We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunches at the Barn”
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Scorton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunches at the Barn”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We are frequent visitors to the Barn. Food and Service always superb.
Chips are proper chip crispy and tasty.
Soup is a favourite and today as usual did not let us down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    120
    47
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Quirky stop off”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Quirky stop off on a trip through the Trough of Bowland.Located in the beautiful village of Scorton. An Aladdin's cave of nic nacs to peruse. Some more pricey than others like the paper lanterns for Easter. Miss matched crockery and furniture. We had coffee in the barn area which had flag floors and I cant understand the negative views of some people complaining about the cyclists.Its a good place for walkers as well.There is another more upmarket area for eating at the back.The carrot cake was a huge portion and delicious.The prices were reasonable and the staff very pleasant.Will definitely go back.To those people complaining about the cyclists it may be my very sweaty other half and his mates!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Pavillian at the back is the most wonderful venue for a small party/gathering”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We hired the Pavillion Room at the back of The Barn Coffee Shop for my mum's 80th. It's a octagonal shaped room that is separate from the rest of the complex. It has windows on all sides and a log burning stove in the middle. Decked out with a pretty chandelier and bunting. It is a little haven for a small party and we had guests fro m 14 - 89.

The hot buffet provided by The Barn was delicious and plentiful. We all had lots to eat and were even given large containers of the left over food to take home.

The staff were discrete but very efficient and cheery. This really is a most wonderful little haven and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for something a bit different. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful freshly-brewed coffee to compliment the excellent scones”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have frequented the Barn at Scorton for a long time now - the scones are wonderful; particularly the cinnamon scones which are baked at the weekend! They have now started serving delicious coffee using Atkinson's coffee from Lancaster. It is absolutely lovely and to be highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A slice of cake and a cup of tea!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Lovely interesting place eclectic and interesting with great coffee too! Great place to escape the winter blues.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank emily j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barn also viewed

Scorton, Lancashire
Scorton, Lancashire
 
Cockerham, Lancashire
 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing