We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding”
Review of The Priory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Priory
Ranked #1 of 1 Scorton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had our Wedding at the Priory and we cannot thank Gary, Julie and all the staff enough for all the work they did for our big day. Especially the girls on the day who helped lay out the tables before the wedding, the place looked amazing. It was great value for money too - it felt like a much more expensive do that it actually was - The staff were so very friendly and polite. All our friends and faily commented on how efficient they were. Not to foget the food, which was deliciuos and very well served to around 60 people. The food for the night do (bacon & sausage sandwhiches and chips) went down very well as did the good breakfasty the next morning. Can't reccomend this place enough if you're thinkng of choosing the Priory, book it now! We live in the village and now every time we walk past it makes us smile - Thanks again for all your hard work!

Room Tip: There is a really good size family room on the ground floor, and nice rooms oerlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScortonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed overnight with my family, great food, staff very welcoming. I have been visiting the Priory restaurant for almost 40 years but this is the first time I have stayed over, it won't be the last! We are already planning our next visit, good food, good beer and a walk around the stunning scenery. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grizedale room (ground floor) which is very spacious and a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A great hotel to stay in to break a north/south journey.

The staff were very welcoming, the rooms were comfortable with every mod con needed and the food was wonderful.

We really enjoyed our brief stay and would highly recommend The Priory to anyone. My husband particularly enjoyed the Full Lancashire breakfast!! We were sorry that our stay was necessarily limited to one night and would hope to visit again and explore the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceramica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Priory Hotel is in a beautiful setting, the staff make you very welcome and are helpful to a fault,they certainly go the extra mile.We were there for one night Saturday night the weekend of The Open Golf Championship.The whole of the area was very busy and probably the reason we were charged a bit over the odds for the room were given.The room was very very small,no wardrobe.The only place to hang clothes was over the mirror.Having said that it was clean and tidy .The breakfast was excellent very enjoyable and the staff were very attentive.Because of prior commitment we did not use the dining room.Overall a nice hotel we would go back but we would avoid the the Lilliputian room.

Room Tip: Avoid the very small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was blown away just by the journey to the hotel, the Trough of Bowland is fantastic, the Priory is just the jewel in the crown. We got a lovely room, tasty food and real old fashioned customer care.
It was a shame to leave but we managed to find some time for browsing in Bowland Outdoors, the clothing boutique within The Priory,

Room Tip: Just relax and have it all done for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently chose the Priory as the location for our wedding after looking around all the usual venues and none of them quite fitting what we wanted, which was an intimate, relaxing setting in a rural location. Julie and Gary quickly grasped exactly what we were looking for and created the perfect day for us. All our guests booked rooms, which meant we had a fully self contained area to relax and prepare prior to the ceremony. It really is a family affair at the Priory, all hands on deck preparing the outside areas and really going that extra mile to ensure we were happy. Guests arrived and chilled out in the gardens with drinks before being ushered into the civil ceremony area which had been beautifully prepared and had the most amazing atmosphere, you need to visit to feel what I mean, it had a warmth that you just dont get at most venues. Following the ceremony you were spoilt for choice with the photo opportunities including gorgeous walled gardens (with timber gazebo should the rain arrive). Onto the wedding breakfast, we could not have wished for better, the food was amazing and plentiful, we had been given a great range to choose from and opted for Homemade soup, Bowland lamb and all the trimmings, belgium chocoloate cups, coffee & tiffins... good choice! The day just ran so smoothly all thanks to the girls supporting Julie who were great, nothing was too much trouble. All guests met for breakfast Sunday morning, a little delicate, and there was plenty of orange juice and fruit on hand to aid recovery. For those who could manage the full english, it again was superb. Every guest was in agreement that the day had been perfect in every way and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Priory, its fab proprietors (family), very efficient, friendly staff. IIm just looking forward to our revisit on our Anniversary!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, we stayed in the Nicky Nook and will be booking each Anniversary to re-liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

It is a wonderful experience from the moment you walk through the door. The receptionist is welcoming and greets you as if you have been there many times before and even offers to help you with you luggage. The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and comfortable with a good welcome/ information pack, well stocked coffee tray with homemade biscuits and freeview TV, the only downside is the rooms are quite warm even with the windows open, the en suite bathroom is big and clean with a lovely powerful shower, plenty of towels and high quality complementary toiletries. The food is excellent and made with local produce, the service of the staff was friendly, cheerful and attentive. The priory has its own deli and bakery. It is set in a lovely, peaceful country village. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here all be it a very short stay. We would definately return and recommend it to anyone. The big extra bonus is that it is VERY dog friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrasMinibuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
3.2 mi away
Best Western Garstang Country Hotel And Golf Centre
4.3 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
678 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#4 of 15 in Preston
667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory

Address: The Priory The Square, Scorton PR3 1AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scorton
Price Range: $95 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory Scorton, The Forest of Bowland.The Priory built in the early 17th century was originally a Christian place of worship, set in the idyllic ancient hunting grounds of The Forest of Bowland, which was the hunting playground for Nobility and aristocracy alike, and to this day it still is, the area is divided into large estates owned by The Queen, The Duke of Westminster and alike. During the time of The Reformation The Priory was paid a visit from Olivers Army (Cromwell) and was duly left in peace, whist other local establishments faired far worse, the castle at Garstang was besieged, sacked and ordered to be dismantled, so even in those times The Priory was doing something right.Time moved on and so did The Priory changing from a Chapel to a Blacksmiths, a Catholic boys school, a Post Office and private residence,The Priory Inn now offers its own bakery and spacious, warmly furnished rooms. Fresh, homemade food is served, all food is locally sauced using Honeywell meats, Dewlay cheeses, Pilling potatoes to name but a few All bedrooms have light decor and crisp furnishings, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities; each room has a modern private bathroom with toiletries provided. The stylish restaurant provides hearty full English breakfasts and meals from fresh and local ingredients. Fresh fish and quality steaks are served, along with a daily changing specials board. The traditional bar includes a cosy log fire and a pretty, outdoor dining area.Scorton is a beautiful village set in The Forest of Bowland (designated an area of outstanding natural beauty)and is a delightful 30 minute walk from the market town Garstang, the surrounding area is full of scenic walking and cycling routes. Free parking and free WI-FI are available, and Lancaster , Poulton-Le Fylde, Preston, Blackpool, Clitheroe anf Lytham ST Annes just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Scorton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing