We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good..but not with my reservation”
Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good..but not with my reservation”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was a bit concerned as prior to arriving I had not received the confirmation email as promised despite having telephoned and confirmed my booking. Please do not let that put you off, however. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the food was superb and the room was very comfortable. I had a fantastic night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and will book again if I am in the area and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_London72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    61
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
70
149
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is the best pub we've ever been too in all our visits! It helps that its just around the corner from the family home. But honestly the people are always friendly, they do their best to keep up with customers and make sure everyone is happy. The food is standard bar food, but is fresh and delicious! Family have stayed here at the Inn and loved it. The atmosphere is inviting and warm and the place is clean and neat. What more could anyone want?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarheelCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here on the 13th October, an overnight stay on our way up to Scotland. We had previously been to look at the Priory and several other hotels in the area, this was by far the best choice. It was our first wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday on the 14th. We arrived early evening, the room was lovely and quaint. We ate in the restaurant and the food was fantastic, and very good value for money. The fresh vegetables were gorgeous. The room was more than adquate and had a good comfortable nights sleep. The breakfast was lovely, we had a full English and the staff were all very attentive and friendly. The Priory itself is very quaint and full of character. loved it all. Had a wander around the village the next morning and our aim is to retire here!! All in all a fantastic stay and will be booking to go back same time next year ( unless the hubby lets us go before )

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the Priory, no view over the village but as it was dark that was ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've just returned from three nights at the Priory Inn and had a lovely time with unseasonably good weather! We came across the Priory on the internet by pure chance while we were looking for somwhere different than our usual Lakes or Northumberland. Our room was pleasantly furnished, very comfy bed, all you need plus some very good home made biccies replenished each day. Rooms were not huge (I had a peek in a few!) but all were nicely done and welcoming: Just what's needed for a long weekend. The food was the highlight of our stay - We ate in the restaurant twice and in the bar on our final night: Everything we ordered was tasty, hot and well priced comparative to many similar quality places we've stayed at. The menu included a varierty of dishes ranging from traditional pub faves like Fish & Chips and Steak & Onion Pie - through to Moroccan Tagine and Rainbow Trout. The breakfasts were hearty - good selection of cereals, fruit salad, yogurts - followed by any desired combination of cooked breakfast - and a particular highlight for me: they're not baked bean snobs! ;-) So, all in all - an excellent time was had, decent beer (we liked the local 'Nicky Nook' ale), friendly surroundings and somewhere we hope to return. The 'Trough of Bowland' and local area is beautiful, plenty of nature reserves nearby for those who enjoy the outdoors, Blackpool isnt far if you like that kind of thing - and it's a relatively quick drive past Morcambe Bay and into the southern Lakes. What I liked most about this place was its high quality alongside its lack of pretention - making it a very welcoming place to be.

Room Tip: Just a minor point - If its hot and you want to open your window, a room at the front or side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_feline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our daughter's wedding was held at the Priory at Scorton on 1st September 2012. The day itself could not have been better and no small part of that was down to Julie and the staff of the Priory. The service, followed by champagne in the beautiful garden led seamlessley to a wonderful Lancashire buffet served by young but absolutely wonderful staff.
We had great rooms and excellent breakfasts the morning after.

We can't rate it higher than five but could find absolutely no fault. A day to remember, made
even more special by the venue. Well done, all of you, and thank you. Peter and Eileen Stott

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenandPeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we went in to the priory resturant for a Sunday lunch the meals and service was both excellent the only draw back was the price a beer it was bit pricey at 3.90. but we still had excellent afternoon there

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is a charming English country inn. It is very handy for the M6, which is why I used it, but the information in the hotel showed that there were many attractions and lots of scenic walks, drives and cycle rides nearby. The place is delightful, the hosts were welcoming, the food delicious and the room compact and comfortable. I can't fault it. I only hope that I have the chance to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
1.7 mi away
Crofter's Hotel
Crofter's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Garstang
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,340 reviews
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Property: The Priory
Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing