We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mongena Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Thorn Tree Bush Camp(Hammanskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Foreva Wild(Hammanskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamboti Bush Lodge(Hammanskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OuKlip Game Lodge(Hammanskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Tshikwalo Lodge(Hammanskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelocity
View Deal
Ngata Safari Lodge(Hammanskraal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
107
55
9
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
55
9
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskingfisher restaurantgame lodgehoneymoon suiteking fisherday tripwedding weekendsmall lakean hoursecond visitthe reservesunday morningthank you so muchboat houseknowledgeable rangerspaying guestsdelicious foodan awesome experience
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 182 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

superb place for a game drive especially if you do not want to go as far as kruggar.........the rangers are amazingly helpful..........the game drive was huge and well spread........with a halt for beers and breezers along with some snacks............superb quality rooms and very good food........all in all a must do

Room Tip: very quiet and nice in the evenings....a bit lonely, ideal to go with your partner to enjoy some awesome moments
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjayChhabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent a weekend with my family at this beautiful lodge in the Dinokeng Nature Reserve close to Pretoria. Well-trained staff - all extremely friendly and helpful - what a breath of fresh air. The food was excellent and we received special treatment since we celebrated a 2lst birthday as well as an
engagement party. I can really recommend this. The sundowner cruise is a must !!

Room Tip: ASK FOR THE FAMILY ROOMS (18 AND 19). Luxuriously furnished with huge bathrooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed one night at Mongena in the Dinokeng Big 5 game reserve, just 50 km north of Pretoria. It was good value for money and we would definitely recommend it for people looking for a quick breakaway from the city or for tourists who do not have the time to drive further in search of game viewing.

The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and well-furnished with air-con, TV (which we never switched on so I'm not sure how many channels are available), king-size bed, en-suite shower and small patio. Two swimming pools are available and the restaurant has a great view over the lake. The food overall was excellent.

We really enjoyed the game drive although we were out of luck and didn't see any big game. However our game ranger was incredibly knowledgeable and made it a very special drive with a wealth of interesting stories about the bush.

I wouldn't stay for longer than 2 nights unless you are really looking to relax next to the pool for most of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We only spent the day (unfortunately), had a fantastic lunch at the Kingfisher Restaurant, food was excellent and the service too. We then went on a game drive and saw a lot of game including elephant, rhino and buffalo - the ranger's were very knowledgeable and tried very hard to find the game for us. I found it a big positive that the game reserve was quiet because there weren't lots of other cars around when we spotted something big - it was like have the reserve all to ourselves!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 16Jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed there on a DBB special package deal. The venue is awesome with beautiful gardens. Our room was one of the smaller ones without a little patio / seating area, but still lovely. Unfortunately the weather was awfull and we had to spend a bit of time in our room. There was only 3 tv channels available.

We are birders and even though the weather was atrocious we still managed to spot 50 bird species, many within the gardens of the lodge.

We went on 2 game drives (no own vehicles allowed) and saw many animals and even two fish eagles.

The food was excellent with an awesome buffet breakfast. Because we were on a 'special' we did not get to order from the full menu but was restricted to a selection of 2 or 3 items. This made us try things we would not normally order. Just the sole (fish) that I ordered was not great. Also rather order a burger or salad for lunch, much better value than a toasted sandwich (worth the additional cost).

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms 22 - 25 are all joined and not as nice.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews