We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Number one choice for our family”

Review of Le Cerisier

Heated, fenced swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens Le Cerisier kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens
Le Cerisier kitchen
Le Cerisier kitchen
Dresser
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier king room
Le Cerisier master bedroom
Le Cerisier double room
Le Cerisier twin room
Le Cerisier bathroom with full sized bath
Private garden Le Cerisier
Enjoying the heated pool
Large walled garden
Having fun by the swings
Twiglet our cat
Main gardens
Heated pool
Main gardens
Main house
La Rochelle
St Palais
Ile de Ré
St Jean d'Angèly colourful market town 10 mins away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Villeneuve la Comtesse, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BruisedPi...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Number one choice for our family”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Our extended family has stayed at this lovely gite several times. The grandchildren were very small when we first started coming, and the large, enclosed garden was just perfect for them. As the years have gone by they have started to spread their wings, and again the gite is ideal - they can go to the village playpark unaccompanied and there are many quiet lanes where they can cycle on their own. They will now allow us to visit other parts of France on condition that we come here for at least half of the holiday.
The gite is just perfect for all of us, beautifully decorated and furnished, with more mod cons than you can shake a stick at. The pool is a great plus.
Tout Y Faut village is a good centre for touring the area. Countryside and towns are by no means spectacular but have an unnasuming, tranquil beauty that stays with you for a long, long time.
The Paine family are perfect hosts with a genius for finding the Goldilocks spot between familiarity and formality.
We have already booked for August 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Seeing the children have such a great time
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
As always it was a total pleasure to have you on board again. Counting down the days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely gite, comfortably furnished with lovely hosts”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a week in the middle of July 2014 with our two girls aged 3 and 6. The gite is exactly as described on the web site - always a good start. It is in a very peaceful location, near to some nice villages and towns to visit. To be honest though we didn't venture far very often - the heated pool and sunshine kept us all entertained for most of the day.

The accommodation is well sized for a small family, and as our girls shared a room we would have had room for grandparents to stay in the 3rd bedroom. The beds were comfy and the whole gite was very clean. We felt is was good value for money for what was peak summer holiday season. We were able to pay the rental fees into a UK bank account, avoiding any foreign transaction fees. Deposit was returned with no problems.

Sue and Simon (the owners) live on site in the main house with their children and are friendly without being too 'present'. They can help in many different ways, though we probably just had a good chat with them than anything else! If we were holidaying again in the area we would happily stay again - and that's really the best recommendation anyone can give.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you so much. We always enjoy a good chat with our guests and we would be delighted to see you all again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APotter20...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Gite in a great location.”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our second visit to Le Cerisier and it was as lovely as we remembered. Wonderful warm welcome from Sue and Simon, and the Gite was spotless and had everything in it we needed. The pool is lovely as is the garden, and our children had a great time playing in both areas. Loads to do in the surrounding region and we hope to come back for a third visit soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah m
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our fourth time here!”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our fourth time back staying in Le Cognassier. As always we were made to feel so welcome by the owners and had a lovely week. There's lots to see and do in the area and there's a lovely relaxed feel here. Brilliant.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen123...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and very child friendly”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at La Cerisier with my husband, 2 year old son and my father. We chose this place because it was child friendly and in close proximity to La Rochelle airport (50 mins). The gite was well equipped and had lovely antique furniture. There was a cot, highchair, stairgates etc so my son could easily run around without injuring himself.

The pool area was also fantastic and heated to a nice temperature.

Sue and Simon were fantastic hosts and we invited them round on our last night for a glass of wine. They organised dinner reservations for us and Sue also kindly offered to babysit.

We would definitely consider a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoPlusTw...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Real gem of a gite, quiet location but within reasonable distance of the local attractions.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed in Le Cerisier with our 21 month old baby boy and a second couple with their 2 year old. Beautifully restored building finished with care and attention to detail, really reflects the photos. 2 boys loved the swimming pool and roaming the grounds, playing with the toys available and making friends with the local french neighbours. Would highly recommend to anyone, with or without family in tow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully finished gite, and all the toys!
Liked least: Parking was a bit tricky
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, stylish family friendly accommodation in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

From the minute we arrived we could not have felt more at home! Sue and Simon and their lovely children gave us a really warm welcome and we were overjoyed with the standard of the accommodation. The gites are furnished and decorated to a very high standard and we had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The set up is excellent for children who can play safely in the walled garden. The pool is beautiful and secluded and each gite has its own private garden - perfect for barbecues and sun worshipping. The other guests were delightful we learnt that they have been coming back for nearly 10 years they love it so much. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing