We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Abuelo de la Cachava
Ranked #1 of 2 Gajano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“such a lovely place”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stopped one night after arriving off the Ferry in Santander.The reception we got was just perfect. Our room was fantastic,warm cosy & very clean. Breakfast was a feast to the eyes. Pastries,toast, meats,cheese.And what a selection.The owners were so friendly & helpful.Very attentive. We stopped 2 nights on our way back. In all our travels we have to say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Although we did not use the spa facilities this time, we will do next time,& there will be a next time. The little takeaway gift was such a nice thing to do. The family should be really proud of their achievement

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    26
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
98
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked two nights here on our first leg of our Northern Spain trip, and it turned out to be the best accommodation we stayed in. Our hostesses were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean and well appointed and the added personal touches were really nice! We ate in Casa Bedia restaurant which is only a five minute walk from the hotel, the food was traditional, but was superb. We also ate at a restaurant which was a five minute walk uphill but the food there was very poor. If we were to come back we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

From your first phone call when you realise that Lourdes, one of the family members who own and run the hotel, speaks fluent English and French as well as Spanish, to the moment you get the phone call telling you you have left an item behind after checking out and asking where and when it should be sent back to you, the service is both personal and impeccable. Every guest is made to feel welcome and included.
This is a family run hotel that sets the standard for small hotels. Four things stand out - warmth, style, service and breakfast! The breakfast, included in the room price, is truly amazing. Wonderful and generous variety, beautifully displayed, self service but backed up with warmly attentive family members providing drinks and replenishing the home made Spanish omelette (the best I have ever eaten) whenever it looks like running out. This is one of those rare occasions where your pleasure and satisfaction really are a priority of the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble, there is always time for a chat, some helpful suggestions about local places of interest or a cup of tea and a home made cake. For a small hotel, it is wonderfully stylish, imaginatively designed and very well equipped. Colours, fabrics and crockery all speak of understated taste and elegance. Our bed was large and very comfortable, the room was very well equipped and included free wifi and we loved the monochrome theme of the breakfast room. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in March 2012.

Travel/Location:

We travelled by car from the UK via France. The hotel is located a few minutes drive off the motorway and was signposted from the main road, so was easy to find. Parking is free and plentiful.

The village the hotel is in a lovley with a small bar/restaurant only a 5 minute stroll.

We were catching the ferry from Santander back tot the UK and the hotel was only a 15 minute journey to the port on a straight road.

Welcome:

The welcome could not have been any friendlier, this is a family run hotel and we were really made to feel like part of the family. Nothing was too much trouble. Lourdes in particular was very helpful and suggested some lovley places for us to visit during our stay. She even organised dinner for us one night at a great restaurant with a taxi to take us there and back.

Room:

What can I say, we had a beautiful suite which was very nicely furnished. The suite had a double bedroom, a separate sitting room and patio for sitting outside. The bathroom was large and spacious with a huge jacuzzi bath. The minibar provided free Beer, Soft Drinks, Bottled Water and even a bottle of Cava as well a a lovley box of chocolates to welcome us.

Spa:

The hotel has a gorgeous spa, with heated loungers, swimming pool and a jacuzzi. Guests are provided with large towels, slippers and robes for using in the spa which is included in the cost of the room.

I had a massage while I was here and it was brilliant, Javier was very happy to accomodate me with time that I wanted and it was well worth the very reasonable 20 euro that he charged.

Food:

Breakfast was amazing! Massive selection and plenty of pastries which are my weakness. I can even confirm that the pastries are home made as I saw Lourdes making them. The chocolate balls are to die for - yum! The opening times of the breakfast room were even changed to accomodate our early ferry - now thats great service!

Value for Money:

This hotel is well worth the price charged. If it was in a city centre location you would easily pay double.

Overall, a totally positive experience and we will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: We had room number 1 and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaS2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here before catching the ferry from Santander and were knocked out by the place.
Built in the footprint of the grandfather's farm, this hotel and the family that run it offers sumptuous rooms with amenities that one wouldn't expect to find in a small establishment.
There was a free minibar in the room and a complimentary bottle of Cava to greet us. We were also presented with a gift of local pastries on our departure. Breakfast in the recently opened breakfast room offered an extensive and delicious hot and cold buffet which was feast for the eyes as well as the palate.
The welcome and service throughout our brief stay was exceptional - nothing being too much trouble.

This is an obvious choice for somewhere to stay whilst using the Santander ferries - the drive to and from the port being very simple - but it would also be an ideal base for exploring further afield into Cantabria, the Basque country and south to Castille in view of the excellent motorway network that this are now enjoys.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We used this hotel for an overnight stop prior to catching the ferry from Santander. it was a wonderful find; the suite we booked was comfortable, nicely decorated and the jacuzzi bath was very welcome after our long car journey. There was free car parking (a problem to find in Santander), and the internet access was free. The mini bar in the room was well stocked, cava, lager, soft drinks and snacks and was included in the price of the room. The owners were very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. The breakfast buffet was extensive. I would imagine that this would be a great place for a summer visit to Northern Spain; the rooms have either their own private patios or balconies and there is an indoor swimming pool below the hotel. The village has three restaurants, one of which the hotel offer transport to and from.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kestep03650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gajano
2.5 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
3.9 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo
13.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Esmeralda Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mies de Rubayo
Hotel Mies de Rubayo
#1 of 1 in Rubayo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Abuelo de la Cachava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Abuelo de la Cachava

Property: Posada El Abuelo de la Cachava
Address: B/ LOS CORRALES 40, 39792 Gajano, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Gajano
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gajano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada El Abuelo de la Cachava 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Posada El Abuelo de la Cachava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing