We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect wine, food and service...”
Review of Bar Ucci

Bar Ucci
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Volpaia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Wine bar, osteria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply perfect wine, food and service...”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I came there with my friends and I had perfect wine name La Massa, bruschetti and service from a lady owner who was so friendly and polite... She even huged us on a way out....
Try, you will love the ambient!

Helpful?
1 Thank Billie_621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    177
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Stephen, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Imagine stumbling into a medieval town and discovering a jovial Bon vivant who owns a restaurant who offers great food and exceptional service. Well we did in this restaurant. We enjoyed a fabulous meal but the best part was the service and joie de vive of the Italian owner There was no doubt that she loves what she does . A wonderful way to enjoy lunch and a hi light of our Tuscan experience. Grazie for a delightful experience. She even provided shawls for us as it was cool.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly family in Chianti”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We rented an apartment in Volpaia and it truly is a tiny town. There is only Bar Ucci, it's beautiful sister restaurant and the winery here amongst the old buildings. We had the place to ourselves and it was just stunning. We were greeted every morning by Paola or her mother and had many meals here during our stay. Even if you weren't sleeping in town it is worth adding to your Chianti itinerary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and an enthusiastic owner!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Bar Ucci was the only thing open in Volpaia on a rainy January day during the holiday season, and Paola, the owner, was sweeping her outdoor seating area when we arrived--we had come, hoping that she would be open for lunch (after reading the Tripadvisor reviews)...she welcomed us enthusiastically, and we settled in for her lunch specialties--boar stew for me (think excellent goulasch) and sausage and beans for my husband...accompanied by an excellent Chianti--my dessert of homemade pannacotta with berries was also delicious...several other couples entered and also enjoyed their lunch selections..A tour van with a several people entered the bar for a wine/cheese tasting as well. We enjoyed our selections of quality Chianti so much that we ended up buying two bottles (an awesome 2006 and a 2007) from her. Total reasonably priced lunch (with great wine) for 2 was 35 euro. Bar Ucci is closed on Mondays.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not just another great place”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Most authentic lunch we had in Chianti. Awesome food, fantastic place! Family atmosphere.
Keep some space to try the panna cotta and tiramisu (which size is a proper meal :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Ucci also viewed

Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Radda in Chianti, Province of Siena
Volpaia, Radda in Chianti
 

Been to Bar Ucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing