We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage in Excellent Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful, Norfolk Flint Cottage just two minutes walk to the beach - perfect for a relaxing break
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful, Norfolk Flint Cottage just two minutes walk to the beach - perfect for a relaxing break
Kitchen looking through to Rear Garden Lovely sunny kitchen with large fridge freezer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Beautiful, Norfolk Flint Cottage just two minutes walk to the beach - perfect for a relaxing break
Kitchen looking through to Rear Garden
Lovely sunny kitchen with large fridge freezer
Dishwasher, Washing Machine and Cooker with Gas Hob
Quick, pack a picnic and take it to the Beach!
Dining Area with Patio Doors leading to the Garden
Eating alfresco using the gas barbeque in the totally enclosed garden
Oh I Do Like To Be Beside The Sea!
Relax in the lounge the lounge with a good book, comfy reclining sofas
Decorated in a contemporary style and filled with games, puzzles, books, DVDs, local guides & maps
Lots of things to do; a Playstation, large TV. DVDs & board games have been included in the cottage
Bedroom One configured as Super King size Double
Bedroom One configured as Twin Beds
Bedroom Two configured as Super King size Double
Bedroom Two configured as Twin Beds
Bedroom Three with Bunk Beds, this room is suitable for both children and adults
Family Bathroom, relax with a bubble bath whilst watching the stars
Upstairs landing, the cottage is light and airy
By The Sea all Worries Wash Away!
Beach Huts...a familiar sight on the North Norfolk Coast
Bacton Beach, take away fantastic memories!
Bring your coffee with you from the house!, this seat is a two minute walk away
Bacton Beach totally unspoilt
access the 'Coastal Path' two minutes from Dimmock cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Walcott, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma W
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage in Excellent Location”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Dimmock Cottage is right on the sea making days at the beach easy! My dog was allowed to stay and was even thought of in the welcome hamper. The booking process was easy and the immediate area has mostly everything you need for a beach holiday. We travelled further afield and found lots to do within a half hour drive. The extra touches of Easter themed decoration and an egg decorating kits were just lovely. Thanks so much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Hi Emma, so good to hear you found lots to do in the immediate vicinity and it sounds like you made the most of your holiday. Its always good for us to receive feedback and we are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and enjoyed discovering the hamper and decorations! (I love putting the hamper together!) We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Steve & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nursey_gi...
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection - have booked to return”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent October Half Term at Dimmock Cottage, myself, my Mum and my two girls aged 3 & 5. The cottage was spotlessly clean, warm and homely with everything you need to have a real home-from-home break away. All appliances worked well, the shower was lovely and hot, and the equipment provided for children was just outstanding, you do not need to take any toys/games/books or even buckets and spades. We were also lucky enough to have some special Halloween decorations and treats left for us.
The local area was fantastic too. We actually went out very little, spending a few of our days the two minute walk away on the beautiful, sandy beach. The girls LOVED playing around in the water, we were so lucky with the weather for October. Within walking distance also was a secure play park and the Sugar & Spice café, a wonderfully informal café with the friendliest of people working there and the BEST chocolate brownies! On the first night we also ate from the Burger Shack as the fish & chip shop was closed - the food was delicious.
When we could prize ourselves away from Dimmock Cottage and the beach, we spent a day in Wroxham then onto Bewilderwood for the Halloween Lantern Parade. We also visited the lovely town of Holt and onto Blickling Estate on our way back. So much to do, but we barely touched the surface as we felt no need to venture any further.
We have booked for two weeks next summer, and just cannot wait to be back. Thank-you for such a wonderful stay and see you next year!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: So well equipped & proximity to beach
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2016
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, it's great to receive feedback regarding the cottage and your holiday. The weather was amazing and it sounds like you really explored Bacton, the cakes (and staff!) at Sugar and Spice Cafe are fantastic and The Burger Shack is really popular with out guests too. We are really pleased you have decided to return with your family in 2017, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back, many thanks Julie & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaB067
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home from home - Fantastic accomadation”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a really lovely stay at Dimmock Cottage.
So clean, fresh and modern.
Very well equipped, beach gear - toys -books - games (for old and young) indoor & outdoor, play station/games - all baby facilities (cot, staircases, bath, potty, cutlery, plates, bowls) picnic blanket, bags. Towels, tea towels, dishwasher tablets, foil, clinching, washing up liquid, hand wash, toilet paper.
A lovely hamper with essentials - lovely touch!
Owners very helpful and quick response to any questions or queries. Lovely people!

Has a couple of local pubs, convenience shop (sells everything!) Amazing fish and chip shop (Huge portions) burger shack.
Beach 2 minute walk at end of road
Swimming pool hire a few doors up
Forest walk (we didn't get a chance to go)
Thrigby Hall a must to visit (up close and personal to snow leopards and tigers)
Cromer is close and a lovely day out.
Adventure park fantastic for children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Hi Emma, we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent holiday in Dimmock Cottage. Thank you very much for your lovely review, it is great to hear you enjoyed so many of the attractions nearby and you had everything you needed in the cottage. Having a private pool so close by is a real bonus, it is always lovely and warm and really popular with our guests. Thrigby Hall is a great attraction too, the walkways mean you can get really close to the big animals as you discovered! We hope you will return to Dimmock Cottage with your family in the furture. Steve & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
“Clean, well-equipped, close to lovely beach.”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely little cottage, beautifully clean and well-maintained. Welcome basket of food appreciated as we arrived on a Sunday (although there are Supermarkets nearby). We enjoyed a walk along the front to get a paper each morning at the Spar in Walcott. (The village store in Bacton appears to have closed down) Poachers Pocket pub a few minutes walk away was OK, and plenty of nice pubs/places to eat within a short drive away. We had lovely weather and visited Cromer, the Zoo, seals at Horsey and Bewilderwood (excellent for our 5 year old granddaughter!). The best amenity was the beach just a few minutes from the front door! Given the weather, it was absolutely perfect - and almost deserted in August!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to a lovely beach
Liked least: Strangely plastic and noisy pillows and undersheets. Huge deposit required!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2016
Hi Jenny, its great to hear you and your family all enjoyed your holiday in Bacton and thank you for leaving such a great review of Dimmock Cottage. It sounds as if you really did explore the local area, the seals are really worth the visit and Cromer Zoo is fun for children and adults alike. The beach in Bacton is never crowded, its a hidden treasure!. The Bacton Store is undergoing an extensive refit - at the end of July there was a fire inside the shop, the owners are working really hard to re-open the shop, which hopefully won't be too long now. We hope you will return to Bacton and Dimmock Cottage in the future, Steve & Julie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revd Davi...
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We keep returning to Norfolk for summer breaks and, over the years, have stayed in many different cottages. Without question, Dimmock Cottage has been the best property we have visited. The location is perfect, with beach access at the end of a lane, and the cottage itself is spacious and wonderfully equipped both for days out and evenings in. The garden was good for batting and bowling practice and is a nice space for families. Kitchen white goods and equipment are excellent and, if you don't fancy cooking, there are a good number of takeaway and sit-down options in the village, while Mundesley and Cromer are just a short drive away. A generous welcome pack greeted our arrival and we loved everything about Dimmock Cottage. Wi-fi worked very well, too. Arrangements for booking, payments and the return of a deposit were very simple and communication with the friendly owners was very good. We thoroughly recommend Dimmock Cottage and are very likely to return.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you David for your fantastic review. Comments and feedback from our Guests are important, and it is great for us to hear you and your Family had an enjoyable holiday in Dimmock Cottage - we were especially happy to hear Dimmock is the best property you have visited in Norfolk - thank you.! It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back to the cottage in the future. Steve & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woods1969...
Teversal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday let ever”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay. Superb attention to detail. Lots of extras. Welcome box fantastic. House clean and comfortable. Garden furniture including BBQ available. Games for children indoors and out including PlayStation. Beach chairs and parasol available. Great place to stay and with the beach at the end of the road no need to move the car..

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of the cottage, its always nice for us to hear our guests have enjoyed their holiday. We are pleased your Family had such good weather, perfect for picnics on the beach! We hope you will visit Dimmock Cottage again. Steve & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
1 review
“Excellent holiday house by the sea”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The owner had provided a very generous welcome hamper.
The house was very clean, extremely well equipped and had a fully enclosed child friendly garden. The location was quiet and only 3 minutes walk from a lovely sandy beach. There were plenty of places to visit and things do do in the area for all members of the family. There were also may fine local walks. We caught bass and sole from the beach in the evening on rod and line and found plenty of rock pool life on the beaches east of Sheringham.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Hi Jonathan and Family, we really appreciate your comments and we are pleased you had a great time on holiday, it sounds like you found lots to do locally. The beach nearby is a popular night time fishing spot for locals, its good to hear you enjoyed it too (and landed dinner!). We hope we can welcome you and your family back to Dimmock Cottage in the future. Steve and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing