We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Moon Valley
Nearby Hotels
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$822
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Mega Mare(Vico Equense)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Torre Barbara(Vico Equense)
$925
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel & Resort Le Axidie(Vico Equense)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Ancore Hotel(Vico Equense)
$160
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Albatros(Piano di Sorrento)
$100
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
181
245
142
53
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
245
142
53
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel departmentpool areabusy roadthomas cooktrain stationbay of naplescourtesy busvico equensesea viewenjoyable holidayfood was finewaiter servicevealten minute walkeach eveninghotel receptionsteep hill
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 635 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our Hotel - Grand Hotel Moon Valley was excellent,- staff (restaurant and otherwise) were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel was very clean, comfortable and welcoming, food was good and varied to all tastes. We travelled with "Tavel Department", good value for money and several "extra" little additions to our various inclusive trips. Many thanks to all who made our holiday so enjoyable. Marianne Morrison

Room Tip: We did not have a room overlooking the sea but our rn-suite room was excellent and of reasonable size- it faced the driverway and with a nice little balcony suited us perfectly well. we did hear the traffic but this couldn't be helped, Cleanliness and comfort are more important,
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thanks, Marianne for your warm remarks. We are very pleased when we know that we have reached our goal of giving our guests a positive experience. We hope to see you again!

Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't know what the grumbles are about. Part way through a fortnight here with Saga.
Very nice hotel with kind and helpful staff- cant fault them. Food ok, Saga rep hard- working and helpful.
Even the weather has taken a turn for the better!
Nesta

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NESTAOXFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to leave with some happy memories.

Many thanks for offering to recommend us to others and we hope to see you here again in the near future with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is not ideally situated unless you are prepared to wait for trains that are rarely on time and subject to lightening strikes (no, not strikes of lightening rather the train company personnel calling a strike at the drop of a hat !). Apart from the military run hotel restaurant the nearest restaurants include the local Pizzeria a short walk away, another nearby hotel with odd admission policies and even more odd opening times or the treacherous downhill walk to the beach and the Marina where there are one or two seemingly nice places to eat and drink. Be warned though, however excited you might be to test your fitness by taking this walk "on the right hand side of the tobacconists", you will most definitely regret it if you decide to walk back the way you came down - only murderous !!!! The beach (if you could call it that) itself is always overcrowded, I mean OVER crowded and the only place to rest was on a concrete pathway - yet, this was the closest point to the rocky and dangerous entrance to the water. The hotel itself has seen better days but its jewel in the crown has to be the pool area which was a joy to experience. We found the bar staff very friendly - apart from one individual who would rather produce an indignant stare than to try to understand what it was you wanted. We found the staff in reception rude and tricky down to fruitless attempts to have us upgrade our rooms at incredulous rates just to get a sea view - the same views, if you go Travel Department, are available at much more reasonable rates organised directly with your holiday rep. We ordered two mixed salad sandwitches in the hotel restaurant at lunchtime - they would not accept cash payment and insisted that our bill be charged to be settled on departure (this appears to be a common trait for all purchases in the hotel) - again be warned ! - they looked for €12.50 for the two sandwitches which I refused to pay. We did enjoy the planned excursions though and the fabulous tour guides who saved the holiday - afterall, you go to Sorrento for the sites and the experience - dont miss Pompeii or Capri - these are our lasting memories which were indeed GRAND.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms over the canopy to the hotel entrance.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aquilicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

I must admit that after reading the title, I expected a harsher rating. Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel staff, and the pool, and we were able to get away with some happy memories from that sites that you visited.

Regarding the prices of the food, we make menus available for our guests convenience. We are sorry if you were surprised by your experience as we open to helping our guests to choose the foods they prefer. We would prefer to have high ratings in all categories, but appreciate you opinion as it will help us to improve our service. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a beautiful hotel with stunning views. The staff were lovely and were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was average in size, really comfy bed with nice quality sheets.Our shower was not great but did the job and there was plenty of clean towels and sheets during our week stay. Did notice however that plug points and remote control were really dusty, and whoever painted the room must have been in a hurry as bits had been missed and room paint had not been wiped off the door frame. Shame. Only ate in hotel once at night and also had a lunch but it was not verygood. Had some lovely meals at Mustapha's,great fish, pizza and pastas-the kind of good food you would hope to try in Italy. This restaurant was down at the marina and was a good 20 minute walk downhill from our hotel but well worth it. Also the Pizzeria
3 minutes from the hotel was very reasonable and the food is good and surprisingly cheap.
Probably the biggest problem with our hotel was the isolation, the train station 5min away but we waited over an hour a few times to travel the 15minutes into Sorrento. Vico Equense was a 30 minute walk along a busy road that did not have apavement all the way and was unlit at night.
Our hotel seemed to be geared for coach parties as breakfast was finished at 9.15 and dinner was at 7.30 and you needed to place you order for the following nights dinner.WHY?
We thought booking with The Travel Department was a good way of seeing Sorrento and without any hassle of having to book our own trips as they were included in the deal. It was only when we arrived in Italy we were told earliest trip meant breakfast at 6.45am with a departure at7.30, if we had known this we would not have gone. This was not a holiday but a lesson on doing your research first because like us, you might feel you are left in the back of beyond and everyone has gone to bed.

Room Tip: ask for sea view although road can be noisy
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Harvey-Maizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is really important for us and we can tell that you took some time to give us helpful feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hotel, in particular the views and the staff. You might imagine that we are very pleased to give our guests a close-up view of the sea and Vesuvius, though we understand that required you to make longer trips to get to the sites you visited. We hope that you will give us another chance at a future time.

Arriverderci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just back from a wonderful holiday spent on the Sorrento coast .As my partner is half Italian we decided to do it indepentely and I dont regret it.
The hotel we chose, the Grand Hotel Moonvalley, had many different reviews but we decided to go with the good ones and I'm glad we did! The position is excellent, five mins walk to the local train station leading you into Sorrento or Pompei/Naples. The hotel also runs a courtesy bus back and from the station, just need to ask at reception. Franco Arpino one of the receptionists was always very helpful and Luigi, the manager & owner,well, nothing was too much for him! The Rooms are basic but very well maintained. The linens used are very Italian, Made of beautiful pure linen and the sizes are extremely big The pool area is the most stunning part of the hotel. Two beautiful pools overlooking one of the most spectacular views Of the bay of Naples. There's an on pool restaurant/bar where on several occasions we had drinks and food, I really reccomend the Spaghetti alle vongole (clams)..delicious! I can't comment on the evening meals as we nevere had dinner there but on reccomendation of Franco we went to The Pizza a Metro down in town in Vico Equense, owned by the same family and we had the most supreme pizza ever!...you order your pizza by the meter. I woud really reccomend this hotel to anybody and as a tip when travelling to Italy, when you either can't find or see something ....just ask!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank General-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarloLuigi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Moon Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We wish that all of our reviews were this positive, and are very pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! We try to give our customers a good experience, as much as is possible for us to serve them so your remarks are encouraging and motivate us to continue to do our best for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Arriverderci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews