We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$120
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Drawing Rooms on 2nd(Claremont)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Harfield Guest Villa(Claremont)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thirty on Grace(Claremont)(Great Value!)
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Torquay(Claremont)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Greenways Manor Guesthouse(Claremont)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarence House(Claremont)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
10
14
5
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
14
5
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 32 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2017

brother was ill, this place was nearer to her home and is centrally situated to all amenties. will definitely return to this apartment . lots of interesting books lying around but no time to read them. enjoy the freedom and tranquil surroundings. will refer to friends and family when visiting the beautiful mother city.
thank you very much and wish you all well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ayobk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised by the home atmosphere that I stepped into. A real old school Cape Town house nestled in the suburbs with typical narrow streets and all the charm that makes what it is. The room was clean, the bed was super comfy, the heater Rowen went to get me made the room very cozy on the cold and rainy evenings. For someone who loves to watch TV it might be difficult as there was no TV in the room but who visits Cape Town and watches TV? The solid wooden doors and floors are beautiful but beware that when the first guest opens and closes a door early morning, it does wake you up too. More a heads up for people who might want to sleep late as I was up most morning when the other guests started moving about.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henkusv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

After an extensive search taking into consideration affordability, proximity and reviews, we decided to stay at John Bauers place for the visit to family in Claremont. Rowen, Johns wife called us early on our arrival morning to make sure all was in order and also to let us know that we could drop off our luggage and collect the key even though booking in was only from 15:00 and we were arriving in Claremont at about 11:00.

On arrival, we were met by a smiling, bubbly Rowen who told us that the room was ready and we could use it already without any problems. She also told us about the many things to do in the area, the benefits of the various public transport systems and a general huge welcome to Cape Town.

The room we had booked was with kitchenette and own bathroom facility. Everything was as per the advertising on the web site. All we needed was at hand and we never had cause to ask either John or Rowen for an extra this or more of that. John and Rowen made sure that we felt as if we were part of the family but were also in no way invasive.
Yes, there is the quirky front door but honestly it made it feel as if you were staying in a real home from home and sometimes the quirks make the place unique, as does John and Rowen make the place unique.

The 24/7 wifi access is also a fantastic extra for the guests and I used it almost every day to check out places to go, the routes to travel and what was on where.

The only item that I feel could be included in the environment is TV. There were a few evenings when we would have enjoyed relaxing after our days’ outings and just watch something on TV. Increase the pricing to cover it and I know that I would not mind that little extra.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TonyBosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

We had a great time in this B&B! Wonderfully quiet, nice room and very cozy! Nicely located and multiple restaurants right around the corner.
And what a nice, hospitable people! If we ever get back to Cape town, this will be the place where we will stay again.

John and Rowen, thank you so much for you hospitality and for the present! We enjoyed our stay very much!

Heleen, Charlotte & Annette.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annette644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017

It's a nice ambience, I felt safe and the hosts were kind and caring . Wonderful place for people who like art. John is working in an artist center near by where different artists are busy .Some of them are giving courses

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank giselad243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews