We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“International class Race track”

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
174 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“International class Race track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

A very well planned Race track away from the hub centre.Primarily F1 races are held here but can be used for other type of automobile racing. World class facilities

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RAMESHDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Formula1 Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited the Buddh International Circuit to witness the second Formula One race happened in India, in New Delhi in 2012. I visited the venue on Oct 26,27,28. The circuit is actually in Greater Noida, 40 km from any part of Noida. But because it is connected by a highway, the distance doesn't seem like much, you'll notice prominent signboards everywhere, leading you to the correct stand (North/East/west/south).

The signboards for parking are also pretty clear, and there is ample parking space. Now, speaking of the actual circuit. It is a huge and intimidating! It runs for 5.14 km and has a seating capacity of more than 1 lakh. No matter which stand you choose, the view is awesome. I was at the North stand and believe me its a great view and there is a big screen facing each of the stands, showing the speeding cars from different angels. I have no point of comparison but I'm pretty sure the circuit lives up to international standards - given its cleanliness, expanse and organization. The food courts outside the stand areas served food and drinks which were very steeply priced.

On the final race day, the venue was thronged by cars despite adequate parking facilities. There was a lot of traffic even to get to the parking area, due to which many visitors actually got off their cars and started walking toward the venue which was 20-30 minutes away!

On the brighter side, the staff at the venue was very helpful and well-trained. There were shuttles for visitors to ply them from one end of the circuit to the other. Overall, I think the circuit could use improvements but is already good enough to attract international fans.

My Tips:
- Greater Noida is a lonely suburb away from the main cities. Make adequate arrangements for transport to the circuit.
- Get a parking pass on race days, without which your car will have to travel miles to find parking space.
- The circuit is huge and the gates can be very confusing. If you're unsure about the location of your gate, you will end up walking for a long time. Check your tickets/passes correctly.
- You can not carry water bottles to your seat.
- Most of the stands don't have a shade overhead. Wear caps and sunglasses.

Being a Formula1 fan I am definitely going to visit the place in following year also.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pras_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Placing India on the world racing map”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I visited the circuit for Formula One this year and came back home with an experience exceeding my expectations

Transport to the venue:
There are timely shuttle buses from Noida city center at a nominal cost of Rs. 300 per day. The conditions of the buses were not that good but it did not matter since the journey to the circuit lasted for only 45 minutes.

Security and Entrance to the Venue:
The entry gate was a short walk away. Getting through security was quick and convenient and without any hassle (unexpected really).

Facilities at the venue:
-Facilities at the venue was world class. The lavatories were spotless clean and was well maintained. The crowd management was good and all in all a good experience.
-A ear plug (free of cost) was given to each visitor to protect their ears during the race (trust me it gets louder than a airport runway)!
-Large screens were available in front of each stand to keep a track of the race.

Eateries at the venue:
Though the food was pricey, it was quite expected and nothing to complain since it is the same case with any other event of similar type. But the quality of the food served was really good. They had enough options and it was made sure that the foreigners had some options too.

Drinks:
Surprise! They serve kingfisher beer at the venue. What a delight! The cost was on par with any average nightclub / bar and was not pricey at all. A big thumbs up to the management and Dr. Vijay Mallya.

Security and Emergency services:
There were enough police and bouncers to take care of any unwanted mishaps (there were none on the day). Also an ambulance was kept ready in close proximity of our stand. Exceeded my expectations!

The stand:
We were in North Picnic stand (Rs. 2000 for race day tickets). This stand can be the cheapest one but it was more than worth it since you can easily move around or lie down on the grass and do not have to be restricted to only one seat. Also foreigners prefer the picnic stand since this is their preferred way of watching the race.

Allowed / Restricted Items:
All photography and videography equipments are allowed. Pro and amateur photographers ahoy!! Also items like umbrella (for the sun), carpet (to sit on), etc. are allowed.

All in all, great way to enjoy and watch the race with your friends and family alike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Dabba_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have seen the Formula One at Silverstone in England and also visited other race tracks although not for F1 purposes. Buddh International circuit is first class in terms of circuit design and provides a very good experience for thrills and excitement especially on race day.

The facilities are good although the food and drink is quite pricey and you cant bring anything in from outside the venue. The bathroom facilities in the grandstand are good but the toilets near the classic stands could have done with a bit more scheduled cleaning. Parking is extensive but the poor control by staff and policemen directing traffic especially on race day caused alot of traffic jams that were wholly un-necessary. Access to the circuit is very easy with the main road links and public transport if required.

Having been to some other venues, this one does compete near the top

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hospitality_Graduate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“World class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

though I visited the circuit when no race was on but the feel to be there was great. Can only imagine the atmosphere when a race would be on.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snayet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddh International Circuit also viewed

Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
 
Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh
 

Been to Buddh International Circuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing