We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Badian Island Wellness Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Badian Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable & Relaxing”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We are a family with 2 young children. The resort was exactly what we needed. It was quiet, peaceful, and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The kids loved the beach and nightly local talent. After speaking with the owners on several occasions, it was easy to understand why there is such loyalty and care by the island staff and residence. What we enjoyed the most was the non-commercial aspect of the resort and the personalization provided to families. Our kids became so attached with the staff, that they knew most of them by name and the staff knew theirs as well. We hope to return on our next trip to the Philippines and let our family and friends in Asia know of the resort.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    21
    19
    24
See reviews for
35
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

The prices are dear comparison to Philippines standard but the quality of service is amazing here. It is a resort you go to really forget you are in Philippines away from smoke, smog, traffic noise, the stress of having to bargain EVERYTHING, and just be pampered. I think 4 nights here is adequate to unwind any longer though you'll get bored. Bring fruit and snacks to eat in between or prepare to be paying $18 AUD a meal. The place is comparable to 5 star resort you find in Fiji so it has a lot of potential. It needs a pick me up though. The snorkelling is a must!!! The guide I believe was born with fins. The best part, is the picturesque view and every photo magically turns into a post card. Amazing lighting!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rizza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I spent six nights, over New Year, at Badian Island Resort. Looking at their very professional website, and considering the high cost, we thought it was going to be very special. Sadly, this was not the case. The only thing that was 5* was the price. Badian is no more than a modest 3*. This is a great pity as the territory is delightful, and the staff brilliant in every way. There was unfortunately a feeling that the management realised that we were trapped there, and were determined to extract as much cash from us as possible.
The rooms are adequate, but tired. We were given an unasked for upgrade to a Badian Suite. This was a bit of a barn, but had a good sea view and a large balcony with a two person hammock (possibly the best thing about the whole place). We did look at a Pool Villa, but that was the same as ours, but with no hammock and a rather tatty, small concrete poolette. I preferred the Badian. The suites all have large stone baths, overlooking the sea. Unfortunately, the hot water supply runs out before the bath is quarter full! There is only sufficient hot water for two modest showers in succession. We asked about this, but apparently, nothing could be done.
As there are no other outlets on the island, guests are obliged to pay handsomely for some sort of meal plan. The food is no more than adequate. Breakfast was dismal; no yoghurt, no prepared fruit, instant coffee, a small domestic toaster and bacon in an unheated chafing dish. Nothing for Asian guests. We had freshish bread twice in six days!
Dinner is a little better if you choose carefully and wait while stuff is freshly cooked. Again, many of the containers were not heated, so the contents slowly congealed. Someone has had the ‘bright’ idea of putting a bottle of wine on each table, presumably as an encouragement to purchase. I found the practice pretentious and vaguely insulting. The whole set up has an amateurish feel and lacks direction.
The resort also has no policy on smoking. This is a disaster for non-smokers. On one occasion, two Germans chain-smoked throughout dinner, totally polluting the air for the twenty other tables of non-smokers.
On New Year’s Eve there was a mandatory extra charge of $US 120 each! For this, we had a glass of fruit cocktail, a slightly more extensive buffet and two and a half hours of local dancers. Instead of a countdown, we were treated to a five minute stand up prayer session followed by some fireworks and balloons - not even a glass of fizz. The place is in an 80’s Catholic time warp!
All the spa treatments and the trips ‘off island’ are ridiculously overpriced. My wife considered a massage followed by manicure and pedicure. When she looked at the cost, it would have come to just over twice what the same treatments would be in the Mactan Shangri’la - a proper 5* establishment, with a much more pleasant and better equipped spa. The Badian spa, unsurprisingly, is almost permanently empty.
The place has actually learned a little from previous Trip Advisor reports. Apparently a small beer used to be Php250. It is now Php130. Result: most nights I had three 130 beers, whereas at 250 I would have gone without. They should apply the same business principles to their Spa and trips - perhaps more people would go…
The only reason that this place survives is that there is nowhere else within 50 km. If another hotel opens in the area (which seems likely before long) Badian will sink without trace unless it adopts a more businesslike approach.

May I offer the following suggestions:

- double the outlay on breakfast commodities.
- invest in a couple of commercial toasters and a real coffee machine.
- set up an in-house bakery.
- buy enough heated chafing dishes, and use them.
- ban smoking in the restaurants, like any civilised establishment, or at least, set aside a couple of tables, where the addicts can enjoy their habit without polluting the air for the 95% of other diners.
- remodel the Pool Villa pools to make modern, marble lined infinity pools. The Villas would then be worth nearer their present asking price.
- sort out the hot water systems so that there is enough for a proper bath.
- half the prices for all treatments and trips.
- stop thinking ‘profit’ and start offering ‘excellence’ - profit will surely follow.

Despite all this, once we had mentally written off the outrageous cost, we had a pleasant time. This was mainly down to the wonderful staff, who work long, hard hours for very little money. Management - get a grip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank antonymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The mandatory buffet dinner on new years eve cost 125 aud per person. For the price, the food was mediocre the whole fish overcooked spaghetti tasted like tomato sauce the chilli shrimps over cooked and limited dishes offered for the price. Also note that drinks and water is not included. As the buffet was disappointing we went for the a la carte and have been left waiting for an hr and still no food..also a la carte is actually half the price u will spend as opposed to getting the buffet upsell options..i am writing this as we wait for dinner due to pure boredom no apology when asking when the food will be ready they tell me they will check and go off to clean plates of other guests..three times we had to ask now four..and still no food A whole fish we ordered on the day we arrived for 700 pesos was slightly bigger than the palm of my hand and bland with not much meat at all. The photos are a lot grander than what you see when u get here.. the so called health
and beauty drinks on the menu were not available or missing key ingredients..not five star considering the distance u need to travel and other hotels/ resort options u have snorkelling is not free only the boat ride for the snorkelling gear you are looking at an additional 300 p/p and 350 per hour for raft hire to the kawasan falls on top of the 1300-1500 ..absolutely disappointing service and to think we spent new years eve and new years day here

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seli14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Badian Island hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Badian Island this week. It is quite far from Cebu airport, the 2 1/2 hours that are advertised are at least 3 1/2 in reality.
The resort is very spacious, with beautiful beaches and excellent amenities. Dinner was served on another location every night: in the restaurant, at the pool side and on the beach.
The rooms are large, beds are good, and after check out you are being escorted to the pier where a singing band bids you goodbye. All in all, a very nice resort.

However... it is 32 years old and there are quite a few things that should be improved. In one of our rooms the toilet did not flush, even after three repairs. The A/C was too old to be repaired, the same for the safe deposit box. The internet was up and down most of the time. The staff did work very hard to overcome these problems, but some things just have to be renewed. We did not make use of the Spa or the day trips, mainly because of the costs involved. And that is my main point: because you are on an island you HAVE to use the F&B of the resort and the costs are simply too high for the offering.

Will we come back? Yes we will, because it is a fantastic location and the overall experience was very good, thanks to well trained hard working staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyjakarta100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampico, Mexico
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

the spa is greaaaat!! Also I recommend renting the paddle boat... it´s stunning to paddle even on your own and the views of the island from the sea are amaazing!!...It´s really worth it. Also whale shark watching is an activity worth trying while you´re here.

Room Tip: choose one with ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 125Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in this charming remote resort last week, with clean water, great and nice staff, delicious food, charming German Boss, and were disappointed by the lack of TV and slow internet connection. Bring your own Globe Tattoo USB connection if you need internet as much as I need it, daily.
Wine selection will make happy any French Wines "connaisseur" or expert.

Then on the last day, my expensive Sony digital video camera was stolen from my room, by someone having access to room, therefore probably an employee. It's sad and ruined my stay...as I am very cautious with my belongings....it never left the room, as I only used it from my room, and searched any square cm in the room for it, for hours. I am 100% sure it was stolen. Management says that only housekeeping has access to the rooms.
Conclusion: lock ALL your valuables, inside a safe place, in the safe, or the suitcase....

Room Tip: The Private Villas with private pools are unique and just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnjoyPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badian Island
8.1 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
105.4 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
47.7 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
51.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badian Island Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badian Island Wellness Resort

Property: Badian Island Wellness Resort
Address: 6031, Philippines (Formerly Badian Island Resort and Spa)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Badian Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Badian Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Badian Island Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badian Island Wellness Resort is a luxurious and therapeutic brand of reclusive open-air relaxation is internationally recognized for the past 30 years. The luxury resort uniquely offers Thalasso or ionized seawater outdoor pools that can ultimately heal and revitalize the body. Today, the upscale resort focuses on sharing the gift of holistic well-being by introducing natural spa treatments, yoga exercises, and organic eating and drinking lifestyle. The exclusive resort offers first-class room accommodations, Wi-Fi Internet access, international cuisines, fine dining entertainment, exciting excursions, yacht cruising, scuba diving, and fun beach activities. Earning itself as one of the premier tourist resort destinations in the world, Badian Island Resort and Spa vows to carry on that legacy for more decades to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Badian Island Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badian Island Hotel Badian Island
Badian Island Resort
Badian Island Wellness Resort Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing