We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Glamping Experiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silk Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silk Pavilions
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Glamping Experiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The tents where brilliant with a super comfy bed lovely outdoor furniture with plenty of cushions and snug throws as all the amenities you need including a powerful shower and flushing toilet. The most special thing about Silk Pavilions was the view, it was breathtaking and so private! We bought an esky with bbq food which meant we could cook on the privacy of our deck! Sue was lovely greeting us as we arrived and seamlessly sorting out the bill when we left in between she respected our privacy and we were able to chill out and enjoy the surroundings. I have recommended Silk Pavilions to all of my friends and we will defiantly be arranging another visit in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Absolutely loved it ! Tents are so cool. I have travelled a lot of the world and this is the coolest place iv stayed yet. So beautiful and relaxing. Love the BBQ on the balcony and having all the luxuries as well as the feeling of being in nature ! Would stay again and highly recommend.
Just a couple of notes. We took a bowl to mix salad in and a chopping board.....makes it even easier !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first of many visits I am sure.
We were greeted warmly and offered bubbly on arrival by Sue and John and from that moment on the weekend was perfect.

The room, stunning and above expectations, the property the same and the hospitality that Sue and John provided, amazing.

A truly unique experience that every couple should experience.

PS we had dinner on the sat night cooked by Sue and John and it was spectacular, not to be missed.

Room Tip: All are good each with their own views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsby, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've stayed at alot of nice places in the Mount Warning area and surrounds, and this place is by far our favourite.
Our 2nd visit. First time was in the luxury tents - very thoughtfully appointed with great semi-outdoor shower, comfy bed, beautiful lush and peaceful outlook. This time we tried the Thai Pavilion it was heavenly! Spectacular views, beautiful furniture and linen, and lovely under cover outdoor lounge areas.
The resident wallabies and friendly chooks were an added attraction - very cute :)
We tried the chef prepared meals rather than our usual DIY meals (I'm very fussy with food) and it was so worth it! You can taste the freshness of their home grown veges & eggs, and I wanted to take the chef home!
The owners are very friendly and made a couple of exceptions to rules for us.
We were greeted with champagne and farewelled with coffee :)
Thank you so much - we'll be making it an annual visit!

Room Tip: The luxury tents are great, and for not much more the Pavilion is exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminSaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have just returned home from a two night stay in the "Majestic" Eco pavilion. Silk Pavilions was about an hour drive from Gold Coast airport.On arrival we were greeted by a friendly Scottish lady, Emma who welcomed us with a glass of bubbly.Our accommodation was like camping in style..referred to as "glamping."The views are beautiful and the atmosphere is serene and relaxing. A picturesque setting with wallabies , birds and wildlife.The first evening a BBQ pack was delivered to our accommodation,where we could cook the meat on our verandah barbeque at our own leisure. The BBQ meal was delicious. The next evening we had a romantic dinner on the landing of the main pavilion. This was the best dining experience ever and 5 star quality. A romantic setting, beautiful views, a sensational 3 course meal, complimentary wine all cooked and served by Emma..who made this a very special evening. A complimentary breakfast was delivered to our accommodation each morning which we could have at our own leisure.Overall our few days at silk pavilions was a unique and perfect experience. We had complete privacy and Emma and an Irish couple, Bendan and Lisa were the perfect hosts.Every aspect was highlighted with a personal, friendly touch. highly recommend this experience ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We recently spent two nights glamping and it was a unique experience. The concept of camping with a king size bed and chandelier is excellent. The scenery and surrounding areas are spectacular and there is so much to do with all the local markets on weekends in various locations and spending time bush walking and on scenic drives. A relaxing experience is a must here and the peace and quiet is wonderful. We had the romantic dinner one evening and it was an excellent meal in a great setting. We also had the pizzas the next night and they also were great.
The downside is that the accommodation is looking a bit tired and debatable whether you call it rustic or in need of a freshen up. We stayed in the tent with the wooden bathtub and it looked spectacular but failed to live up to expectations because the leaks out flowed the water running in and we could not get more that 150mm into the tub. The breakfast and complimentary tea and coffee supplied is not of the quality the you would expect and needs an upgrade. Overall a must to visit and a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience. All your comments are taken onboard and greatly appreciated. I'd just like to let you know that we have recently returned from India where we ordered 3 more NEW TENTS to replace the existing ones. We agree, although they are serviceable and have been refurbished it will be brilliant to have some lovely new ones. Re the bath, I think Emma who showed you into your Eco must have forgotten to explain that in order to have the bath hold water you must first wet it!! We have had extremely dry weather and the timber in the bath tub from time to time dries out. So all that is needed is for the bath to be wet (all over) and then it expands and then hold water!! Ancient technology!! But fabulous! We do hope you will revisit when we have our lovely new tents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Silk Pavilions is set in a picturesque, tranquil countryside with magnificent mountain vistas. The quasi camping experience provides a perfect opportunity to escape the hectic pace of Brisbane and is a welcome contrast to the 'over cooked' environments of the Gold and Sunshine Coasts. It is a great idea.
But ..... the service lets the place down. Silk Pavilions is a relatively expensive destination but guests are made to feel like they are staying at a cheap motel. The breakfast and complimentary room provisions, such as coffee, are cheap and decidedly down market. Disappointing indeed.
Frankly, the service seems rushed, 'forced' and non-genuine, verging on weird. It lacks the professionalism that would be usually expected from an establishment in this price range.
Silk Pavilions would benefit from the provision of higher quality service and has the potential to be a delightful experience, with essential improvements.
For us, it is a 'one off' only.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPM1, Owner at Silk Pavilions, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for the time taken to write a review. We have looked at all your comments and most definitely take them on board. Just to explain, we, the owners, are usually the ones to meet, greet and look after you but at the time of your visit we were on a well earned holiday!! Emma, our caretaker is usually a very pleasant efficient, friendly lass who we believe does her job brilliantly. She did explain to me that at the time of your check in she was multitasking by 10!! So if it seemed a little rushed then I apologize........it probably was!! It is definitely not the norm and if the readers would like to read our other reviews below they will see we get wonderful accolades about our service. So apologies there. Re the tea and coffee, we have been using the 'Diplomat" brand purely because each t-bag is labelled! Twinings etc often do not label each individual t-bag. We will definitely try and explore other brands though. Unfortunately we cannot have a coffee machine in the Eco's due to the lack of power. Fabulous coffee's are available at the main pavilion for a small additional cost should guests wish. Hopefully you could visit us another time when WE could give you the usual friendly lovely welcome we are remembered for!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Burrell
6.1 mi away
Nimbin Rox YHA
Nimbin Rox YHA
#1 of 1 in Nimbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
19.6 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
11.2 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Grey Gum Lodge
Grey Gum Lodge
#1 of 2 in Nimbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mt Warning Forest Hideaway
15.6 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Pavilions

Property: Silk Pavilions
Address: 274 Mount Burrell Rd, Mount Burrell, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Burrell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Burrell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silk Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing