We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in a big city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harfield Guest Villa
Ranked #1 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Harfield Guest Villa is situated in the suburbs of Cape Town. But it's location is perfect if you want to work your way around the sights in and around CT. The villa is very accessible from all major roads in the area. It's only a 15 minute (20 at top) drive to Waterfront. It's also very easy to go south to Boulder's and Cape Point or east to Hermanus and Gansbaai. It is a lovely place and the area is nice with restaurants only a block away. Just ask the owner, Graham, or the manager, Christel, about where to go. Actually don't be hesitate to ask them about any arrangements regarding your trip. They're very helpful and very nice and made us feel very welcome. We felt that we would have liked to take the Villa with us for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear David

We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and had such a wonderful time in South Africa and Cape Town.

It was great to have met you both and hope to see you again!

Thank you so much for this review. We really appreciate it.

Best regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 297 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend 3 months at Harfield and was made to feel like part of the family by Graham and the team. The rooms and cottages are kept to a very high standard and the staff can't do enough for you. Every night when we returned, we were greeted with a warm welcome and the lights where on in our cottage or room, its these little thing that added to the experience.

The food was fantastic every day and if we wanted to try somewhere local then advice was on hand for some great places and they would book a table for us.

The view that you get from staying at Harfield is also breath taking, having a dip in the pool with a stunning back drop is something we never got used to!

Having been home in the UK for a few weeks now, it is safe to say everything about my stay is being missed! If I get the chance to come back to Cape Town again I will, but only if I can stay at Hadfield Guest Villa as they really made my trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi Carrie

So nice to hear from you! Hope you are keeping dry over there, we see there is very bad weather.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The place is quiet without you and the rest of the group.

We hope to see you again in the future, if you should visit Cape Town again. Keep well!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the Harfield Guest Villa and loved it. the staff made us feel very at home from the wonderful home cooked breakfast to very personal service. They were there to help. The location has a great view of Table Mountain in a very quiet suburb. It is walking distance to several restaurants. A shopping mall is very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Greg

Thank you for this review. It was wonderful to have you and your family here with us and I hope you enjoyed every bit of Cape Town! We hope to see you again in the future, should you return to visit Cape Town.

Have a great year!

Best Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent stylish and warm home away from home. Superb breakfast!
Graham and his staff are very friendly and Graham is a true barista.
Good location with nice restaurants nearby. Pleasant neighbourhood.


  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martjin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Martjin

Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you and your family have had a great stay here with us this past December 2013 and we really hope to see you again in the near future!

All the best for the New year ahead!

Regards to your wife and your 2 beautiful children.

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 months with 5 of my colleagues and we all absolutely loved it! The staff are amazing, and the place itself is clean, tidy, homely, and very relaxing. I felt more at home there that at my actual home! One of my colleagues and I shared one of the cottages and it was lovely... 2 double ensuite bedrooms, a living area and a fully furnished kitchen.

The food was amazing! They served a variety of meals, included some home favourites, an some more traditional South African dishes. I really miss it, and all the staff, and if I ever get the opportunity to visit SA again, I will definitely hope to stay there again!

Thank you Graham and team!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemziilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hi Gemma

Hope you had a good trip home. Thank you for writing the review. Hope you had a good recovery after your incident here just before you left. We already miss all of you. Please send the other our regards!

Hope you have a wonderful new year!

Kind Regards

Christel and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Staying at a place for three months can be daunting however my stay at Harfield was fantastic. The team are wonderful, the rooms are lovely, mine having a spectacular view of table mountain. Six of us were staying in various rooms and cottages and askting with the Harfield team became a family. I would not hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay and hope I'll get to go back some day. The location is good with 2nd avenue having loads of great places to eat. Evening meals at Harfield are homely and wholesome with some delicious traditional food on the menu.

Room Tip: I started in the Classic View and it lived up to its name!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hi Meredith

Hope you had a good trip home. Thank you for writing the review. This Guest House is so quiet again after the group left. Even though we are busy over the season time.

We will miss you all. Please say hello to all the other. I didn't have all their email addresses.
The housekeepers were very impressed with all the Christmas goodies you left them .

Hope you have a wonderful new year!

Kind Regards

Christel and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is a fantastic B&B with a fabulous view on the table mountain. The team is very friendly, rooms are clean and the breakfast is very nice. It is possible to have dinner in the evening, which is very tastefull.

It feels almost as coming home. I can suggest it to anybody.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Harm

Hope you are well and had a good trip home.
Thank you for writing this review for us. While both the groups are still here keeping us busy, we certainly notice that someone is missing. Hope you enjoy your December, Christmas and New Year’s Eve! And we hope to see you again in the near future when back in Cape Town.

Have a lovely day!

Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.8 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,363 reviews
2.4 mi away
Banksia Boutique
Banksia Boutique
#2 of 2 in Rosebank
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
John Bauer Pottery Studio and B&B
0.7 mi away
Thirty on Grace
Thirty on Grace
#2 of 10 in Claremont
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harfield Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harfield Guest Villa

Address: 26 1st Avenue Harfield Village , | Claremont/Newlands, Claremont 7740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range: $78 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harfield Guest Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique Villa ,with a new approach to service that surpasses all others. Private entrances lead you to intimate suites decorated with love and detail. We are a Four Star Boutique Hotel situated in a very secure and safe area, walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Harfield Village. Our rooms are also equipped with Wi-Fi, Fully Stocked Mini bars, DSTV and the Luxury Rooms all have air-conditioning. Rates include a full continental breakfast as well as your choice from our cooked breakfast menu, tea, coffee and fruit juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harfield Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfield Guest Villa Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing