We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable, charming hosts & scrumptious breakfasts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harfield Guest Villa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harfield Guest Villa
Ranked #1 of 10 Claremont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, charming hosts & scrumptious breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at Harfield Guest Villa for just over a month when I first arrived to settle in Cape Town in Feb 2013, initially in their Classic Africa suite, then in one of the cottages. As I was savouring the delicious breakfasts and the many other comforts at the guest house I knew I would soon miss them once out and fending for myself…. and I was right!

Graham, Christel and the rest of the team were wonderful hosts. They went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and my introduction to the city as smooth as possible.

I highly recommend the guest house to families/couples/business travellers for short or longer stays.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sam

Thank you for the review. It almost felt like we have lost a housemate two! You are more than welcome to come around for some coffee or one of our breakfasts at any time, when in the area.
We hope that the city treats you well.

Have a great day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    58
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
62
31
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We used this guest house as a one day stop over after our flight from the UK and stayed 2 nights before our journey down the garden route. It was about a 20-25 minute drive from the airport ( I would advise if driving anywhere in the cape town area to do as we did and rent a SAT NAv from the car hire company).
If you do not want to be in the city center this is a perfect place for a mini break to Cape Town. Situated in a pleasant suburb but within a maximum half hour drive of the centre. The Metro station is just a five minute walk from the guest house, and you can't go wrong as the last stop is Cape Town Central station.
We were travelling as 2 couples and rented a 2 bedroon unit with a sitting area and small kitchen.
The rooms were very pleasant and clean and provided all that you needed for a short stay. The breakfasts taken in the dining area near reception were excellent with a wide variety of choice both cold and cooked. An evening meal can be provided on request , the fillet steak was excellent.
The owner, Graham, and his staff are very helpful and accomodating and provided as much info as you required. On our second night they recommended a nearby italian restaurant which was great.He also provide us with a picnic for our journey onwards.
We had a 2 bedroom unit on the side street which had its own parking and seating area to enjoy a glass of wine in the sun.

Room Tip: If you require 2 bedrooms the side street "cottage" is a good choice as there is a pleasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobindYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and all the detail in it. We were so happy to have you stay with us. And we hope to see you again at the Villa!

Have a wonderful day!

Best Regards

Christel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Graham was a charming host and served a delicious breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. I stayed in one of the spacious cottages with private garden which was very comfortable and fully equipped (too big for one person)! I shall look forward to returning to Harfield Guest Villa next month with my husband and two friends from England. I'm sure they will love it! Valerie (Johannesburg)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valerie

Thank you for the review, it was lovely having you here and we look forward to see you again soon then! Have a lovely day!

Regards

Christel (GM) and Graham (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Comfortable stay in a cottage environment. Didn't need all the space that I had but was happy that I had it. Service was excellent and friendly and food was great. Parking off the road was useful although suited only for a very small car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Kevin

Thank you for this review. Regarding the cottage, we normally upgrade when all the other rooms are fully booked. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the extra space. Apologies for the smaller parking area in that specific cottage.

We hope to see you again when you are in Cape Town or the Southern Suburbs. Have a great week!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress) and Graham Rowe (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Graham and his team were just great , nothing was too much trouble even when my husband woke up Graham to get back in after a stag night at 5am , breakfasts were amazing !
Thank you so much
Sue and Andy Glossop

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Andy

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate it.

Will be wonderful to have you again in the near future. Not to worry about the early wake-up for Graham, he is use to it!

Have a fantastic day!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Always a pleasure.

Graham and team are on top of their game. I always feel at home here. Rooms / Suites are big and well equipped.

Don't miss the breakfast! The food is excellent and freshly prepared.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SDZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi

Thank you for labeling us as "The best" in your subject line. We appreciate the time you took to write this review.

We hope to have you back with us again in the near future soon!

Kind Regards

Christel Schoeman (Manageress)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The service we received from Graham and his staff was first class right from the first moment we arrived. The team are very friendly, extremely helpful with everything from directions to weather forecasts and general advice. They are very accomadating..Attention to detail was excelllent, small chocolate, flowers etc on the beds. Rooms serviced daily and an amazing breakfast menu. It was an ideal situation for us as we were close to family, excellent restaurants and main routes to lots of visitor attractions. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R, General Manager at Harfield Guest Villa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jane
Thanks so much for the lovely , kind words.You and your family were a delight to have at Harfield Guest Villa. We hope that you all return soon . Molly and Toby are awesome children. Hopefully they did not miss too much school.Guests such as you guys make this business an absolute pleasure.
Regards Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremont
0.9 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.7 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harfield Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harfield Guest Villa

Property: Harfield Guest Villa
Address: 26 1st Avenue Harfield Village , | Claremont/Newlands, Claremont 7740, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harfield Guest Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Boutique Villa ,with a new approach to service that surpasses all others. Private entrances lead you to intimate suites decorated with love and detail. We are a Four Star Boutique Hotel situated in a very secure and safe area, walking distance from some of the best restaurants in Harfield Village. Our rooms are also equipped with Wi-Fi, Fully Stocked Mini bars, DSTV and the Luxury Rooms all have air-conditioning. Rates include a full continental breakfast as well as your choice from our cooked breakfast menu, tea, coffee and fruit juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Harfield Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfield Guest Villa Cape Town/Claremont, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing