We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Clos Des Pierres Rouges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos des Pierres Rouges
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Maryland
2 reviews
“Le Clos Des Pierres Rouges”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

In August my wife and I spent a night at Le Clos Des Pierres Rouges as part of a two week vacation in France. Though the location was a bit hard to find (we had a GPS, and were happy we did), and the access road was a bit narrow, the accommodations were great. This B&B has recently had an extensive make-over; so all of the amenities are very much up to date. Communicating in English is no problem - unlike many other establishments in the surrounding area. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating; and the continental breakfast was nice - featuring a variety of homemade breads and jams.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhaines01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
141
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Sylvie and Thierry couldn't have been better hosts! Their little hotel is modern, comfortable and the food offered delicious. Thierry makes his own breads, while Sylvie makes her own preserves and is the primary chef in the kitchen. This is a charming place to spend a night or more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We walked a portion of the Chemin in September and selected to stay at Le Clos des Pierres Rouge. We booked the hotel, by chance, using booking.com. The experience was absolutely wonderful. Our room was spacious, spotless and a pilgrim's dream. We opted to dine with Sylvie and Thierry and what a wonderful choice that was. Gourmet food. Wow. We didn't want to leave. Ever. The river rock shower floor massaged our weary feet and we were completely refreshed after a single overnight. This gem is also featured in Karen Brown's France guidebook. What a discovery!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were walking the Chemin de St Jacques in September and went a little off-route to visit this chambre d'hote. It was the most enjoyable stop on our route. Our charming hosts took the greatest trouble to make us comfortable and served a delightful gourmet meal. The house is modern and in a lovely rural setting - our bedroom had its own terrace giving access to the garden. We could not have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The chambre d'hote is an excellent stay over night, in a competely renovated farm with red stones. It is located just outside the small village. Sylvie and Tierry Grumelat are very frinedly hosts. Our wives just the spot by car, but we were on the bike and it was a bit difficult for us to find it. Thierry offered to go and pick us up, but it was not necessary. Outside we had a few drinks and later we had inside the dinner of excellent quality ( with typical local ingredients, especially the local cheese was really nice). The rooms were roomy and well equipped. It was the best chmabre d'hote of our trip and we would advise everybody to go there.

Thanks Sylvie and Thierry!!!y

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recco, Italia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at Le Clos des Pierre Rouges over night on our way back to home. The atmosphere was warm and frendly, the room was magnificent, and the cuisine was superb, focused on regional products and recipes. Everything was perfect, even in the minute details. An excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttaviaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I greatly enjoyed a one night stay. I was walking the Chemin de
St Jacques and I was picked by the o owner at a nearby town on the trail and returned to it the new A.M. The accommodation is absolutely first rate and the 5 or so course dinner was magnificent.

Simply put, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Privat-d'Allier
9.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Le Puy-en-Velay Centre
Ibis Styles Le Puy-en-Velay Cent...
#1 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
540 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pain de Sucre
Hotel Le Pain de Sucre
#1 of 1 in Monistrol-d'Allier
57 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Alize
Hotel Alize
#11 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ibis Le Puy-en-Velay Centre
Ibis Le Puy-en-Velay Centre
#3 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
311 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Cabourne
La Cabourne
#1 of 6 in Saint-Privat-d'Allier
156 reviews
11.3 mi away
Les Pierres d'Antan
Les Pierres d'Antan
#1 of 2 in Venteuges
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos des Pierres Rouges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Pierres Rouges

Property: Le Clos des Pierres Rouges
Address: Lieu Dit Rougeac, 43580 Saint-Privat-d'Allier, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Loire > Saint-Privat-d'Allier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Privat-d'Allier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stalled on a mountainside in a authentic small village of 35 souls in auvergne,le clos des pierres rouges is an old farm completly renovated 2009, wich offers confortable guest rooms.The marriage of the old with the contemporary givesgreat elegance and refinement. At the crossroad of the road to st james de compostele,the picturesques gorges of the allier river and the road to the beast of gevaudan the location of le clos des pierres rouges promisse youunforgettables moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos des Pierres Rouges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing