We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage ,perfect for families with pets”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart L
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage ,perfect for families with pets”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

All where very happy with our beautiful little cottage ( that by the way is not so little ) ,Laura the owner provides a lovely welcome pack of milk ,bread ,tea, coffee biscuits ,various jams a bottle of wine ,fresh flowers and also a voucher to be used at the local café sugar and spice all of which was a lovely touch and way more than norm .
We have stayed in the Walcott and Bacton area many times and the Cottage by the sea is by far the best property that we have stayed in and also at a great price .
We travelled as a group of 4 adults ,2 children and 4 dogs and there was no complaints from any of us . A 2 minute walk and you will be on the beach ,dog owners take note of the areas where dogs are allowed on the beach ,there are signs . the fenced back garden is a big plus for us dog owners as you know that your dogs are safe and secure ,also dogs are made very welcome in the local café s and pub, all of which do lovely meals .
Would we come again YES ,would we recommend cottage by the sea YES.
We very much look forward to booking again soon, either this cottage or one of Laura's other property's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: accomadation for 6 but lounge seating only for 4
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartlet...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for families with dogs”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stoped many times in bacton and Walcott and this property is by far the best that we have stayed in the owner Laura provided a welcome pack of tea, coffee,bread,milk ,jams,some biscuits ,flowers and some other bits and pieces which was a lovely touch.The property was well placed for access to the beach, being just a 2 minute walk ,and just a short walk to the local shops and pub of which the poachers pocket warrants a special mention for its great food and its acceptance of dogs .
Our party of 4 adults ,2 children and 4 dogs all fitted into the cottage just great ,the fenced garden being a great asset for those of us with dogs .Would we stay again Yes in a heart beat ,would we recommend Cottage by the sea ,Yes Yes Yes ,
Well done Laura and family for a lovely cottage we very much look forward to returning to this cottage or to one of your other properties

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan b
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feeling relaxed at the Cottage by the Sea”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As soon as we arrived everything was perfect for our needs , the 3 doggies could not only smell the sea , they could see it Perfect . very comfy and clean ,shop very close by , Pubs and resterants lovely , Everyone very friendly , we are looking at booking again for next year as soon as we get home Thank you very much Sue and sister Carole

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartbra...
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cottage on a quiet site”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a good week at this very nice cottage. The cottage is very well presented and the owner very thoughtfully provided bread, tea, coffee, milk and wine for our arrival. The cottage is on a small residential estate and was quiet and well kept. With less than 50 yards to the cliff path and beach, it was an ideal walking spot with our dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and condition of property
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALAGAS
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A happy holiday with an environment to be happy with all the family”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

"The Cottage by the Sea"was exactly that. Less than a minute's stroll from the cottage to a breathtaking stretch of the Norfolk coast.Our contact with the owner of the cottage was immediate and friendly.The flowers and wine on arrival were a lovely beginning to the week.
We were delighted with the cottage.It was tastefully furnished and attractively decorated with
cushions and small appropriate additions to the decor.The bedrooms were very comfortable and the linen attractive.( A microwave in the kitchen would have been appreciated).
The surrounding area was full of surprises and enjoyable.The local places to eat were varied and good. Further afield we enjoyed two visits to Cromer and the dressed crabs we bought there.Two of us visited the beautiful East Ruston Old Vicarage Gardens while the others cycled on the quiet roads in the spring sunshine. We could have stayed for weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, safe and peaceful area, particularly for a child
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon G
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Cottage by the Sea from 28th March to the 6th April. The cottage was beautifully decorated and well maintained, with tasteful touches everywhere.The owners had prepared a personalised welcome package which made it even more special. Despite some poor weather when we arrived the cottage was warm and cosy at all time

the Cottage is only a 100 yards from the sea and the only sounds you can hear are the waves on the shore. The village is peaceful with a good selection of shops and cafe all accessible on foot.

It brought back memories of past visits to Norfolk and wonderful times had there, Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and proximity to the Sea
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn B
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for walking, unwinding, eating and exploring Norfolk”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed from Monday 27th October - Friday 31st October. The cottage is lovely and the photo's don't do it justice. Excellent facilities, very clean, the owners had thought of everything. We took our dog who settled in quickly. The garden was lovely to sit in with a cup of coffee and biscuit after a long day of walking, you can hear the sea. Poachers Pocket takes dogs in the bar area as did most of the pubs, food good and well priced. Local café Sugar & Spice wonderful - took dogs too! Peddars Way and Norfolk Coastal Path are excellent walks with amazing views and the odd steep climb. Will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating system
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing