We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JUST LOVED THIS PLACE!! SO PEACEFUL.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silk Pavilions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silk Pavilions
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“JUST LOVED THIS PLACE!! SO PEACEFUL.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We have just had an amazing weekend here and cant rave enough about it. It was just so different, so, so relaxing, secluded and wonderful. We are both city workers in Brisbane and just needed a break away from the norm and the rat race! Initially not sure about the Eco Pavilion but went for it anyway. So glad we did. When you walk in, once you get over the WOW factor the sense of total relaxation takes hold. No TV, no internet, no distractions other than the cute wallabies and the sounds of the odd whip bird. Chilling on the large daybed, reading my book with the sun beaming on me felt like heaven. Bed was very comfy(even electric blankets) tent very clean with lovely linen and cosy blankets. You have to boil the billy to make a cuppa and that was fun. So tea, coffee etc provided. We ordered the winter HOTPOT. Came with a homemade damper. All I can say was..yum.yum!!!! Order one if you get to come here. By the time we left we felt so relaxed, rediscovered ourselves and relived our childhood with a game of scrabble. Oh, reserve The Pinnacle, it has a huge timber bath……..and take the champas!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    14
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We don't often have holidays (2 in 18 years!) and this was so beautiful. We needed a rest in the countryside and were so pleased we went to Silk Pavillions. The accommodation is fine very comfortable and interesting. The view is stunning with never ending cascades of clouds over the Border Ranges and Mt. Warning. No matter what the weather you would never tire of looking out the window or walking around the tropical gardens. Wildlife too from wallabies to sweet hens. Sue and John were our hosts and were so friendly and helpful. We had a delicious romantic dinner while watching the sunset in this beautiful place and just loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: We loved the Villa - Thai teak & comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We really didnt know what to expect when we decided to stay at silk pavilions last weekend, We booked online and stayed for two nights, and man am I glad we did!

This place is literally the best place I've ever stayed. I don't give out no.1's willy nilly, but the service, location, rooms, everything was just so cool.

We originally wanted to stay in the Thai villa, but it was booked out, so we chose one of the luxury tents, and I have to say, when we go back again, we will DEFINITLY stay in the tents again. Its like nothing we'd ever stayed in before. It's hard to get the point across that, yes it's 'technically' a tent, but it's so luxurious! Polished hardwood floors, electric blankets, chandeliers, incredible shower, full amenities, personal BBQ, everything. It really is something you have to see to believe.

So, yes, I'd recommend this place 100%, the hosts are so warm and welcoming, the food is amazing, you'll love it.

And to the folks to complained on this site, either they are trying to sabotage the place for some reason (competition?) or they truly are nitpickers, because silk pavilions is somewhere I'm already trying to figure out how we can come back to....and we only just left!

Thanks guys for an amazing time!

Room Tip: The villa is great, but the luxury tents are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladofdestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband and spent a romantic weekend at Silk Pavillions where we attended one of their cooking school classes we had a wonderful experience and the food and the accomadation were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowlady33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We wanted to stay in the Thai VIlla but this was unavailable for our dates so we decided to give the Luxury Tented Suites a go. I have been trying to get my wife into a tent for years so I thought this was the golden opportunity. So when we arrived we were given a very warm welcome by Sue. We loaded our luggage into the tractor which she ferried to our Suite. We walked the 200 metres.past wallabies, chickens and were just speechless with the magnificent views. Well, when we entered the Tent, all we could say was WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is like something we had never seen before. 5 star I say, all the way!! Plush mink blankets on the beds, lambs wool rugs, polished floors...this is very posh camping. Oh, forgot to mention the chandelier!! The bathroom was to die for as well. Petrified wood basin and large timber bathtub. Thought we were going to be cold but the verandah is decked out with a large patio heater and they even have electric blankets on the bed(which is extremely comfortable by the way). Did not miss the tele one bit. We borrowed a game of scramble and played that for a while until we could concentrate no more as the views during the sunset, gobsmacking. Breakfast was delivered the next morning in the form of a basket of goodies. All fresh, organic and apparently locally sourced. It was so nice and very healthy. I cant tell you how much we enjoyed ourselves. The feeling of escaping life and finding oneself is just magical. I have never stayed in any accom anywhere in the world that I have enjoyed as much. Peaceful, secluded and blissful. Please find time to do this. It is a wonderful experience and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Order the pizza's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynomads5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We enjoyed two wonderful days at Silk Pavilions. We were welcomed by Sue and her team who made us feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. The peace and quiet of our tent was just so amazing, the birds singing in the morning was a joy to hear, so good to be away from the everpresent "tv" and loud sound systems of today. Our breakfast was beautifully presented and our pizza was too delicious. The tent was so clean and very well presented and we loved our wooden bath. Would highly recommend this superb accommodation to anyone who wants to visit the spectacular scenery of Mt. Warning and the Tweed Valley.

Room Tip: Go for the tent experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGlamper1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed here during Easter holidays in one of the tents. This is nothing like camping, but actually very luxurious with nice wooden floors, comfortable bed and amazing views over the valley. The open air shower is a nice experience in the morning.
The domain has 1 house and 3 tents and they are located on a very large hilly domain overlooking the mountains. Very quiet and intimate feeling. Great to wake up by jumping walabis and singing birs around you.
Very personnal service and the owners happy to provide you with tips for the areas. Very nice breakfast served on your private terrace and thehomemade BBQ and pizza (also on bbq) are highly recommended.
Don't expect a big television and sound system, you come here to enjoy the peacefulness of the fantastic surroundings (natural park).

This is for sure a stay you will remember because it is so different from the typical big hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Burrell
6.0 mi away
Nimbin Rox YHA
Nimbin Rox YHA
#1 of 1 in Nimbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mt Warning Forest Hideaway
11.2 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Koonyum Range Retreat Byron Bay
15.6 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
19.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Pavilions

Property: Silk Pavilions
Address: 274 Mount Burrell Rd, Mount Burrell, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mount Burrell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Burrell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Pavilions 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Silk Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing