We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation, location and hosts”
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fenced
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fenced
Extensive mature gardens The Grange - open plan kitchen, dining and living areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fenced
Extensive mature gardens
The Grange - open plan kitchen, dining and living areas
The Grange - open plan kitchen, dining and living areas and private terrace
The Grange - master king size bedroom
The Grange - family bathroom
The Grange - private terrace area
Beautiful pool, alarmed and fully fenced
The Grange - views from the master bedroom
The Farmhouse - fully equipped kitchen and dining
The Farmhouse - master king size bedroom
The Farmhouse - family bathroom
Well Cottage
Well Cottage - master king size bedroom
Well Cottage - fully equipped kitchen and dining
Well Cottage - large children's room, sleeping four plus cot
Well Cottage - spacious living area
Plenty of space for children to play
The Stables - open plan kitchen and living area
The Stables - fully equipped kitchen
The Stables - secluded terrace area
Open play area, with trampoline, table tennis and lots of outdoor toys
Children's swings and slide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Germain du Seudre, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rioja77
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, location and hosts”
Reviewed September 7, 2019 for a stay in September 2019

Really enjoying our second visit to La Bigorre, our first visit was in the school holidays in May a few years ago and now it is September and the peak season is over but both times the location has been really peaceful and relaxing. Paula and Rob are great hosts and the gites really are equipped with everything you may need so you can pack light and still have all the practical and home comforts you might want. As others have said, there are lots of children’s toys, bikes for all ages, a great swimming pool and a large games barn for table football etc.
The views around of vines and sunflowers are stunning and you can walk or cycle for miles without seeing anyone but it is only a very short drive to a few supermarkets, the nearest town with bakeries, a large swimming pool etc and there are loads of places to visit within half an hour (including beaches, the estuary and Royan- we may visit these places if and when we get bored of just relaxing!)
Previously we flew to Bordeaux and hired a car for our holiday but on this trip we used the eurotunnel and drove down - both were easy drives. Thanks for your hospitality Paula and Rob- La Bigorre is a special place for a great holiday.

Date of stay: September 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was great to see you again. Hope we can welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard T
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful... a Home from Home”
Reviewed August 21, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Located in a quiet Hamlet, it's a perfect base to spend a family holiday.
We've stayed in two of the 4 gites - plus had a peak in the other 2 - and all have everything you would want to make it a relaxing and comfortable stay. Washing machine, dish washer, Skybox (so take your own viewing card with you!), DVD (they have a DVD library) & TV, fans in the rooms. Very clean and spacious accommodation, comfy beds and great pressure in the showers!
The site itself is lovely, loads of room to find a quiet spot or let the kids run loose. The pool is gated and has security alarm, there's a games room, arts room, trampoline, football goals, slides and even a treehouse.
Rob & Paula are lovely hosts and have lots of helpful advice on the local area - we visited a number of places during our stay - we visited the Medieval City Pons, the infamous Cognac, shopped in Royan and visited the beautiful beaches of Saint-Palais-Sur-Mer and La Grand Cote (which are only 45 minute drive away).
There is a bakery and supermarket 5-10 minute drive away.
What we love about the place is the fact you can go for a run or family cycle (did I mention they must have +20 bikes) - there are various routes you can go on - and all you see is sunflowers, vines, sweetcorn and the odd bird of prey. It's so quiet and hardly a car in sight, so very safe.
Rob & Paula host a BBQ night where you can mingle with the other guests and Rob is great cook!
We took the Portsmouth to Caen ferry and its around a 5hr drive south. You can also do the overnight ferry to St Malo which is ideal also to turn up for the afternoon check-in.
Perfect for big groups as they have 4 gites so if you want to take grand parents or you want a holiday with mates (and their kids) this is an ideal location.
We'll be returning again for sure.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2019
Thanks so much for your lovely comments! It was great to see you all and hope we can welcome you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
523sarahl...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly gites in a beautiful area”
Reviewed August 25, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked La Bigorre after being attracted by it’s family friendly descriptions. We weren’t disappointed. There are plenty of toys, crafts, bikes and games to keep everyone busy. The site itself feels very safe and it was lovely to let our children (ages 4 and 7) have freedom to run around and explore in a way they aren’t able to back at home. We particularly liked the pool and passed many fun hours in there. We also all enjoyed the use of the bikes and the quietness of the country lanes. We felt very comfortable taking our children out on the roads for lots of bike rides.

If you can drag the children away, then there are plenty of place within striking distance- some of our favourites were the aquarium at La Rochelle, Paleosite and canoeing at Cognac.

The owners, Paula and Rob live on site and are a good source of local knowledge (as well as being very friendly). All in all we had a lovely holiday and will be returning!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2019
Many thanks for your lovely comments! We hope to welcome you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona p
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, family friendly cottages”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We found La Bigorre by chance 4 years ago and have been coming back every year since. The location is perfect - a quiet French hamlet but within easy striking distance of a market town complete with hypermarket (Gemozac) and a 30 minute drive of plentiful days out at the beach, La Palmyre Zoo, Cognac to name but a few.
For a family with children (our girls are now 3 and 6) La Bigorre is a dream come true. There are plentiful toys, bikes (both for them and for adults with trailers/kid seats for family outings), craft shed and treehouse to keep the children occupied not to mention the swimming pool (gated and alarmed to keep the smallest guests safe). The cottages are so well equipped that there is no need to pack much of the paraphernalia that usually goes along with children. With only 4 cottages there is ample space for all the guests and La Bigorre has a very safe and relaxing feel.
The hosts, Rob and Paula and their 2 young children live on site and are full of useful local knowledge and recommendations.
For a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of France La Bigorre ticks all the boxes. We'll definitely be back...

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2019
Many thanks for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrymsco...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Parfect Place for a Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

La Bigorre is the perfect place for a family holiday. We went with our two children (girl 8, boy 5) and my father and there was plenty for the whole family to do. The location is beautiful and the cottages are spotlessly clean and well equipped. The site has loads for the kids to do both outside and under cover and there are many day trips that you can take. Paula and Rob are great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. The overall effect is a totally relaxing holiday, which with 2 small children is quite an achievement!

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2018
Thank you so much for the great review - it was so lovely to see you all again! We look forward to sharing a glass of pineau with you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0ve2fly
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simple, beautiful French countryside heaven”
Reviewed August 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We spent one week in The Grange gîte at La Bigorre in July, 2018. Rob and Paula and their children were perfect hosts - friendly and accessible and full of help, but also respectful of our space. The Grange is a spacious and comfortable three-bedroom home and it was perfect for our family. We had more than enough space and storage for the week. The beds were comfortable, and with the windows open and fans on, the house temperature stayed cool at night, despite the extraordinary heat. We loved having the pool and sun chairs just outside our front door, the private patio, and the adjacent common areas. Our kids never tired of being at La Bigorre, between the games and toys and pool and swings and play spaces and the satellite TV, they were as relaxed and happy as we were! All of that aside - the main reason we loved La Bigorre is the setting. The endless sunflower and grape and corn fields, quiet countryside roads, scattered villages and communes, and constant chatter of birds and frogs made for a distractingly gorgeous setting. Gémozac is a charming town with friendly boulangeries and a bustling market - and also a giant modern supermarket! We visited the bread vending machine in St. Germain du Seudre when we couldn't get our acts together to get bread before the boulangeries closed - the "insert Euro, receive baguette" routine never got old. And it was just over an hour to so many wonderful places - Ile d'Aix, the Atlantic coast, the zoo at La Palmyre - everything was so easy to access. Though we certainly traveled farther than most of the guests at La Bigorre, the effort was absolutely worth it, and I sincerely hope we'll be back again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - it was great to meet you and your lovely family and we would love to welcome you back again next time you're over the pond!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
1 review
“Fabulous holiday location”
Reviewed July 7, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a week at La Bigorre last summer and it really is the ideal place if you have small children who need lots of running round in a safe place, enabling you to relax. The setting is beautiful, surrounded by sunflower fields and vineyards. There are loads of activities for children - a fenced-off, alarmed pool, loads of toys, bikes, swings, large trampoline and a dedicated space for arts and crafts. The nearby beaches, towns and villages are beautiful and La Bigorre’s lovely owners Paula and Rob can make a host of recommendations for local activities and restaurants. However, relaxing back at base with a BBQ and wine from the local supermarket (only a few minutes drive away) is fantastic. The cottages are all spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and equipped with all modern conveniences. Thank you Paula, Rob, Arty and Edie for a lovely holiday and looking forward to staying with you again this year!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was great to have you stay with us and we're really looking forward to seeing you again this summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing