I didn't have to ask for a thing, they even offered me more service than I ever dreamed I needed. I was working long hours and fantastic to come home to a home cooked evening meal served on a tray. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Philippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Philippa

Thank you for this review. Hope that next time when you come to Cape Town that it would be for a holiday or visit and not for work! It’s our pleasure to have made your stay comfortable and we are happy that you experienced it that way.

Hope to see you again soon in the near future. Have a lovely day.

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

With no rooms available in Cape Town over New Year's, we booked four nights in Claremont (southern suburbs) as a second choice. As it turns out, the location was not inconvenient, and we were very glad to have Graham (innkeeper) and Christel (manager) there to make our stay so pleasant. Graham made us a great breakfast every morning--eggs, fresh fruit, french toast, etc.; he also gave us great tips on things to see and do. The rooms were clean, and anything we needed was immediately provided. We got the last available room, the first floor suite, and they accommodated us by adding a bed in the outer room for our daughter. Getting downtown is an easy 15-20 minute drive, and we were actually better located for sites such as Kirstenbosch (gardens) and Cape of Good Hope (both highly recommended). Excellent value--at this price point, you really can't do any better.

Room Tip: The Classic Suite (downstairs) was a nice room, but some of the upstairs rooms (which I did not see from the inside) have views of Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelluver222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Hi!

Thank you for this review. And our apologies for the late reply. We got so busy over January / February.

We are happy we could accommodate you and your family and it was nice to meet all of you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please send our regards!

Hope to see you again here soon. We love it to see familiar faces and our guests return.

Hope you have a great 2014!

Kind Regards

Christel (Manageress) and Graham (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The overall was average. Was expecting an airconditioning room as the rate I paid was that of airconditioning .
The rooms were very well cleaned. Kitchen lacked some basic stuffs for a family to use. No blender, few glasses and plates, fridge is pretty much outdated and small.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sampson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Sampson

We are sorry to hear that your experience at Harfield Guest Villa was average, as we do strive to make each guest stay perfect and valuable. We apologize that we did not inform you that our cottages do not have air-conditioning, as only our luxury rooms have and one of our superior rooms. The rest of the rooms are equipped with fans.

We do value your constructive criticism and we will advise guests about what to expect in the future via our reservations department of the business, as well as on our websites. Thank you of bringing this matter to our attention and also the lack of the kitchen equipment in the cottage. We will follow up on that immediately.

We hope that the rest of your stay was comfortable and enjoyable, and we wish to see you again in the near future.

Have a lovely 2014.

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Harfield Guest Villa is situated in the suburbs of Cape Town. But it's location is perfect if you want to work your way around the sights in and around CT. The villa is very accessible from all major roads in the area. It's only a 15 minute (20 at top) drive to Waterfront. It's also very easy to go south to Boulder's and Cape Point or east to Hermanus and Gansbaai. It is a lovely place and the area is nice with restaurants only a block away. Just ask the owner, Graham, or the manager, Christel, about where to go. Actually don't be hesitate to ask them about any arrangements regarding your trip. They're very helpful and very nice and made us feel very welcome. We felt that we would have liked to take the Villa with us for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear David

We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and had such a wonderful time in South Africa and Cape Town.

It was great to have met you both and hope to see you again!

Thank you so much for this review. We really appreciate it.

Best regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend 3 months at Harfield and was made to feel like part of the family by Graham and the team. The rooms and cottages are kept to a very high standard and the staff can't do enough for you. Every night when we returned, we were greeted with a warm welcome and the lights where on in our cottage or room, its these little thing that added to the experience.

The food was fantastic every day and if we wanted to try somewhere local then advice was on hand for some great places and they would book a table for us.

The view that you get from staying at Harfield is also breath taking, having a dip in the pool with a stunning back drop is something we never got used to!

Having been home in the UK for a few weeks now, it is safe to say everything about my stay is being missed! If I get the chance to come back to Cape Town again I will, but only if I can stay at Hadfield Guest Villa as they really made my trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Carrie

So nice to hear from you! Hope you are keeping dry over there, we see there is very bad weather.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The place is quiet without you and the rest of the group.

We hope to see you again in the future, if you should visit Cape Town again. Keep well!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews