We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mongena Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$152
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Faircity Roodevallei(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$57
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
$129
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$53
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Fitness center
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
107
55
9
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
55
9
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskingfisher restaurantgame lodgehoneymoon suiteking fisherday tripwedding weekendsmall lakean hoursecond visitthe reservesunday morningthank you so muchboat houseknowledgeable rangerspaying guestsdelicious foodan awesome experience
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 182 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our first time in South Africa, and first safari. Truly amazing and exceptionally good value for money. All staff were extremely firendly and our guides very knowledgeablle - Andries, Gavin and Peter - who wanted to show us as much as possible. Saw a lion - giraffes and elephants came very close to the jeep - wilderbeast, zebras, monkeys in trees etc. Did a walking safari and stood 20 metres away from a rhino hiding, behind a tree - awesome. Did a sunset cruise and saw hippos with their calf - beautiful. The food was fantasic (even though the 1st and 2nd chef were on holiday - surely they can't be better than the 3rd chef!) with a lovely restaurant overlooking the lake with a resident crocodile who perches below in anticioation of leftovers from guests! We had gluten free, vegetarian and fish but no meet included in our party - all well catered for. The accommodations and setting are very nice, especially the honemoon suite. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is beautiful. The family suites are very large.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDawbneyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Mongena Game Lodge inside the Dinokeng Reserve. We went for a 2 night weekend stay. Our rangers (Gavin, Monique & Pieter) and trackers (Rexson and Goodman) made for exciting times during our two game drives and game walk. We saw much wildlife, including up close to a cheetah on our game walk, and a jackal! Add to that, on our game drives, we again saw cheetah, elephant, giraffe (walking straight at us!), crocodile, and up close to a group of white rhinos that crossed right in front of our rover! Of course, the warthogs, zebra, many antelopes, birds and even some young hippos. Had a wonderful time. I will also add that the food was excellent, service in the Kingfisher restaurant was supreme, and the attitude of the staff overall excellent as well. Lodging was comfortable and very clean. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we managed to go to Mongena Game lodge in January 2012, the convenience of it being so close to home was an absolute treat, then on arrival the peace and quite that we experienced along with the friendly and incredibly helpful staff was fantastic. The Game ranger and tracker were unbelievable in their quest to show us as much wildlife as possible not to mention their knowledge of the wildlife as well as the stories that they told. Overall an experience I wish to have again really soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had a great weekend; the drive from Joburg on a Friday afternoon 3pm was quick and painless, about an hour. It was amazing to be in the real bush without leaving Gauteng. Hotel and rooms are great. The food is top class; the beetroot, peanut butter and sweet potato ice cream trio was out of this world. TRY IT! The Game Drive's were very good. The ranger and tracker were amazing, spending time tracking down a herd of elephant and then following lion spoor though the mud. They made every effort to ensure you got great sightings.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich-Megs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

superb place for a game drive especially if you do not want to go as far as kruggar.........the rangers are amazingly helpful..........the game drive was huge and well spread........with a halt for beers and breezers along with some snacks............superb quality rooms and very good food........all in all a must do

Room Tip: very quiet and nice in the evenings....a bit lonely, ideal to go with your partner to enjoy some awesome moments
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjayChhabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews