We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday function”
Review of The Bull Inn

The Bull Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Rolvenden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: he Bull Inn, is a Coaching Inn dating back to the 15th century, situated in Rolvenden at the heart of the Weald. With open fires and comfortable surroundings providing a refuse to weary travellers, locals and dogs alike.We pride ourselves on good home-cooked country pub food, using local produce wherever possible. We also offer prize winning wines and beers from local vineyards and the village’s own brewery ‘The Old Dairy’A warm welcome, daily specials and a monthly changing menu await you at The Bull.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Birthday function”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hi I organised a 90th birthday for my mother at the Bull 4th January 2014 and it went very well. Tom and the crew made us very welcome, lovely venue, warm log fire and the place is so bright with windows everywhere.

The food was good as was the ale

We have eaten there before and always good food and easy to get in

They support the village as well

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spello123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review! So glad you all had a lovely time! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    66
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We heard that the Bull had a new chef so we thought we'd try out the food. What a treat it was! Fantastic food! Had the steak which was cooked immaculately, think you can tell a good chef by the way they cook a steak, and overall the whole evening was wonderful. Highly recommend a visit. The pizzas looked fantastic too. Good service also. We will be back regularly!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great food, nice busy village pub, great staff”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Sunday lunch with friends, good choice of food, 4 empty plates.
Light and airy pub, really busy, friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch... No reservation”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Took a chance and turned up without a booking. We were found a table straight away by friendly helpful staff. 2 lovely ales to choose from. Harvey's and local red top... Which was superb. Recommended Special of the day was lamb kleftico.... Which was superb.... Friend had rib eye which was superb also. Staff very friendly and helpful.... Puddings were very good too.... Very enjoyable... We will be back !!

Helpful?
1 Thank BradySilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New chef - beware!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited this pub on the strength of the good reviews. It has been tastefully renovated, and the staff were pleasant, but it was quickly apparent that all was not well in the kitchen, (new chef and broken freezer). After several reminders, when we were constantly assured that the food was imminent, my wife and I's pizzas arrived after 45 minutes (my son's burger arrived slightly earlier). We noticed that we were not the only customers waiting for their orders. My wife's pizza was good, but mine was barely edible, soggy in the middle and with masses of half cooked onions and peppers in the middle. To their credit, the staff apologised, and our bill was reduced accordingly.
Given the strength of other reviews, I can only hope that this was a blip in the record of this attractive pub.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Owner at The Bull Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hello,
I do apologise again for the time your lunch took last Thursday. It was a most unfortunate blip, as you know, a fridge broke down so all the prepped food had to be re-done afresh - hence the delay. With hind sight we should have offered you an alternative dish which wouldn't have taken so long to come out of the kitchen.
We did try to make ammends but once again I can only apologise for your delay which was due to unforseen circumstances.
I do hope you will give us the benefit of the doubt and try us again.

Kind regards Amanda Harker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Inn also viewed

 
Rolvenden, Kent
 

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing