We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a great little find, tucked away in a quiet location of Lancashire. Great welcome on arrival. Very clean and tidy en suite bed room, well decorated. Breakfast both days were just superb. Evening meal also excellent, a very good and varied menu. All the staff were courteous and efficient and nothing was any trouble. Accomodation allows dogs in the bedrooms. Would return here time and again and would tell friends and family to visit here if they were after great accomodation in this area.

Room Tip: We were in Nicky Nook, but I think all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    55
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
140
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stocksbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were made extremely welcome from the moment we entered the Priory right up to the moment we closed the door to leave. The food was excellent and the room was spacious with a very comfortable bed.Every member of staff that we met was polite and very helpful, they could not do enough for us and the log burners made a cold night outside so pleasant inside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We found this splendid establishment from an online search for local accommodation - and what a find it proved to be! We (and our Great Dane) were made immediately welcome from the moment of our arrival. Our room exceeded expectations in terms of quality and facilities, as did the food at both dinner and breakfast. Most memorable of all was the attentiveness and friendly attitude of the staff.
We use overnight accommodation, for both business and leisure, fairly frequently, and there is no doubt that the Priory ranks at the very highest level of service. This splendid establishment is fully recommended in all respects - and, most particularly, gave excellent value for money. Do not hesitate - book it!

Room Tip: I assume our room was of the same standard as the others. The bathroom was of a very good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanSarginson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What an amazing retreat right opposite The Barn ( a Winter wonderland of a Garden centre that sells not only lovely Xmas crafts but mulled wine) the Priory has an intimate,homely feel with good food at reasonable prices and big portions. The rooms are tasteful and the prices are very reasonable. Dean runs a wonderful outdoor shop that services cyclists ,walkers and equestrians. Honestly nicer than many 5 star hotels we've stayed in. Thoroughly recommended and nothing too much trouble with all local produce sourced, good ales and Malt whiskers. Once you've filled your tum on the gorgeously cooked Lancashire food,had a nice bottle of red wine,curl up by one of the wood burners with a good book. Not far from the Lake District but none of the extortionate prices. Thank you,be there again very soon.

Room Tip: Grizedale was lovely but if you want a bath maybe pick another as it only has a shower but even then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPeskett28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the moment we walked in the experience was fantastic. The food was amazing, you could tell it was all freshly prepared and all was local produced, the young lady who served us was attentive and polite and could not do more for us. overall I would definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For me, a great restaurant is about more than the food: It's about attitude, service, comfort and much more. From the moment I walked into The Priory I was made welcome by the staff, The Priory doesn't need a long review as it's so fabulous it can be summed it in just a few words!! As for the food and the service they were both excellent and I cant speak highly enough about my visit. I will certainly be making another trip there very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_food_guru2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 31 Oct 2013. We found our ground floor room bigger than I expected - It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our evening dinner was tasty, presentable and I couldn't fault the local real ale. I would recommend the full English breakfast, more than enough and I can eat for England (so the wife tells me!). Sadly we didn't have the opportunity to see much of the village due to time constraints, however we did visit the nearby garden centre and shop (very nice). I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
5.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,282 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garstang Country Hotel and Golf Centre
7.2 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
988 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bartle Hall Country Hotel
14.7 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Property: The Priory
Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing