We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd honeymoon ;-)”
Review of Aroko Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aroko Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The trip to Aroko was everything we expected it to be. We were there for 6 nights in march 2011. After backpacking for 5 months we relaxed for a week at Rarotonga. For this price you get a good spacious bungalow with a vieuw worth of a million dollars. We had bungalow no 6, the most private one on the parc. A good bed, muscito nets in front of the windows,a spacious bungalow with kitchen and everything you need. You can go grocery shopping in town or eat out in restaurants if you preder. The lagoon and beach are just 5 min. walk away if you don't want to swim in the lagoon in front of the bungalow. Quit beautiful nights. We really enjoyed our stay and celebrated our 2nd anniversary of ourw edding. The owners were very friendly and nice. They can collect you from the airport and bring you away if you want to. If you fy out late in the evening like we did ( 00.59 PM ) you can extend your stay for 50 NZD (?) so you can relax in your bungalow before departure. Aroko thanks for our good stay ! Good value for your money =)

Room Tip: Bungalow no 6 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marijke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

Overlooking the only lagoon setup where its just you and nature. Privacy is ultimate with limited interruptions. A great peaceful area, where you can feed the fish, watch nature unfold as well as experience the local hive of activity on the water where the locals gather food and/or enjoy a long session of tanning either on the Aroko decking or across the way on the small motu or islet. Your hosts Sonny and Maui as brother and sister offer a homely atmosphere upon arrival as well as during your stay. We enjoyed the simplicity that Aroko had to offer in terms of accomadation but we had what i can only describe as a 'killer view'. For historic buffs, you can see the Avana passage where the 7 canoes left Rarotonga for Aotearoa New Zealand, this in itself is an opportunity you cannot pass up. I enjoyed the historical surroundings, lush garden scenery that provided ambience every evening on the deck listening to the ocean meeting the reef as well as meeting some of the locals walking past the bungalows. Security is very good - and if we were stuck, Sonny or Maui would make sure there was something to do. But when your here in Aroko, you forget about town unless you really need supplies, its location is very good for entertainment and close to other amenities, but we stocked up in the bungalow and only ventured out for essentials....but this was definitely a home away from home.....

Room Tip: Ask for the Lagoon View rooms......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riatuoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is the second time my daughter and I have stayed at Aroko, we love it, the peace, the mad chickens, the views, the nearby beaches and resorts with great restaurants. Pay a reasonable price for the homely accommodation and use the resorts facilities, eg, beaches, gala nights.
Arokos got buses outside the gate and friendly personable staff.
We love getting a wee convertible from Avarua's Budget rentals at a great price and spoil ourselves rotten having great spas and daily trips to our favorite beaches.
We will be back again, maybe next year. It has everything we love for a real holiday, peace.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyredhead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We only stayed at Aroko Bungalows for a night and a late check out which turned out to be very handy as our plane was leaving in the middle of the night.

Sonny came to pick us up at the airport and we pretty much spent the day between the bungalows and Muri Beach which is only a few minutes walk. Great location for the beach and restaurants / shops all within a few minuted walk.

The bungalow was comfy and clean, nice deck to watch the lagoon from.
Sonny was friendly and helpful. Good place to stay and reasonnable priced for Muri Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We had a great time there this Oct the place is basic but you have everything you need its nice and quiet and only 5 min walk to shops... the only concern we had was on the day of our departure they forgot about us and we had to scramble to get to the airport....not sure what happened there......hopefully next time we can have transport organised a little better....otherwise we loved going back to the cook islands after 24 years.....was a great trip ...Gerard

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stayed 7 nights here looking for a much needed break and found all we wanted. The bungalows offer standard accommodation but are all individually situated so it is private and peaceful. You can have a lagoon or garden view and the unit we had (no.6) was at the end with an awesome view and was very quiet.
If you like wildlife there is plenty to see with the various birds, crabs, fish and lizards.You can spy the large crabs in the lawn from your deck. There is no white beach directly in front but beautiful Muri beach is a 2 min walk away. The lagoon at low tide is interesting to explore and you can wade over to the various islands. The mosquito screens were very good and there was a fan to keep you cool.
The bungalows are in easy reach of everything you would need - beaches, lots of good restaurants, tours, car & scooter hire, gift shops and the bus stop right outside the gate. It is a 20 min. bus ride to Avarua the main town.
Sunny was around every day and very helpful and cheerful. He also took us to the airport at midnight to catch our flight. It was great as he was there if we needed him, but also gave us complete privacy.
The bungalows were small but adequate, clean and everything was working. The shower had plenty of hot water. There is a nice deck to relax on but the chairs could have been more comfortable. The bed was great - large and comfy but the pillows rather inadequate. It would have helped to have better lighting where the luggage is stowed.
This is not resort flash accommodation, but very comfy, with a stunning view and gardens and lovely privacy at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingsideways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have to write a review of this wonderful Bungalow after having such a great time at this great bungalow. We originally planned to stay there 1 night, but as we had such a great time, we extended our stay to 3 nights. The owner Mrs Maui Daniels she goes out of there way to please customers and we could not fault her, or her accommodation, in any way.
Location:- the bungalow is located on the main road with sea front, and handy for to main beach. You have the handiness of being near to all the amenities without the noise of traffic and pub customers at night. Maui Daniel can book any tours you wish, and is very keen to give you as much information on the area as possible.
There is a Large Deck which could be used for Functions like Weedings etc
Rooms:- The rooms are very good with a small kitchen which is quite adequate for all your needs. Our room was spotless and contained clean towels every morning, and the room was cleaned very well daily.
Value for money:- The Cook Island trade is being hit very hard by the recession and hotel owners are being hit very hard at present and hotel owners are struggling to keep going. We thought these Bungalows was excellent value for money - but the best value we could find and would certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turtelswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngatangiia
0.4 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#32 of 80 in Rarotonga
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
231 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#9 of 17 in Muri
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aroko Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroko Bungalows

Address: PO Box 850 | Muri Beach, Ngatangiia, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Ngatangiia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ngatangiia
Price Range: $82 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aroko Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aroko Bungalows are snugly nestled amidst swaying palms and fragrant tropical flowers beside the peaceful waters of Muri Lagoon. Overlooking historic Avana Passage where the seven canoes set sail for Aotearoa(New Zealand) in the 1300's, Aroko Bungalows take full advantage of this magical South Pacific location. Our self-contained Open studio style(Basic kitchen, shower/toilet with Hot water) bungalows offer peace & quiet for the discerning traveler. We are located within walking distance from grocery, dive shop, restaurants, and world famous Muri Lagoon. Enjoy a romantic getaway or celebrate your family event with us! We offer affordability..because you deserve only the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Aroko Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aroko Bungalows Hotel Ngatangiia
Aroko Bungalows Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing