We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location and accommodation”

Review of Le Cerisier

Heated, fenced swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens Le Cerisier kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens
Le Cerisier kitchen
Le Cerisier kitchen
Dresser
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier king room
Le Cerisier master bedroom
Le Cerisier double room
Le Cerisier twin room
Le Cerisier bathroom with full sized bath
Private garden Le Cerisier
Enjoying the heated pool
Large walled garden
Having fun by the swings
Twiglet our cat
Main gardens
Heated pool
Main gardens
Main house
La Rochelle
St Palais
Ile de Ré
St Jean d'Angèly colourful market town 10 mins away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Villeneuve la Comtesse, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mel T
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location and accommodation”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We loved the location and found the accommodation to be of a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Sue & Simon were excellent hosts who could not do enough to make our stay more relaxed. Look forward to seeing you all again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loopy324
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful gites & garden - real attention to detail; relaxing and friendly”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

The quality of the gites is outstanding, the garden is large (and walled, so very safe for small children) and the pool is fantastic. A lot of thought has gone into making the gites feel welcoming and comfortable - and the space in the whole area allows for privacy when you feel like it but with easy opportunities to chat over some wine (or a bbq) with other guests and with the hosts, Sue & Simon, when you are feeling more sociable. When I stayed the other guests had been many times before with young families and I could see why they kept coming back. Sue & Simon work (and play) very hard to make your stay a really relaxing and memorable one and the location is gorgeous.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruisedpi...
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Gite”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our three-generation stays at this exceptional gite are the high spots of the holiday year for us.
It's a great place for children - our little ones have become quite big ones since our first visit in 2005? and love it more and more as the years go by. The large, secure garden, the play area and the pool are just the ticket.
The gites are bright and beautiful. Everything is immaculately clean and the furnishings are delightful.
Sue and Simon are amazingly hospitable and really go the extra mile for their guests. Their children Lucy and Harry are great pals with ours and, being completely bi-lingual, are very useful companions on excursions (as well as being good company, of course).
Tout Y Faut has a bar/restaurant and shop; pretty Loulay is five minutes drive and has more places to shop and eat. St Jean d'Angely, "a neuf kms", has all amenities, including a park with boating lake, big play area, mini golf and swimming pool. It's well under an hour to La Rochelle and our favourite beach resort, Chatelaillon-Plage.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of children laughing
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall atmosphere of calm
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the gite and the equipment provided - particularly for children
Liked least: The slightly remote location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sarah m
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our third stay here!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We spent another lovely week here in August. Once again the hospitality was unbeatable and we instantly felt at home. Spent some great times just hanging out by the pool but also close enough to Il De Re and La Rochelle for some days out. I noticed from the guest book in the Gite that there are lots of return bookings - I am not surprised!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilaryRic...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to relax and have a family holiday”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We joined my son,his wife & two children {5 & 2] for a week at Le Cognaissier.As we only had a weeks holiday we hoped that we would all be able to relax and have a break together and we certainly weren't disappointed.
If the children are happy and safe,then the adults can relax too,and we were delighted with a very well furnished gite,situated in a large & secure garden.
At 9am ,we felt we could open the doors and safely let the children into the garden where they rushed to the swings,slide,sandpit and the huge lawn.
The poo lopened at 10.am and was impossible to enter without an adult present,and so each morning ,we found them peering through the gate ,anxious for their first swim.
We also had our own bbq area with sunchairs and table.
Sue,Simon and their two children made us feel very welcome & at home,and were on hand for queries, baby sitting and a friendly chat...but never invaded our space.
.....and so all six of us had our hoped for,relaxed, happy and carefree week in the sun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of space and freedom it offered
Liked least: The surrounding countryside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing