We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haven Waters Motel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haven Waters Motel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

North haven is a great place to break up the Sydney to Queensland route. Stayed here family and two you kids. The reception staff offered a very warm greeting and were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The motel is in a great location opposite the river which you can has a great walkway to the beach and is close to the club. We were towing a boat and access in and out was easy. Recommend this motel for a stopover or a couple of nights to explore the area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks very much Michael for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. You're right, the Camden Haven district is a great stop-over when travelling the Pacific Highway. Just a four hour drive from Sydney makes it an ideal spot. Hopefully next time you can stay longer and put your boat to use on our magnificent waterways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    49
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
73
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jervis Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice place with a road between the river and the units. We had a standard room and saved $5 a night as we’re members of NRMA which brought it down to $95 peak season January. It has a little kitchenette, fridge, bickies and fresh milk from reception when you arrive. Windows both sides so it is light and airy. Good sized ensuite bathroom. Large main room with queen size, very comfortable bed. Desk, table and heaps of off the floor luggage space and wardrobe, cupboards. Furniture is not new or high end but it is well maintained. TV with free foxtel. Free wifi but only one device can use it at a time.

Reverse cycle air con. Iron, ironing board and hair dryer in the room. Washing Machine on site. $3 per cycle Dryer $4 per cycle. Pool and spa. Very nice high percentage cotton sheets and pillowcases. Good pillows. Breakfast in room if you want it. Everything was really clean and well maintained. Lots of guides and info on what to do in the area and very friendly and helpful reception staff.

It is a two minute walk to the Bowling Club which has the usual good club food. $10 for the meal of the day or about $17 for everything else. You will not leave hungry with just a main meal. Fri – Sun there is a free bus to and from the Bowling Club, but honestly you don’t need it. There is another cafe even closer which is open most days.

We would definitely stay there again and recommend it. I would rate it at 4.5. For accommodation, amenities and customer service it is a 5 but the location drags it down a little, although it is really nicely landscaped and there are lots of lovely trees and bushes around. There is some road noise from cars passing during the day, not noticeable at night. Not traffic noise as such as the road is not a main road and if you lived in Sydney you probably wouldn’t notice it. The units are not facing the road. The units are on the river but they are separated by a road. The river does not have a sandy beach or anything so it is not really useful unless you fish and you can’t really see it from the units but you know it is there. Although there is easy access to a charter boat for fishing (just across the road and down a little way), the beach is a three minute drive away, a bit too far to walk but an easy drive. So if you were staying for a beach holiday this might not be perfect. For an overnight stay it is not so important. Far and away nicer and a better location than others on our list of possibles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieastrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks Aussieastrogirl for your review, it's much appreciated. It's great to receive a review from such an experienced and thorough TripAdvisor reviewer. We hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've been a regular at the Haven Waters Motel for over 30 years and I'm glad to report it's now better than ever. It's beautifully situated on the Camden Haven River and handy to all amentities. It's also very comfortable and excellently maintained and operated by the current outstanding managers - Ron and his wife Jo. New silent air conditioning in each room is a nice improvement. The Camden Haven Area (ie North Haven - Laurieton - Dunbogan) remains a hidden gem on the mid north coast of NSW and the haven waters Motel is by far the best place to stay in ths wonderful area !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you Milkfish for your review. Repeat business is something we strive for and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The new quiet split system air conditioners are part of our continued upgrading of Haven Waters which we know will help enhance our guests stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I "ran away from home" for 3 days recently and had a great stay at Haven Waters.Our one bedroom apartment was large,airy and comfortable.Kitchen with full fridge,stove and microwave ,cupboards were well equipped for an extended stay.
Close to beach, shops and great walking tracks.
Managers were very helpful and friendly but not intrusive.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will return when next we need a break from our kids!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patcol55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you Patcol55 for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, your comments are much appreciated. We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Exactly the same experience as previous reviewer - had no idea where to stay and just followed our instinct. What a lucky find ! We stayed an extra day even though the weather could have been better - Ron was so extremely personable and helpful we felt at home immediately - will definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area and look forward to exploring the surroundings and wildlife without the rain !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you Roger and Brenda for taking time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, obviously the weather didn't behave. It's great to see more international tourists such as yourselves dropping in off the highway to quiet spots like the Camden Haven.

PS we saw the ospreys last week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great welcome at reception. Efficient service. Good location, close to the bowling club. Being able to charge meals and drinks to your room at the club was a plus. A pleasant stay. The check out was equally efficient. No complaints at all. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review David. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Ron and Jo are very hospitable and very welcoming. The stay made you want to return in the future. Location is very good and not too far from Laurieton shopping centre al though there are corner stores and petrol stations in close vicinity.
Good walks are available. Motel owned by nearby bowling club so once booked in at motel can have food and drinks charged to room. Keen- or otherwise- fishermen can cross the road and throw a line

Room Tip: rooms at back of premises would be quieter . However the traffic along front street is minimal at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prowler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweeta_11, Manager at Haven Waters Motel & Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you Prowler_11 for your kind words, they're much appreciated. We do hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Haven
0.5 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Jacaranda
Gateway Lifestyle Jacaranda
#3 of 7 in North Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woongarra Motel
Woongarra Motel
#1 of 1 in North Haven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelican H2O Apartments
Pelican H2O Apartments
#2 of 7 in North Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Surfside Resort Motel
#1 of 1 in Lake Cathie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.8 mi away
BIG4 Bonny Hills Holiday Park
1.2 mi away
The Haven Caravan Park
The Haven Caravan Park
#1 of 4 in Laurieton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Waters Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Waters Motel & Apartments

Property: Haven Waters Motel & Apartments
Address: 9 - 13 The Parade, North Haven, New South Wales 2443, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Camden Haven > North Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haven Waters Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Waters Motel & Apartments is located directly opposite the beautiful Camden Haven River on the NSW Mid North Coast, just over two hours from Newcastle and a little over four hours drive north of Sydney. Featuring standard motel rooms, Terrace suites and fully self contained apartments, Haven Waters is the ideal base to explore the Camden Haven and Greater Port Macquarie regions. The motel is an easy walk to the North Haven Bowling Club, where motel guests receive Club members discount. The quaint riverside shopping strip with its outstanding cafes is just a short stroll away. The Camden Haven area is a water lovers paradise and Haven Waters is right amongst it; lakes, river and beaches. Take in the view from North Brother mountain, one of the best on the east coast. There are numerous bush walks in the area for the nature lover and bird life abounds in this beautiful setting. Haven Waters has an outdoor swimming pool with BBQ area and pool lounge area. There is a guest laundry and over one acre of lawn and gardens with picnic tables. Each room has Foxtel and free wi-fi. All motel rooms are comfortably appointed with bar fridge, kitchenette, toaster and tea & coffee making facilities. Try our superior Terrace Suites with their large shared balcony and great views. The one and two bedroom apartments offer a real home away from home with fully equipped kitchens and, separate lounge and bedrooms. All motel rooms , suites and apartments are fully air conditioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Haven Waters Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing