We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scorton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Even better”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

After a walk up and around from Scorton I called in at the Apple Store Cafe Wyresdale Park for coffee and scones. It is over a year since I was last here and the cafe has extended into the glass buildings attached. We managed to get a table in the original section which is cosier. The service is very good and the food was delivered with generous portions and was delicious. Good to see the place thriving and I will be back in the summer to enjoy the walk around the grounds and down the lane to the lake.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The surroundings are amazing, can not belive I didnt know this was here. The surround is worth the visit its self.
Boating on the lake. . . Marvelous
Food. . Local and tasty
Definitely worth a visit
Top marks from me, will definitely be going there for coffee and cake again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Flora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

last visit yesterday.wonderfull place.had chicken soup and hot roll in the apple café.delicious,and very filling.took carrot cake home for later.walked round the lake,saw abundance of wildlife.keen to hire a rowing boat,unfortunately it was too windy on the lake.didnt stop us exploring the woods and checking out thewooden lodges.a must for a back to nature experience.the owners are lovely people.very hands on and helpful.you will enjoy this estate whatever the weather.do give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamin187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic weekend with friends.The owners are so welcoming and we were made to feel very comfortable and any help needed was available with a smile.The surrounding areas beautiful and overlooking a large lake which we were able to hire a boat for reasonable price and very much enjoyed.Our hut was comfortable and were now experts in fire making and cooking food on top of the log burner.The hot tub was magical,light a few candles and open the bubbly.We did not want to leave.Thoroughly enjoyed by all!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a lovely place for tea in a delightful country setting. We took my mother, with some friends, to the Apple Store cafe for her 97th Birthday. The table was nicely set out with a variety of tasty sandwiches. The scones and cakes were brought out, along with some lovely individual strawberry pavlovas, after the sandwiches.

All the food tasted fresh and just made.- exactly what is needed for a celebration tea.

Tea and coffee were served promptly and refills provided at sensible intervals. Service was very good; attentive without being overpowering.

We thoroughly recommend the Apple Store for afternoon tea and recommend that you go with a hearty appetite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
804 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

First visit to this unusual place for this area. The small cosy cafe is situated on a large country estate. It was a cold bleak day and most of us opted for the home made soup each trying a different flavour, each was delicious. We were also offered (and accepted) complimentary mulled wine. The walk through the woods to the lake in the winter sun was really enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had recently been told about this hidden gem. Been going to Scorton for years, but certainly didn't know that this place was there I understand that it has only been opened to the public for the past two years. Having friends coming to stay with us from the South East, we always like to try and find somewhere different to take them each time they visit us, which is a very difficult task when they have been coming for so long. This time we did it, What a pleasure it was, to have afternoon tea there, which was absolutely delicious, rhe pleasantness of the owner and staff great. Very impressed, our 1st visit but certainly will not be our last. We enjoyed our walk around the grounds and Lake, Such a pity that this is not sign posted better, feel sure that had we not know about it, we would have missed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank talltreesU_k_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scorton
5.3 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
1,326 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
618 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Priory
The Priory
#1 of 1 in Scorton
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cleveleymere The Lake House
10.3 mi away
Stanley Villa Farm Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park

Property: Country House Hideout at Wyresdale Park
Address: Snow Hill Lane, Scorton PR3 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Scorton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Scorton
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is what you'll find at your Country House Hideout: Tented luxury - A plumbed-in loo, luxurious bed and a hot-tub to call your own, all form part of your personal encampment.Bags of space - With room for up to eight, why not invite your best friends or favourite family?Discover nature - Your family will be off exploring the flora and fauna to get a closer look with the scientific instruments in the discovery tent. Carbon neutral - Save fossil fuels, pedal a bike to power up the lights in your tent. Our hearts leapt when we saw Wyresdale Park for the first time - this is surely the original setting for Swallows and Amazons. A lake for boating and swimming, a fell rising up from its shore and countryside characters just like Arthur Ransome described them. The estate is on the doorstep of the Lake District but better than that, it is private. Forget the traffic and crowds of Windermere - this is all yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country House Hideout At Wyresdale Park Scorton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing