We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Badian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Badian Island Wellness Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Badian Island
calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Badian”
Reviewed December 3, 2007

Hello everyone, my family and I had the pleasure of staying at the Badian Resort and Spa most recently. I'm saddened by the harsh reviews I have read in regards to this property. Our experience was nothing but wonderful! The property was very well kept and the staff was amazing! I have never received such service as I did at this resort. Yes it is pricey and yes it is remote, but perfect for the traveler who is looking to get away from people and the hustle and bustle of busy day life. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of our holiday. First of all, we flew into Cebu and had a transfer (purchased with the resort) pick us up. I loved the 2 hour drive though the island, it’s amazing and crazy how everyone drives. We really got to see the city and its people, hundreds of little shops filled the streets with all sorts of smells and colors, but keep in mind this is a poor country. My family and I felt very lucky to be living in Canada, especially since we saw how other people live across the world. Once we made our way out of the city we drove through little towns and up through hills, it’s very beautiful. Before we arrived at the Badian Resort we hopped on a boat which is maybe 2 minutes to the property. Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome with song and dance as well as a refreshing beverage and cool cloth. Check in was very quick and easy, the very friendly staff took care of us right away. We were then escorted to our "Badian Suite", which by the way is huge! What a marvelous room!! We were all very impressed by the size and especially the open concept bathroom (flower pedals filled the tub). Also this suite has a balcony with table, chairs and hammock. We spent mornings drinking coffee and eating fruit on our balcony. If we weren’t eating we were enjoying there spa, wow I can’t say enough about Badian Spa! I also went to the spa at Plantation Bay and El Nido during our Philippines trip and they pale in comparison to Badian’s Spa. The food was wonderful and we really enjoyed the poolside dinners and of course the beach party dinner we went to on our last night there. The service we received at Badian was amazing, the staff really goes out of there way to may there guests happy. We also had the pleasure of dinning with the owners, they were wonderful company and really want all there guests to have a memorable experience at there property. I can’t possibly write about all the wonderful things Badian has to offer, I’ve just listed a few that my family and I had the opportunity to share. I would go back here in a heartbeat and recommend Badian Resort and Spa to anyone who is looking to be treated like gold and relax in pure paradise!!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank amy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    21
    19
    24
See reviews for
35
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Usually when you are paying 'top dollar' at a resort you get the best. This was so not the case for Badian. Similar to the other guests reviews (I wish I had read them before booking) we were extremely disappointed with our 4 day stay at this resort.

The 2 hr journey from the airport to the hotel at 3am in the morning was literally terrifying. The driver drove at what felt like 90 mph on pot-holed roads that have dogs, people, bikes/ cars with no lights on them. Thankfully there were seat belts, but being pregnant all I could think was thank god we don't have our baby here yet!

The resort is extremely remote and was probably really nice 25 years ago when the now 80 year old German owner bought it. The trouble is he has literally put no money into the place since. The whole place looks tired and dated. The furniture in the rooms is old, no TVs or proper internet. (one computer with the slowest dial up ever that they even charge you for). We also had a range of nasty insects in the room a huge spider, cockroaches, mosquitoes etc. Sports facilitys were also bad; the tennis court was overgrown and had no net. No gym. The games room; darts - only 1 dart available. Pool tables dirty with broken lights above. Water sports - you get charged for everything, even a kayak for half an hour.

Finally there was the price of everything. Philippines is cheap. A coke can cost just a few pence, but on Badian you will may UK prices and above for everything. £1 / coke, £2+ beer. The biggest joke was the spa. Massages cost about £25-£30. You can go to any beach on the mainland out of the resort and get the same for £2-3. It would be ok if the staff, who were lovely, got some of the cash but they don't. They earn less than £5 a day. So we ended up tipping them a fair bit adding to the cost of an already seriously over priced stay.

Thank goodness we had a week on Boracay afterwards. We stayed in a hotel at a fraction of the price but 10 x better. Even the most expensive hotel on Boracay (and there are some lovely ones on a real white sand / sea beach!) is cheaper than Badian.

So in short, please don't bother with this place. My heart goes out to the honeymooners who have come here in the past.

  • Liked — The staff. But Filipinos are friendly and helpful anywhere in the Philippines.
  • Disliked — How much of a rip off it was.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Jayne027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Badian Island hotels

Koeln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

We have stayed in a number of five star hotels all over Asia Pacific, but we never had such a bad experience than at Badian, Philippines.
If you look at their website you believe that it's heaven on earth, but if you go you will find merely a 2star hotel. The accommodations were very simple although we were upgraded, the aircon could not cope with the size of the room, hence it was very hot and we had to push the bed torward the aircon. We had ants in the bathroom and the food the hotel provided was 2star buffet food, no luxuary hotel would offer their guests.
The beach was anything but nice, very sludgy and most time of the day there was low tide and you had to walk endlessly if you wanted to swim. The pool was far too small to spend the day there and we meet one family who went elsewhere via boat every day to hang out at the beach. The other couple we met desperatly tried to cancel and shorten their stay at Badian.
I had the worst food poisoning ever, because they kept all the food for breakfast outside in an open restaurant, neither the butter, bacon nor cheese was kept in a cool place, but remained there for many hours.
If you like to have value for money I would suggest Rayavadee in Thailand or the Nam Hai in Vietnam. Bali is another great destination, where beautful hotels (the Legian for instance) and beaches can be found.
For us it was surely a very bad experience and we regret every dollar we paid. The management should be ashamed to take so much money from their guests for such a lousy place.

  • Liked — the staff was friendly
  • Disliked — everything else was lousy
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouc-Bel-Air, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We had a very bad experience on this resort, very disappointed for the service that I expected to be very nice because it was very expensive but my honeymoon was ruined and my husband didn't have his dream vacation very disappointing, they dont give complimentary water it's cost 100 pesos for a bottle, not normal at all which in every hotel they give 2 bottled water everyday. resort was bad and dirty and stinks, I was beatin by the bUGs and mosquitos. The beach was sorrounded by the people live nearby so it's not clean at all.Food was just okay you have no choice anyway you have to eat what they give you.

This hotel is ver'y pricey for the philippines ,the couple who own this resort should think that the resort is in Philippines not in Germany.

Better to stay in Shangrila Mactan less expensive but very good service the real 5 star hotel.very good food too and not far at the Airport.

  • Liked — flowers
  • Disliked — service and price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank frenchkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

OVERALL: Not good value for the expensive price

Good: Thalassa Springs, courteous and attentive service, suite design, good housekeeping (cleans/ maintains the suite twice a day), nice flowers and landscaping

Average: food, facilities, beach

Bad:

- very far: around 2.5 to 3 hours away from Cebu airport, and transfer to and from the resort cost $60 per person per trip (should have been for free or at a cheaper rate)

- have to pay for things which should have been for free like drinks (including mineral water) considering that we had to pay $200 a day per person per night

- very slow check-in/out and restaurant service

- no TV in the suite; cable TV in the common room is not working

- lots of ants and other insects

  • Liked — thalassa springs, attentive and courteous service
  • Disliked — very far, very expensive, have to pay for items which should have been free (mineral water)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cay8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

At $400+ a night in the Philippines, you'd expect a 5 star paradise. Not so. I'd give it a 3 or 4 star rating tops. We also stayed a resort nearby in Savedra for $80/night and had a comparable experience. Badian island is definitly overpriced for what you get.

The rooms posed an interesting choice. Our first room looked brand new. Very nice. But the fabled outdoor bathtub had a view of a walkway just meters away. Not possible to take a private bath. Not much of a ocean view either.

I asked to switch rooms. We got an older but still nice room
with much more privacy and better view. I guess that's the trade
off at this resort.

For this much money, you'd expect a culinary paradise. I'd call it similar to a mid-range quality cafeteria. It provided nourishment, but nothing to get excited about. Definitely disappointing per expectations.

On the bright side, because we already pay for food, extra service is just a little more. For about $50, you can get a private lunch for 2 on the snorkeling beach. They bring over a table with nice linens, buffet table, and everything, while stray dogs watch. Quaint. OR, for about $40, we had a private dinner on their yacht. Just the two of us, with the yacht moored in the channel, with our own waiter, boat captain, and guitar serenade. And the bring over each course hot by boat. That was romantic.

On service, it was very spirited and pleasant. Unfortunately, they are clueless and don't think too much on their own. Kind of frustrating, but par for the course in moalboal. We actually had much better thoughtful service at the Shangri la.

The spa was nice enough. They proudly have some 2006 edition of some international spa magazine in each room that mentions badian island, so it can't be that bad. We paid the standard $130 international rate for a massage, which is hugely expensive for the Philippines, but you get a western style standard ocean view resort massage.

Overall, I would NOT recommend this hotel. For luxury, go to the Shangri La. For the remote resort experience, I recommend one of the many 3/4 star resorts nearby, in moalboal or savedra. I had a great anniversary with my wife, but not because of this overpriced hotel!

Final note, if you're traveling with a local, ask for a local rate!
At some hotels, it is 50% off! At badian island, it is like 10% off.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — mediocrity
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burritomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2005

Below is a list of issues I had during my stay. The hotel was clearly not five-star standards therefore, our agent should not be charging the price it did and its site should not mislead customers.
•Arrival. On the BIR’s website, it showed a nice boat arriving on the island greeted by professionally dressed resorts’ staff. Instead, we were greeted at the pier by a speed boat (which is very old and dirty) and a staff that is in a worn-out t-shirt and shorts. When we arrived on the island, we were greeted by this German intern that did not seem the least tropical or knowledgeable about Cebu Island.
•Hot water. Hot water is limited throughout the resort. There is a bathtub, but there is barely enough hot water for one person to shower at a time, therefore, it is not possible to fill that tub with enough hot water for a bath. Hot water was not available twice during our stay. It took them over 30 minutes to get it running again. The drain to the shower is plugged. So every time we took a shower, the whole bathroom would flood. It was never fixed. Now that I look back at the website, they claim to have “hot water 24 hours”, which is not true.
•Restaurant. There is only one restaurant on the entire island, instead of four as claimed on Cathay Holiday’s website. The breakfast menu and lunch menu never changes. Breakfast consist of very typical food: fruits, bread, sausages, cold cuts, garlic fried rice, egg, drinks. Lunch menu consists of about fifteen items – Three types of sandwiches/burgers, three types of Philippines cuisine, and three types of pasta, etc. And for the entire eight days we were there, it never once changed. The dinner menu was the same as the lunch menu with the addition of a daily five-course meal that they charge three times what we would pay if ordering a-la-carte. But it’s a very smart marketing scheme as one would tend to pay that exorbitant price just so they don’t eat the same thing every single day. Towards the end of the trip, eating breakfast, lunch and dinner became such a chore that we only ate because we were hungry and had no other choice. The chefs are not at all flexible with us. There is no such thing as “snacks” for the mid-afternoon except for french fries. And even when we asked if we could order a-la-carte of the gyoza which they served as part of the set dinner meal, they said they didn’t have enough to make us. We got angry and complained and finally were given an order which we got charged obviously an insane amount.
•Wake up call. We had used their wake up call service at the hotel but they never ended up calling us causing us to miss our scuba diving lesson as well as breakfast. We were given a simple apology but nothing to the extent of giving us free breakfast to compensate.
•Swimming Pool. The swimming pool is about as big as the kiddie’s pool at Shangri-La. In the pictures provided by Badian, it showed a waterfall above the swimming pool. It was rusted and old and was never once turned on.
•Grass. The grass area on the island was all dead and yellow. The whole place looked like a desert because it seemed so dry. We never once saw them water the grass. Pictures on their website did not show this.
•Beach. The beach was absolutely pathetic. There are never enough chairs to accommodate everyone. There’s no service when we do find seats. Garbage that people would leave on their seats is not cleaned up until a day later.
•Insects. The room was infested with bugs. We had asked them to spray insecticide every day because it got so bad that we had to pick off bugs from our bed. They didn’t come everyday. One time, I had to call reception twice and housekeeping once just to have them send somebody over.
•Room. The room was pathetic; nothing at all like the pictures on the website. In fact, our bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have ever slept on. They had taken two singles bed (no springs in mattress, laid directly on a rattan frame) and placed them together. You can easily hurt yourself if you sit in the middle by mistake.
•Free Sports. We were told that we can participate in the following for free: Windsurfing, Paddleboats, Badminton, Billiard, Dart, Tennis, Table tennis, Volleyball, Parlour Games. When we arrived, we were told Windsurfing was not free, badminton consisted a few rusted rackets with no nets, billiard table was a miniature size (about 2M by 1M), the dart board was old and dirty, the tennis court looks deserted with weed overgrown around the entire court. And there is no squash court, parking facilities, shopping arcade or beauty salon as their site indicates.

All in all, I would NOT suggest this resort AT ALL!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank babycat921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badian Island
8.1 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
105.4 mi away
Kandaya Resort
Kandaya Resort
#1 of 1 in Daanbantayan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
47.7 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
51.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badian Island Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badian Island Wellness Resort

Property: Badian Island Wellness Resort
Address: 6031, Philippines (Formerly Badian Island Resort and Spa)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Badian Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Badian Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Badian Island Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badian Island Wellness Resort is a luxurious and therapeutic brand of reclusive open-air relaxation is internationally recognized for the past 30 years. The luxury resort uniquely offers Thalasso or ionized seawater outdoor pools that can ultimately heal and revitalize the body. Today, the upscale resort focuses on sharing the gift of holistic well-being by introducing natural spa treatments, yoga exercises, and organic eating and drinking lifestyle. The exclusive resort offers first-class room accommodations, Wi-Fi Internet access, international cuisines, fine dining entertainment, exciting excursions, yacht cruising, scuba diving, and fun beach activities. Earning itself as one of the premier tourist resort destinations in the world, Badian Island Resort and Spa vows to carry on that legacy for more decades to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HRS so you can book your Badian Island Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badian Island Hotel Badian Island
Badian Island Resort
Badian Island Wellness Resort Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing