We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hotel in Puerto Cayo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were guests at Sanctuary Puerto Cayo for three days as we awaited the completion of our home nearby. Sanctuary captures your eye from the moment you first see it. Well manicured, well appointed, spacious rooms, and the owners, Roberto and Jaha, are helpful to accommodate your every need. Not to mention the views from Sanctuary's west facade are spectacular. We will recommend Sanctuary to all our guests who visit Puerto Cayo. ... steve watkins

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is clean, nice, and friendly. It's brand new and they are still setting a few things up, but it's really worth a stay. It's right on the beach which has calming and great for walks and swims. The restaurant was simple but had great food. The staff is all extremely accommodating.

we really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are much nicer with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crystal w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge! The manager went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. The hotel is very modern and attractive and is located on a beautiful secluded beach. We have traveled all over the world and have never had as much fun as we had here. Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sher56311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

• I stayed for a week with my husband at this beautiful Sanctuary of Puerto Cayo, the lodge is a warm and calm place for rest, only at 2 miles from Puerto Cayo town.
The reception staff where very friendly and helpful, our room was very spacious with rustic details, Love it ! There is a nice balcony with full view of the pacific ocean.



• The local cuisine is real good, the seafood is very fresh also the vegetables and fruits are grown locally, I can define as farm to table! I definitely recommend this place for families, couples and any person!

Room Tip: every room is cozy and warm..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoniakarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was an outstanding hotel with an amazing view! Breathtaking views of the ocean! The service was wonderful, run by a young couple who you can tell work from their heart! This hotel was very eco friendly which is what really drew me in to it.
The food was delicious!! This really is like no other hotel that i have been at. With the combination of the decoration of the rooms, the friendly staff, and the amazing views, it is by far at the top of my list of hotels! The price was not bad either! It was nice to have a choice between swimming in the pool or the ocean, especially for the kids! Thanks for a wonderful time we will for sure return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

After a couple of days spent in the Galapagos Islands, we were referred to a nice and beautiful hotel located at the South Coast of Manabi, we had a wonderful four night stay at this hotel just for rest. Believeit or not, in the galapagos we never had time to take a little nap (always the guide had our time full of activities). Only 45 min from Manta airport-
The hotel is runn by a nice and friendly husdband a wife. They speaks english and french.
The hotel offers relaxation massage.
My room had the best view of Puerto Cayo, not only the ocean, but also beatiful mountains that rimmed into the ocean.
The hotel has a private beah and the most important thing ..we never found the beach crowd.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

After several days of running around visiting friends and family, my husband and I found a breathtaking place to stay in Manabi beach for the weekend. A Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge was a marvelous experience. There we were well welcomed by the staff and made us feel so comfortable like home. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. It had a great view to the Isla de la Plata. Having the beach few feet away was the best ever. The hotel provided an excellent maintenance and the breakfast was delicious. It was a pleasant time. If you are planning a getaway, I recommend you to do your reservation at Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge. Just pack light and go. It will be the greatest treat ever to your mind and body!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose05-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Cayo
17.3 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
133 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tanusas Retreat & Spa
Tanusas Retreat & Spa
#3 of 5 in Puerto Cayo
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cabalonga EcoAdventure
Cabalonga EcoAdventure
#1 of 5 in Puerto Cayo
130 reviews
16.8 mi away
Maremonti B&B
Maremonti B&B
#6 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
68 reviews
23.6 mi away
Equus Erro Hosteria
Equus Erro Hosteria
#5 of 6 in Las Tunas
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge

Address: Km .4 Via Puerto Cayo | Spondylus Route E-15, Puerto Cayo 130658, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Cayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Cayo
Price Range: $56 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 18 comfortable rooms, divided into 5 categories; Suites, Junior Suites, Deluxe and Standard and Premium rooms, All of our rooms are designed with a touch of rustic beauty but thoroughly modern style and amenities. Rooms have either a wide ocean view ​​or a garden view. In-room amenities include 100% Pima cotton linens, orthopedic mattresses, luxury fittings in the private bath, Wi-Fi, safety deposit box ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Puerto Cayo Lodge Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing