We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day shooting trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mintlaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Two of us stayed in the Cedar log cabin recently, on a 3 day shooting trip with SAC Shooting. This was the 7th trip and has far exceeded the previous ones. Not only was the shooting excellent but the lodges were warm clean and extremely comfortable and very well equipped. The hotel also had warm friendly atmosphere, service both professional and cheerful. This is somewhere we would and have highly recommended to family and friends. Already looking forward to return next year. Thanks Ian and Ken, Cumbria.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for the excellent feedback guys. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you through the doors next year when you return.

Wishing you all the best from the team here.

Gavin Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 198 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed last night on a special deal. The meals were excellent with a great selection of well cooked food. Portion sizes are generous and the food delicious. The only disappointment was the afternoon tea, but when I mentioned this at checkout I was advised there had been other comments about yesterday's service and this was being addressed. The staff were very pleasant and attentive.

Our room was a good size and very cosy with a comfortable bed. The room had a beautiful view over the surrounding countryside. There was real coffee available as well as instant and tea. Similarly there was a great selection of lovely toiletries in the en-suite.

Thanks for a lovely night.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Margaret_and_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review and please accept my complete and utter apologies for the afternoon tea you had received. I can assure you that steps have been taken to ensure there is not a repeat and we will reimburse you for the full cost of the afternoon tea.

We take pride in providing an excellent service and want all our customers to leave feeling satisfied and appreciate all feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve our products and services.

We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Gavin Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

On the 29th January 2014, my wife, guests and myself, visited the Saplinbrea house hotel, and l would just like for it to be noted, that the hotel was like something out of this world, the staff were well turned out and very helpfull.
The food was excellent, and served very hot. Well done, i will curtainly return when the occasion arises.

Room Tip: Not Known did not stay over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernest r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It means a lot to all the team here to learn that you enjoyed your meal with us on Wednesday. Our chef's work tirelessly to create some wonderful dishes for all our guests and we do our utmost to ensure our customers leave feeling satisfied.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your return.

All the best,

Gavin Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a fantastic hotel ,rooms so comfortable ,clean, homely everything been thought of from dressing gown to toothbrush . the location was prefect , service was excellent and staff very friendly, will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fifi135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the area.

Best Wishes,

Gavin Watt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have stayed in the hotel four times now and thought I should review it to share how wonderful it is. The rooms are comfortable,stylish and impeccably clean.The food is fantastic and the menu caters for everyone and the breakfast will set you up for the day. The staff are friendly and helpful and do everything to make you feel welcome. There are little touches like dressing gowns and slippers in the rooms that make it feel like a home from home. I love it and have booked to go back. Mrs E Morrison

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyeve40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you so very much for your review.

We do our best here to meet our customers expectations and to read that you have had such a wonderful time with us fills everyone here with joy and puts a genuine smile on all our faces.

On behalf of our team here thank you and we look forward to seeing again sometime soon.

Best regards,
Gavin Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I've visited the hotel twice in the last few months on the first occasion i stayed in the hotel rooms with 7 of my friends on a shooting trip hosted by Mr Scott Cruikshank. The shooting was very professionally organized and the hotel was in a word superb. The food was amazing friendly staff and impeccably clean, on the second occasion i hired the lodge with three colleges again on a shooting trip, and again i cannot speak highly enough about the accommodation and the welcoming attitude of the staff adding to the best shooting available in Scotland a truly wonderful experience Mr Frank Hesketh

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. I'll pass your kind words onto Scott at SAC Shooting and all the team here.

On behalf of the team I wish you all the best and we hope to see you again next season or sooner

Best Regards,
Gavin Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had a great full Scottish breakfast here as part of my experience on a 2 day shoot with SAC shooting and a delightful supper later on. The food was delicious, the menu is varied and great value, staff are very pleasant and friendly and the bar and restaurant are both classy and cosy. I can't wait until I visit again later this year with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nfl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wattgj, General Manager at Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we take pride in our hotel and always want our guests to get the most out of their stay. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.
Best Regards,
Gavin Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mintlaw
10.5 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
261 reviews
10.2 mi away
St Olaf Hotel
St Olaf Hotel
#4 of 7 in Peterhead
62 reviews
10.1 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
139 reviews
10.5 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
202 reviews
20.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges

Address: | Peterhead, Mintlaw AB42 4LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Mintlaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mintlaw
Price Range: $114 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1756, Saplinbrae Hotel and Lodges showcases the best in relaxed dining and living, where the quality of service and commitment to consistency is excellent, but still personal and fun. All of our nine bedrooms have historic charm, which we have complemented with local art, antique prints and small touches of tweed from our local mill. They are a fitting counterpart to the spectacular views from your window of acres of uninterrupted rolling farmland. Our self-catering lodges can be found in the hotel grounds-firstly, our stone Shooting Lodge which features four double en-suite bedrooms and a spacious kitchen-living area, and then our two cozy chalets. The hotel dining room offers relaxed, everyday dining, with contemporary takes on traditional foods. Having a strong agricultural connection within our team, we deem the provenance to be of the highest importance. We are genuinely committed to sourcing locally, and always source from Buchan, Aberdeenshire and Scotland as far as possible-our fish comes from suppliers in Fraserburgh, Peterhead and Sandend, our beef from Foveran, much of our pork and lamb from our own family farms in Kininmonth and the Black Isle and our vegetables from Morag in Crimond. We serve lunch and dinner daily from 12.00pm and 6.00pm, and you can pop in past anytime for a slice of carrot cake and a coffee. We are located in North Aberdeenshire, and Saplinbrae is the perfect seat from which to enjoy a weekend away: great walks, around the Pitfour Estate and the Buchan and Formartine Line, can be found on our doorstep, as well as Aden Country Park and several local golf clubs only a few miles away. We have great links with local fly fishing and shooting clubs for those looking for a wee bit of adventure, and can recommend the perfect spot to enjoy a good book for those who prefer a slower pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing