We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but expensive”
Review of The White Lion Inn

The White Lion Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Lion Inn
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had one of the upstairs garden rooms and although immacuately clean it was tiny. You couldn't move without tripping over, banging something or hitting your head. And unfortunately the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've slept on.

When we checked in we were asked what time we'd like breakfast and ascertaining that it was between 07.30 and 10.00 (great times for the work and leisure travellers), we said we'd be there about 09.30. Well next morning we were in fact about 10 minutes earlier but they'd already begun to clear away so there was no cereal and we had to ask for orange juice. The tea and cooked breakfast (apart from a burnt fried egg) was delicous though.

I thought it was expensive for what you got and am sure the £85 we paid was a direct reflection on the prices at Hampton Manor so people think they're getting a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raphanoa, Owner at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments,which are greatly appreciated.
We are very sorry that there was a misunderstanding over breakfast times. Our breakfast times are 7.30-9.00 weekdays and 8.30-10.00 weekends and Bank Holidays. These times are published on our website and in the information packs in all bedrooms.
With regard to pricing. We are not influenced by Hampton Manor,a five star boutique hotel,charging some £230 per night, but by similar, small, bed and breakfast establishments like ourselves in the near vicinity of the NEC, Birmingham Airport and the M42.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for The White Lion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 156 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Beautiful characteristic 400 year old grade II listed building. Absolutely fantastic stay, hosts were very welcoming and the food (including hearty breakfast) is delicious. With the location to train station a short walking distance and only one stop to Birmingham NEC, it couldn't be any more convenient. We stayed for 4 nights and loved it; the rates were just right for us with excellent value for money. I do not have any negative comments. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in room 5 for one night and had dinner and breakfast. The managers and staff are lovely, friendly and welcoming. At dinner we found the waitress a bit ditsy and slow, which was annoying. The food was ok but nothing special and very over priced..... Three small king prawns for £6.95 was extortionate. Breakfast was absolutely lovely; no grease whatsoever on the fry up! Also lovely coffee, juice and green tea. The room although very basic was spotlessly clean, and the shower worked very well. Two complaints about the room; flashing red smoke alarm in the middle of the room and bright blue neon light from a socket that lit up the whole room and hampered a good nights sleep.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Royalnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

lovely hotel, reasonable rate and food was really good, this hotel is a excellent example of a hotel with character, the rooms remind me of Alice in Wonderland so if you want a stay with character then stay here, the facilities provided are nice and the beds are comfy and the room are very clean. the village is lovey with a railway station close by

Room Tip: tell the hotel if you are tall as room one has a small height shower
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roo156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were working in nearby Solihull Business Park and this was a great alternative to the usual sales-rep type chains. The breakfast was fine but the dinner was excellent. We even brought English work colleagues there for dinner after work one night and they liked it as well. They had very good Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: There are rooms in a separate building not over the pub. They have greater height and no noise. Ask...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Where do i start, we paid £110 for a night. The bed was very uncomfortable with horrible coiled mattresses so every time you moved my husband did too! The bathroom drains smelt awful and the sink made a load sucking noise for about 5 minutes after use. The noise from the inn downstairs didn't stop until 1am. We were in room2 above the inn. You couldn't stand in the shower as it been put in an alcove 4 foot high. Breakfast service was very slow as only one staff memeber was on and not enough cereals and milk was supplied. Great if you had a few many drinks down stairs and don't want to drive home otherwise premier travel inn is much cheaper and at least they have decent beds and showers!

Room Tip: Avoid room2
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roachenpole, Manager at The White Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and would like to address some of the points you raise.
You stayed in room 2 ,located above the pub .This you were informed at the time of booking, as you required a room for three people. This works out at £37 per person including full English breakfast which we feel is extremely good value for money. We are a 400 year old pub with listed building status,and as such the bedrooms and bathrooms,though quirky, have to fit into the constraints set out by the planners( the alcove is not 4' high though ) ,plumbing and electrics included !
Yes we are a pub,and by the time last orders are served, the pub emptied, cashed up and tidied up,it can easily be 1.00 am. We are sorry though , that you were disturbed.
Breakfast is cooked to order,with freshly ground Lavazza coffeee and Stash teas, with three cereals and orange juice always available. Your comment about slow and not enough we find hard to comprehend.
In your review you mention the Premier Travel Inn chain. In hindsight,perhaps that sort of establishment is better suited to your requirements.
Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The pub/restaurant in centrally located in the village of Hampton in Arden. The pub enjoys a long history. Menus offer good local fare at reasonable prices. Furnishings are nothing special but staff are friendly, it's also a good choice or a lunchtime visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MargaretSolihullWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton-in-Arden
1.6 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
3.1 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Inn

Address: 10 High Street, Hampton-in-Arden, Solihull B92 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Hampton-in-Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hampton-in-Arden
Price Range: $122 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at The White Lion Inn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We are just five minutes from the M42 and 500 metres from Hampton-in-Arden railway station which a five minute train ride to and from the NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Hampton-In-Arden
The White Lion Inn Hampton-In-Arden, Solihull, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing