We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Family Holiday”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint Seurin de Palenne, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Beetlegir...
Hermitage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Family Holiday ”
Reviewed August 25, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Over the years I have spent numerous happy holidays in France in many different gites, each with its own unique charm.

Yet one gite stands out above all others. Les Gites du Vigneron are simply beautiful. To say they are a “home from home” is an understatement. The gites retain their original character but have been enhanced to create a modern feel. They are immaculate with everything you could possibly wish for to make a perfect holiday.

If you can tear yourself away from the heated pool, there is plenty to do in the garden or games room, including table tennis , boules and trampolining.

The gites are located in the lovely region of Charente Maritime. There are so many interesting places to visit that you are spoilt for choice.

Vanessa and Tim are wonderful hosts. Thank you for our second special holiday - we shall definitely return soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2018
Hi R, Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseRoe...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We keep coming back to Paquerette - top spot near Pons!”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

This was our fourth trip to Les Gites du Vigneron and our third stay in La Paquerette! When we first visited, we were one of the very first guests and of course, everything was beautifully modern, new and clean! Three years on, I am happy to report that nothing has changed. La Paquerette continues to be a ‘home from home’ (or better than!) experience - very well maintained and equipped, fresh and clean! Everything has been thought of and additional items are supplied, if required. I always love looking at the gite's very useful ‘folder of info’ on the surrounding area, and we are slowly working our way round the recommended locations and restaurants listed therein! There is also, of course, the option of taking some French lessons with Vanessa Westacott in her well equipped classroom – within the main house. She is a fantastic language teacher (French and English at Papillon Ecole de Langue) – whose fluency, ability and teaching skills are second to none – and she can tailor lessons to suit students following a syllabus (CE/GCSE/IGCSE/Pre U/A’level etc) or just wanting to brush up their conversational French/English or grammar for a holiday or work trip. In the summer, of course, there is also the added attraction of the swimming pool, barbeque, boules area and children’s covered play zone and trampoline. There really is something here for everyone! We can’t leave without planning our next trip back again!

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Hi Louise. Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to see you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again, perhaps in September!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samjb161
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding property”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We (2 adults and 2 teenagers) have just returned from the most relaxing fortnight at the gîtes du vigneron. The gîtes are beautifully renovated, spotlessly clean and very comfortably furnished. Great consideration has been given to what people want during a holiday and the gîte was fully equipped with everything we could need. The showers were powerful, the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space for us all.

The grounds are immaculate, yet you can still play football. The play barn is full of games and toys for all ages, including table tennis, darts and table football.

The pool area is stunning, with a large, shaded area as well as plenty loungers around the pool. The pool was clean, warm and available from early in the morning til late at night every day.

The property is around 15 mins drive from two large supermarkets in Pons. Saintes, Cognac and the coast are all within easy driving distance. The local boulangerie is a couple of minutes drive away.

Tim and Vanessa are the perfect hosts. They are always available, yet never intrusive.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our time at the gîtes du vigneron and were very sad to leave. We cannot rate it highly enough - an outstanding property.

Thank you Tim and Vanessa for a wonderful holiday.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2017
Hi,
Thank you for your very generous review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Tim and Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don186275
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family holiday”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We wished we had booked a longer stay at this excellent gite which has recently been refurbished to a high specification. Our spacious bedrooms were ensuite, kitchen fully equipped for self catering, with a very comfortable lounge plus good internet connection. The rural country location was so peaceful and relaxing but at the same time close enough to act as a great base for visiting contrasting places from the old town of Bordeaux, exploring the coast at La Rochelle, sampling the delights of Cognac or sightseeing at local towns like Pons. Our hosts, Tim and Vanessa were very attentive and knowledgeable ensuring that our stay was one to remember. Their super swimming pool set in well maintained gardens was also a real treat!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Hi Don,
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseRoe...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pâques parfaite à Paquerette”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The Paquerette was the perfect launch pad for our Easter holiday week of culture, comfort and cuisine in the region. Its great location makes day (or shorter) trips inland or to the coast easy and there is plenty to do at the gite itself, if you have smaller children who just want to play table tennis or swim in the pool when the weather is warm enough. Vanessa is a great French (and English) language teacher - with experience of all ages and ability if you fancy combining your stay with brushing up your French. The gite is exceptionally well equipped and offers clean, modern and comfortable accommodation. There is something for everyone here - be it lying out in the sunshine watching the migratory birds, planning the next culinary tour of the region, a tasting of wine/cognac, a trip to the beach or just climbing the dungeon tower at Pons!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thanks Louise for your very kind words. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in July for more fun in the sun and Vanessa hopes that the tuition will bear fruition!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseRoe...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paquerette @ Les Gîtes du Vigneron - the best place to stay near Pons!”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had the most fantastic week at the Paquerette - combining a week of sight-seeing and comfort at the gite with a week of french lessons for myself and my two teenage children. The gite is exceptionally well kitted out and nothing has been forgotten. It is all new, modern, fresh and clean! If you are not lying by the pool or swimming in it, you can play boule, or retreat to the cool of the gite where a flat screen tv and reliable wifi keeps teenagers happy during the heat of the day! Tim and Vanessa are wonderful hosts and they have answers to all your questions - be it logistical or linguistic! Vanessa's language school was a definite bonus for us as finding a place to brush up and practise our french had been key and it is a great USP for their collection of gites, if others want to have the same facility on the doorstep - literally! Around Paquerette (St Seurin de Palenne) there are many wonderful places to explore and we particularly enjoyed our day trips to the coast, Pons, Saintes and Jonzac. So much to do - and in such comfort! We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all great - fabulous facilities and fantastic location.
Liked least: Not applicable as it was all great!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thanks for your very kind review Louise. It was lovely to meet you and your family. We look forward to seeing you back here soon - the sunshine and the pool await!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamal B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Gite holiday in a charming location”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful stay here with our family during February half term. Exceptional facilities and beautifully presented. Our hosts were faultless with their attention and ensured we were well looked after. Great base to explore this area of France and relax and unwind in. The rooms are so spacious and well laid out, bathrooms are spotless and luxurious. Can't wait to go again.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2016
Thanks Kamal. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Tim.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing