We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the same place?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfallteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stones Throw bed and breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanfallteg B&B and Inns
Jersey Marine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Is this the same place?”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked at the last minute, very much influenced by the reviews. We are in our 70's, golden wedding coming up. But somehow we managed to upset the proprietors in our first half hour that we were asked to leave. Our crimes? We could not find the place and suggested a sign might be nice; we expressed surprise that shoes were not allowed in the house, but willingly complied.
We were escorted out by 6.30 p.m. And had to go home. We asked for a refund via the bookings website, but it has been refused

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Owner at Stones Throw bed and breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We will always endeavour to treat our customers needs as top priority and will continue to strive to go above and beyond the call of duty in an attempt to make their holiday a memorable one for all the right reasons. We welcome people from all over the world into our home, one in which we take great pride and in return all we ask is that people respect it as such. Having never been in a situation where we've had to request that someone vacate our property this was not a decision that we undertook lightly. We do, in fact, have a significant sign at the entrance to our property and slippers are of course provided to walk on our luxurious and spotlessly clean carpets. We're sorry that you feel that these were the reasons you were asked to leave. Of course, they were not. For our comfort and that of other guests, we will not tolerate rude, ill mannered or beligerent behaviour. We will always cater for polite requests. Condescending comments and aggressive demands will be treated accordingly. We apologise for being unable to allow you to fully enjoy the experience others have enjoyed at The Peaceful Retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

a g8 getaway just for you staff r friendly and helpful a gud location to venture out and so cozy to come bk to after a hard days shopping and site seeing,the gardens r superb 2 chill and relax in away rom everyday hustle ideal for couples who don't want 2 rush about

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragoness05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for one night only and wished we had booked for the whole weekend. Our room was stunning and immaculate, we enjoyed wine on the balcony watching the sun go down, taking in the stunning view. Food was scrumptious! Sarah and Derrick were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend and we have every intention of returning very soon.

Room Tip: Superior suite, beautiful room with a balcony overlooking rural pastures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is not a big, multi-star hotel but if you want a warm welcome from both the owners and their dogs, super cleanliness, comfortable rooms, brilliant food, relaxation, country silence, great views, birdsong and a reasonable price tag then look no further. We arrived to be greeted with an immediate pot of tea and were shown to a neat and spotlessly clean room. The home cooked welsh cakes in the room were welcome and very tasty. After a very good night's sleep, breakfast was made up of local produce and very good indeed. Sadly, we didn't get an opportunity to try an evening meal. It is clear that the owner's are very proud of what they offer and work very hard to maintain their own high standards. All we need now is the smallest excuse to go back.

Room Tip: Don't try to choose! There are only 3 rooms and any will do nicely thank you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R and I S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were given a wonderful welcome of tea and home made cake and in our room a pre-ordered trug of wine, Welsh cakes, flowers, chocolates and especially brought in, my husbands choice of beer! The house is immaculate and tastefully decorated as was our suite. A stunning view from our balcony, spacious bedroom and dressing room and bathroom with a state of the art shower. The bed was extremely comfortable! The first evening we ventured to the village pub, kindly given a lift to and from by our brilliant hosts (due to the rain). A great evening with the locals in front of the log fire including some great singing from Derrick and friends. The food was amazing! Both days breakfast was 1st Class and perfectly timed. On the second night Sarah made us a fantastic dinner, our meal was tasty, fresh and filling. The house is perfectly placed with only the sound of birds and amazing views. We really enjoyed our stay and left totally happy and relaxed, Sarah was right, we didn't want to leave! I would thoroughly recommend a stay here! Thank you Sarah and Derrick.

Room Tip: The suite is worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandya1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

we,stayed for a mid week break and were made to feel so welcome.fantastic accommodation and good home cooked food.we will be returning again.was very clean and peaceful retreat.see you all soon,highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This may well be West Wales best kept secret in terms of somewhere to stay. After a very stressful phase in my life I really needed some time to relax and unwind. I thought the name Peaceful Retreat sounded just the ticket. My expectations were surpassed. This is a wonderful combination of home from home and five star hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for Sarah and Derrick. I felt so spoiled. The food is delicious and it takes a lot for me to say that because I'm really picky. This is somewhere I definitely would want to return to again and again whenever I need to recharge my batteries.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stones Throw bed and breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stones Throw bed and breakfast

Property: Stones Throw bed and breakfast
Address: Bwlchmelyn | Whitland, Llanfallteg SA34 0UJ, Wales (Formerly The Peaceful Retreat)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanfallteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfallteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stones Throw bed and breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in peaceful, picturesque countryside on the border of Pembrokeshire and Carmarthenshire, contemporary meets olde worlde in this 19th century traditional Welsh farmhouse which offers cosy, comfortable and relaxing Bed and Breakfast in stylish, yet slightly rustic, characterful accommodation amid an oasis of calm and tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing