We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“you will not find a better place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nickHedne...
hednesford uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“you will not find a better place”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

this is so well equipped and looked after.the welcome pack is great. lots of walks down the beach ,try the poachers pocket pub for food ,dog friendly too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pet friendly house”
Reviewed May 18, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely week staying at The Cottage by the Sea. The weather wasn't very warm but the house was but it stayed dry all week Was lovely to have really good welcome pack inc wine and having towels and bed linen included was a lovely touch as so many don't.Can't fault the house at all it's lovely.
Unfortunately Bacton isn't the place for us. The access to the beach was near impossible for my mum who's 83 but once down the steps to the sea wall going left we eventually found almost level access to the beach where Indie my dog had great fu and quite deserted. There were a coup!e of very high tides at the end of the week which were quite spectacular and even made the house vibrate! Would only recommend here if friends were happy about the access to the beach. G

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott C
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The title says it all, just returned from our Easter break at the cottage, the weather was not great but you make the best you can. Once again on arrival the cottage is a lovely welcome, towels laid out fresh flowers in the room. Have to say loving the new sofa so so comfortable the layout of the room is so much better. We all had another lovely stay here and will be booking later in the year. It's just like our own holiday home just perfect. Thanks Laura once again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petebeava...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

3 adults and 2 kids stayed here very nicely last august. lots of room and a beautiful setting just yards from the stunning bacton Beach.
Everything we needed for a comfortable week stay. We are retuning this year and all of as are very much looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed March 21, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a wonderful surprise this cottage was! The pictures do not do it justice!!! Booked for a short getaway to celebrate my mums 60th Birthday and Mothers Day.
Really clean and beautifully decorated. Bottle of wine, milk, biscuits and a loaf of bread to welcome us. We had my small terrier with us and it was a really lovely touch to have doggy towels, food and water bowls already (we had brought all this with with us as we didn't realise!) The garden was totally secure and its great theres a second entrance close to the bathroom for muddy paws! The whole cottage was above and beyond - lovely touches throughout - even had hot water bottles on our beds!
The ONLY downside with the cottage is the access road - Mill Lane - which was very potholed - thankfully we had a HRV and we just took it really slowly.

Nothing to do with the cottage itself really but more the location - Bacton beach - very inaccessible when we were there - don't know if it's because it was March and not the summer but as there is the big concrete barrier/promenade and groynes there weren't many steps down onto the beach and those that were there left a massive gap to jump down onto the sand and then hope you can climb back up. Perhaps the tide is out further in the summer and you can walk around the groynes at low tide, also 'The Beast From The East' storm had been through just a week earlier so may have washed sand away?
We found Sea Palling, Mundesley and Winterton-on-Sea brilliant for long beach walks - mostly groyne free or steps over them.

Overall - wonderful holiday and made memories to last a lifetime and would totally recommend. Thank you!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julieholt...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“3rd in a row”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We absolutely love it here and will be making our 3rd booking in a row for 2018. It's ideal for our group. Great to taking the dog on long walks with a lovely fry up breakfast at the end in Walcott. So close to the beach that we take a morning cup of coffee to the beach and let the kids enjoy playing in the morning surf.
House has all we need to keep everyone happy and love the little treats we are left to greet us on arrival. Also enjoy a large piece cake at the tea room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra R
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage by the sea”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Best weekend lovely place to be
For relaxing very peaceful stay
Great welcome pack in cottage
Fantastic walk with the dog
By the sea

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing