We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for leisure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowside Castle B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Longton B&B and Inns
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
227 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good for leisure”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Meadowside Castle is nicely located between cattle full meadows and relaxing walk paths near 3 ponds. It is easy to see that this B&B absorbed a lot of owner efforts to became attractive place. It is quiet, relaxing, green and cozy.

Pros:
- extremely clean bathroom shining and smelling well
- comfortable bed
- free internet access
- rich breakfast
- friendly Lisa and her full of enthusiasm son (most likely future owner)
- fresh air

Cons:
- rooms are a bit cramped
- no even one chair and no table in the room (no work place)
- repeatable breakfasts
- microscopic TV set

Disappointed:
- I have expected 40£ charge per day as agreed. I have got to know on place that breakfast is extra charged 5£ per day. Unusual since B&B means B&B and no information about breakfast charge in advance
- Even I left 5 AM I have been still charged for breakfast I never ate. Well...

On and on – recommended place, clean and well-kept. I would not advice for longer stay (the same breakfast each day). It is not for business people who would like to work a bit on evenings in their room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A really excellent place to stay. Made welcome from the moment I arrived. Accommodation was better than most hotels, with a separate wing for guests. Nicely appointed room, superb guests lounge and to cap it all fantastic breakfast fare. Whether you are visiting the area for business or pleasure, you could not go wrong with this place. If you need a further incentive - great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_hill_sf49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A little peace of paradice . Lisa the B&B is a credit to you ,lovely house & gardens & the service you give is 5 star , the breakfast set's you up for the day . Pub's & restraunt's close by & lovely walks Can't wait to come back .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cockerblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You couldn't be made more welcome by Lisa. This is an easy going environment. Don't come here if you are on a schedule and want military precision. Come and relax. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. The towels sumptuous. We arrived before our rooms were ready but sat in the lovely garden and were served a much needed lovely cuppa. We stayed 2 nights and were joined by 2 other couples (friends) for the second. We moved the tables to have breakfast together. This was not a problem. My daughter came in in the small hours - not a problem. Nothing is a problem. Lisa wants her guests to feel comfortable and is anxious to nature this. We were happy to relax and chat. Breakfast came when it came - very welcome and lovely. It is not perfect here - but it is homey. Dark, thick curtains helped with sleeping. Too often curtains are flimsy. It would be good to have shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. This is a minor issue though. We will come again. Definitely.

Room Tip: All on second floor. 5 doubles. 1 twin. Not all have a bath. Specify what you would like on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

An amazing building which is certainly not typical of this area but still sits well in its surroundings. Lisa and Ponce could not have been more helpful, from booking the room, through checking in, to putting on a light breakfast that we could help ourselves to when we felt like getting up (it was New Year's Day) and no rush to get us out.
The room was immaculate as was the breakfast room and guest lounge, with modern decor and more than adequate facilities (a couple of spare pillows would be useful). The gardens and courtyard I expect are a bonus in summer.With the guest rooms in the separate wing, it feels more like a hotel than a B&B
We enjoyed a short walk around the Brickcrofts Nature Reserve just down the road and Crofts Bakery at the end of the road does great homemade food.
Be aware that the lane has no street lighting but to paraphrase Basil F, what do you expect from a country B&B. If you don't want to hear owls at dawn or the cock crow, go to a Premer Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for the Guild and came back in November visiting family and to watch a PNE match. Superb accommodation, lovely rooms really well done and comfortable accommodation with everything you need. Good to have guest lounge and breakfast room, fabulous breakfast. Lisa and Ponce make you really welcome.
Last time we had spare time in the day and had a lovely picnic in the nature reserve by Meadowside watching the ducks and swans not to forget Croft bakery pies across the road. They've even got Booths supermarket in the village. Watch out Waitrose what more could you ask for! Hard to imagine you are so near the city and road links. We are really pleased to have found Meadowside.

Room Tip: We have had two overlooking the garden which were both lovely but it is so quiet even though really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 481Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here due to the reviews on Trip Advisor. My wife wanted to see the Blackpool lights. I had not been for thirty years and she had not been for about ten years.
We searched and found Lisa and Ponce.
Magnificent, the room and bathroom were warm and spotless, sadly Lisa could not get to us once a week to clean our house though. In the morning breakfast was perfect, even though we were the only couple that morning the fruits, cereals were put out for ten people. Some places would have had one cornflake and an old banana.
The hot breakfast was all local foods and very well cooked and presented. we had the opportunity to speak with Lisa and listened to how hard the work had been to get to this pinnacle of hospitality. Thank you Lisa for our weekend.
Go and stay, phone and speak with Lisa and Ponce to see what you can discover in the area. Read the guestbook.

Room Tip: It does not matter everything is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longton
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Preston West Hotel
4.0 mi away
Ashwood Hotel
Ashwood Hotel
#9 of 15 in Preston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
4.2 mi away
Farington Lodge Hotel
Farington Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Farington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ibis Preston North
Ibis Preston North
#8 of 15 in Preston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowside Castle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowside Castle B&B

Property: Meadowside Castle B&B
Address: Meadowside Drumacre Lane West, Longton PR4 4SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Longton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Longton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing