We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in small village.”
Review of Restaurant Le Bruant - CLOSED

Restaurant Le Bruant
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Four of us eat here and we had good food, some courses were excellent and some good, depends on the choice. We found the pork over cooked but the rest was very good. Desert was excellent. There were multiple beers advertised on the menu but they had none in stock, best stick to wine.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CO0KIE_M0NSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2014

We ate here today as we were visiting La Roche Courbon and this restaurant is just a couple of minutes away. When we (3 adults and two children 9 and 11yrs ) arrived, there were just a few tables occupied but by 1pm it had filled up so definitely book your table in advance as it is obviously popular.

The food was delicious, beautifully presented and with a lot of care and attention to the taste, flavours, seasoning and presentation. Four of us had the very good value 20€ menu and one had the 40€ menu, they were delicious.

Unfortunately the waiting at the beginning of the meal was far far too long. I was tempted to knock off far more points because of the totally unexceptable wait involved, however no one else on the trip advisor site seems to of experienced this so I have to assume it was a one off due to staffing problems or some other reason so have still given it a very good rating, but only due to the food.

We sat down at 12.40 but did not have our order taken until 1.20 - to be sat for 40 mins without seeing anybody at all we very nearly walked out - if the waiter had been 60 seconds longer we wouldn't of been there. We did not receive water, bread (which we had to ask for) or our starters until 1.45, over an hour from entering the restaurant. After that, the food came in a reasonable time span, but after our hours wait the experience was spoilt somewhat. It is a real shame as we only live 30 minutes away and the food was lovely, so we would of likely come quite often however due to the initial waiting involved we won't.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CharenteMaritime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've recently moved to the area and this is one of our local restaurants. We've received a warm welcome on both occasions that we've dined there. Great choice on the menu, both fixed and ala carte. The sea bass is to die for along with the lychee sorbet. The decor and courtyard garden give the place a special feel.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Princesscaroliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2017
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Bruant also viewed

Pont l'Abbe d'Arnoult, Charente-Maritime
Port d'Envaux, Charente-Maritime
 
Beurlay, Charente-Maritime
Port d'Envaux, Charente-Maritime
 
Taillebourg, Charente-Maritime
Corme Royal, Charente-Maritime
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing