We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat In the Oyster Beds”

La Cabane de Lauzieres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 25, 2017

This small rustic restaurant is situated just outside of La Rochelle near the bridge to Il de Re and in the oyster beds slightly inland....fresh platters of seafood adorn the tables and we lunched in sunny bliss... a busy place so reserve and seemingly with not only tourists but repeat locals....very friendly staff and the menu has a variety of other selections if sea food is not your choice...very good and out of the hustle of La Rochelle...

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bejot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 341 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

As the name says, this is a 'cabane' (shack); nevertheless, a very nicely decorated and comfortable one!

Of course we went for seafood all the way. Oysters, shrimp and clams to start with; absolutely fresh and delicious! As main course we went for 'gambas flambés' and monkfish; both perfectly cooked and with a delicious sauce. All perfectly accompanied bu a local Sauvignon from Ile-de-Ré!

What a memorable diner...

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank V7234ODnickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for a delicious meal we enjoyed everything we had Sole for hubby and delicious big prawns for me Staff so pleasant. The best meal we have had for a long time

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank canrdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2015

We visited for dinner. They don't speak English, so it may not be for everyone. It was fine for us though. My French is pretty good, although nowhere near fluent. We just had trouble with translating a couple of items on the menu that didn't appear in my pocket dictionary or my French food guide.

You need to book as it is very popular.

The food was outstanding. This is a lovely place - very well worth seeking it out.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShrimpStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Would certainly return to this fab restaurant again. Great tasting seafood, lovely atmosphere and real quirky location.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ronnie_Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabane de Lauzieres also viewed

La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to La Cabane de Lauzieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing