We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable hosts, fun & educational activities, great scenery and more .....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coatesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camperdown Farmstay
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If you are looking for a home away from home vacation plus great scenery and country life, look no further than Camperdown Farmstay!


Hospitable hosts ...... and delicious homemade goodies .....
Upon arrival in end Nov 2013, we were treated to refreshing apple juice and lovely healthy homemade ‘Joys Slice’ biscuit filled with pumpkin seeds, cranberries, rolled oats. Even my daughter who dislikes nuts loved her 'Joys Slice' biscuit. It was just the beginning of a fantastic stay at Camperdown. Chris and Dave are a lovely couple who really made sure that we felt comfortable and made us feel like we had known them already. Chris let us have the cosy master bedroom with another two lovely decorated bedrooms for our 2 children. Space was never a constraint at Camperdown. The rooms were equipped with heaters for guests like us who are not used to cold weather. Chris makes lovely freshly made jams .... . strawberry, marmalade, tomato chutney just to name a few. Her tomato chutney is unbeatable .... sadly we forgot to buy some back home .....


Fun and educational activities .... close to country life ......
Feeding the chickens, learning how the chickens sleep at night, collecting amazing large eggs and getting to eat those collected fresh eggs the next morning! Then the sheep ..... adorable .... we had the experience to round the sheep up (like true farmers!) and it was a golden opportunity to see their sheep being shorn (what a timely coincidence that we were there!). Of course not forgetting feeding the cows. Chris and Dave let our children enjoy all the animals in our children's own time .... a chance they will never have so easily in Singapore. The vegetable garden at Camperdown is superb - gigantic fresh vegetables and we learnt more about how they were grown .....


Great scenery ....
If you are not too keen to go out, just nestle yourself in Camperdown's very own secret garden - aptly named - its beauty has captured weddings even to be held there. You can just spend your evening there, sitting, strolling and taking in the crisp fresh air and basking in its beauty with all the diverse shrubs, ferns and plants. And oh yes! There is this amazing bridge that links their home to the tennis courts. Their home is surrounded by vast greenery ......


Helpful advice .....
Camperdown was our first stop in New Zealand and it left us a good impression of what is to come. Upon learning our other itinerary, Chris and Dave gave us helpful hints on what was worth making a stop like the Huka Falls .. etc ... and the more scenic route to take .....

What makes Camperdown special is Chris' and Dave's personal touch to make us feel welcome and feel at home .... it was indeed a memorable stay and if we are back in New Zealand, we would make a trip back there again !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 150Daisy_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

Arriving in Auckland right in the middle of a terrible thunderstorm, we almost thought we were never going to make it to Camperdown, which would indeed be our loss. Even through the storm and strong gales, it was a straightforward drive and we arrived at Camperdown in one piece. We received a great welcome from Sam the German Shepherd and of course our dear hostess, Chris, despite the late hour of 11.30pm. Chris quickly warmed us up with a hot tea and muffin and we to sleep in a soft, warm bed. (My family of 6 booked the whole 2nd floor which consisted of 4 huge bedrooms, a nursery, a sitting room with coffee/tea making facilities and 2 bathrooms)

The next morning, despite the pouring rain, Chris and Dave made great effort to fill our day with fun. We started off with a delicious breakfast by Chris (A must to try her homemade tomato chutney with hashbrowns!), followed by a game of pool at their room above the garage.
Chris took us out in her car to show us around her farm, to see her beautiful sheep and cows, and we got up pick freshly laid eggs from her chickens. These were all done in pouring rain but our spirits were not dampened! Chris even guided us in her car to Muriwai Shores to see the spectacular views of garnets resting against the rocks. We ended the day off with an awesome dinner at The Riverhead, with great company, Dave and Chris, and another 3 of their guests.

A 2 night-stay was really too short and we missed the warm hospitality we received from our wonderful hosts. My husband was nursing a 2-weeks cough and Chris was so kind to provide medicine for it.

My whole family has high raves for this quaint and lovely working farm and we would recommend anyone who likes to experience true blue Kiwi hospitality to visit Camperdown. No regrets!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shijia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Though we stayed in the farm for 2 nights, we experienced warm sentimental moments.
There are so many of them and here I mention a few. On the first day after dinner, I was deeply moved. Chris played piano and we were sitting around. The movie and novel scenery has come to reality!
Next day early morning, we were given a chance to be led by Sam (the friendly German Shepherd dog ) to have a walk in the magnificient garden.
In the evening, my husband was so happy hat he was allowed to pick herbs from the garden and prepare salad, cauliflower cheese to go with Dave's wonderful BBQ food.
There was so many to remember and we do not want to leave. A pity we have to go and we can't help thinking of going back.
Daphne, Louisa & Alan

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank louisayhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at Camperdown in late Sep 2013 with my fiancee and it has been the best 2.5 days of our trip in New Zealand. Hosts Chris and Dave were very friendly and welcoming.

On our first night we checked in, Chris took us upstairs to the Master Bedroom which is lovingly prepared. The decor feels very homey and warm inside with lots of room. After dinner, we sat in the front yard and enjoyed some romantic stargazing under the wooden swing. Sam the German Shepherd came out with us and we enjoyed some spectacular views under the clear skies.

The next morning we were waken up by the wonderful smells of hot toast and bacon. Chris and Dave have prepared a huge breakfast for us and we also enjoyed some relaxing time at the table. Then, we headed out to feed the sheep and had a walk-around in the huge farm. At night, Dave and Chris took us out to a local resturant down the road which served fantastic pizza and pasta.

On the last day, we had another lovely breakfast prepared by Chris. Afterwards, we headed out to the chicken farm and feed the chicken while my fiancee also got a chance to pick the fresh eggs from the hen house. Chris also took us out and gave us a local tour on her SUV. Lastly we met their beautiful cows and got the chance to feed them by hand.

I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a friendly, relaxing, easy-to- reach farmstay which is only about 5 minutes drive from Albany Mega Centre. We look forward to return to Camperdown next time we come to NZ.

Yan & Martin

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin7554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Camperdown in July of 2013 and I couldn't have asked for a more wonderful experience! Chris and Dave are very welcoming and their home is lovely. The animals on the farm are very friendly and I enjoyed feeding the cows and sheep! The food was delicious and their company was delightful. My time at Camperdown was one of the most memorable experiences of my trip! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went with my parents during a winter break in college in 2009. Stayed a few days there and we all wish we stayed longer. Coming from NYC, it was an incredible experience to do a farm to begin with. Chris and Dave were wonderful hosts. We fell in love with Chris' cooking - silver beets, rhubarb, chutneys.. Nothing beats fresh veggies from your own garden! We have such fond memories of chatting with Chris and Dave. They were so friendly and hospitable. Their beautiful German Shepherd Sam was a great addition.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MS Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Camperdown on October 30th and 31st, 2010. We arrived in Auckland from the states on October 30th, Chris and Dave were already prepared for our early arrival and made us feel welcome. We arrived to find friendly faces and I was able to feed the 2 lambs, Mickey and Minnie, which was a wonderful experience. The grounds that surround Camperdown are so beautiful, many parts are like the 'secret garden'. Chris and Dave made us feel very welcome and we really enjoyed visiting them. We wish that we had more time to spend getting to know them. Their dog Sam was also a wonderful addition, a German Shepard who was very welcoming and a bit of an attention grabber! Chris and Dave gave us information on what to see and what to do while we were in the Auckland area, they had great ideas and were incredibly helpful. The B&B was very clean and the beds were so comfortable, especially after many long hours of travel time. They made our stay extra special by allowing us to feed the lambs, they were also very welcoming and we all sat outside one evening with wine and beer chatting it up. It was like we had known them for years! The breakfasts were wonderful and very filling that we didn't even need lunch either of the days. We hope to return to Camperdown soon and plan on staying in touch with Chris and Dave. It was the little added touches that meant so much (one day my husband was experiencing some allergy suffering and Chris provided medicine to help him with his symptoms). They went above and beyond and we had a fabulous time, the scenery was second to none and we would stay again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATVMTNGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camperdown Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camperdown Farmstay

Address: 455 Coatesville-Riverhead Highway, Coatesville, Auckland 0793, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Coatesville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coatesville
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing